Kids 6/21

Science Comics: The Brain

Staff Pick Badge
Science Comics: The Brain: The Ultimate Thinking Machine By Tory Woollcott, Alex Graudins (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Tory Woollcott, Alex Graudins (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781626728011
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: First Second - October 16th, 2018

I love science comics! They help make complex topics accessible in a fun, colorful way. I have a particular soft spot for The Brain volume for personal reasons. The brain is still a mystery it seems, but that doesn't mean there's not plenty to learn! A knowledge of brain functionality helps to develop understanding for how people experience the world differently.

Stacey


Pumpkin'

Staff Pick Badge
Pumpkin (Dumplin') By Julie Murphy Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062880451
Availability: Available to Order from Supplier: Arrives at Store in a Week(ish)
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 25th, 2021

This book made me cry happy tears . . . more than once. The story of Waylon, a fat, gay teen boy in small-town Texas trying to find out who he is and what he wants in life during his senior year of high school pulled all my best heartstrings. He's waiting to bring out the "real Waylon" until after graduation, but after trying drag, getting nominated for homecoming queen, and meeting a boy who might be more than he seems—maybe it's time for the real Waylon after all. 

April


The Girl from the Sea

Staff Pick Badge
The Girl from the Sea: A Graphic Novel By Molly Knox Ostertag Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781338540574
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Graphix - June 1st, 2021

What a heartwarmingly sweet read perfect for summer and Pride Month! From the beautiful art to the inclusion of interstitial group texts, Molly Knox Ostertag's characters feel so real and jump off the page.

Meaghan


The Witch King

Staff Pick Badge
The Witch King By H. E. Edgmon Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781335212795
Availability: Available to Order from Supplier: Arrives at Store in a Week(ish)
Published: Inkyard Press - June 1st, 2021

One of the most real books I’ve read about trans teens, which is saying something since it takes place in a fascinating and unique fantasy world. Wyatt is the sharp-edged scowly protagonist I didn’t know I was waiting for. Great for fans of Cemetery Boys and Seanan McGuire!

Shana


Jo Jo Makoons: The Used-To-Be Best Friend

Staff Pick Badge
Jo Jo Makoons: The Used-to-Be Best Friend By Dawn Quigley, Tara Audibert (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Dawn Quigley, Tara Audibert (Illustrator)
$4.99
ISBN: 9780063015388
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Heartdrum - May 11th, 2021

Jojo is the most precocious and hilarious seven year old I've ever read about. This story had me laughing out loud as Jojo tries to make back-up friends in case it turns out her best school friend, Fern, doesn't want to be best friends with her.

Katherine


The People's Painter

Staff Pick Badge
The People's Painter: How Ben Shahn Fought for Justice with Art By Cynthia Levinson, Evan Turk (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Cynthia Levinson, Evan Turk (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781419741302
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Abrams Books for Young Readers - April 20th, 2021

Like Ben Shahn's art, Cynthia Levinson's writing centers around stories of people fighting injustice. Her moving book of Ben Shahn comes at a time when we all need stories of "Civil Rights Activists. Workers Demanding Fair Pay. Political Protestors. Advocates for peace." Turks' accompanying, Caldecott-worthy illustrations draw from Shahn's style, and capture the movement and dynamism of his impassioned life. The People's Painter is a masterful biography that will, as Cynthia writes, and I have found, "encourage readers to sketch anywhere, especially in the margins."

Marika


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Kids 6/21