Kids 11/22

My Self, Your Self

Staff Pick Badge
My Self, Your Self By Esmé Shapiro Cover Image
$15.19
ISBN: 9781774880234
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Tundra Books - September 27th, 2022

What's not to love about this book? Charming illustrations of cute little creatures who tell a tale all about loving yourself and the selves around you. Perfect book for anyone looking for a little warmth this November.

Jane


Each Night Was Illuminated

Staff Pick Badge
Each Night Was Illuminated By Jodi Lynn Anderson Cover Image
$14.39
ISBN: 9780062393579
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Quill Tree Books - September 20th, 2022

A tale of personal discovery that unfolds within a framework of deftly handled contemporary issues and a bizarre friendship. Is it a ghost story? Is it a haunting? Is it imagination? Your call. But it's a fresh and contemporary teen read with an old soul. Though you may not identify with the nunnery portions, you'll be hard pressed not relate to the bigger picture and enjoy how everything unfolds.

Stacey


A Normal Pig

Staff Pick Badge
A Normal Pig By K-Fai Steele, K-Fai Steele (Illustrator) Cover Image
By K-Fai Steele, K-Fai Steele (Illustrator)
$14.39
ISBN: 9780062748577
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Balzer + Bray - June 4th, 2019

An ode and a handbook to being your wonderful and unique self, no matter what anyone else thinks of you! Gaining a wider perspective helps the polka-dotted pig Pip stand up a little taller.

Kendall


The Wolf Suit

Staff Pick Badge
The Wolf Suit By Sid Sharp Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781773217208
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Annick Press - October 25th, 2022

Bellwether Riggwelter is a sheep who enjoys simple pleasures like blackberries, dancing, and flowers. But the forest is a dangerous place for a kind, soft sheep like him. So Bellwether schemes up the ingenious idea of sewing himself a wolf suit to blend in with the forest's most fearsome predators.What follows is a modern-day folktale about being yourself and standing up against what scares you. This graphic novel is absolutely delightful- the art style, the story, and the twist at the end! You'll never see it coming, and that makes it all the better.

Catherine


Hiders Seekers Finders Keepers

Staff Pick Badge
Hiders Seekers Finders Keepers: How Animals Adapt in Winter By Jessica Kulekjian, Salini Perera (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Jessica Kulekjian, Salini Perera (Illustrator)
$15.99
ISBN: 9781525304859
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Kids Can Press - October 4th, 2022

Hiders Seekers Finders Keepers is a sweet and cozy book perfect to share with your little one as the seasons turn. One of my favorite things about this book is that because the science and animal facts are presented separately from the narrative, you can tailor how educational you want to get for the age and interest of whoever you're reading to.

Katherine


Smart

Staff Pick Badge
smART: Use Your Eyes to Boost Your Brain (Adapted from the New York Times bestseller Visual Intelligence) By Amy E. Herman, Heather Maclean (With) Cover Image
$14.39
ISBN: 9781665901215
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - October 25th, 2022

Make trips to the museum about more than the gift shop. An art history lesson for the whole family, SmART gives kids the foundational tools they need for seeing and thinking about the would around them. I wish I had it for my 19-year-old.

Wendy


The Book Thief

Staff Pick Badge
The Book Thief By Markus Zusak Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9780375842207
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - September 11th, 2007

One of the most unique books I've ever read, one to be savored and felt at your core. Narrated by Death himself, The Book Thief offers a beautiful/heartbreaking picture of a German family's life during the Holocaust. If you adore exquisite figurative language and/or historical fiction from a child's perspective, this will not disappoint!!

Manasa


Hazel Hill is Gonna Win This One

Staff Pick Badge
Hazel Hill Is Gonna Win This One By Maggie Horne Cover Image
$13.59
ISBN: 9780358664703
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Clarion Books - October 18th, 2022

An amazing story about growing up, being awkward, making friends, and taking on the patriarchy! Kids can and should take action! (I'm also highly biased about the main character's name)

Hazel


Not My Problem

Staff Pick Badge
Not My Problem By Ciara Smyth Cover Image
$8.79
ISBN: 9780062957153
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: HarperTeen - May 24th, 2022

Aideen has a lot of things in her life that she can't fix, but when she gets roped into fixing problems for her classmates, her life spirals in a new direction. She can't fix her own problems but she can fix theirs. Perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and YA rom-coms, touching on deeper issues alongside humor and sweet, well-earned queer romance.

April


Keepunumuk: Weeâchumun's Thanksgiving Story (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Keepunumuk: Weeâchumun's Thanksgiving Story By Danielle Greendeer, Anthony Perry, Alexis Bunten, Garry Meeches, Sr. (Illustrator) Cover Image
$13.59
ISBN: 9781623542900
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Charlesbridge - August 2nd, 2022

Want a Thanksgiving story that respects Wampanoag traditions and has beautiful art? The good news is, you've found a stunning one. (There is no bad news). I had a blast learning Wôpanâak words with my kiddo when we read it together - I hope you do too!

Murphy


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Kids 11/22