Kids 6/22

Piecing Me Together

Staff Pick Badge
Piecing Me Together Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781681191072
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Bloomsbury YA - June 5th, 2018

Jade is a powerful artist and a brilliant student who has always taken every opportunity that came her way. But now, after receiving an invite to a group for at-risk youth, she is tired of people trying to help her. When will she get the opportunity to be seen for all the things that she brings to the table too? Great for anyone finding their voice and learning to advocate for themselves.

Kendall


My Mechanical Romance

Staff Pick Badge
My Mechanical Romance Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780823450107
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Holiday House - May 31st, 2022

A story perfect for STEM enthusiasts, My Mechanical Romance follows Bel, a high school student too anxious to give her future the attention that everyone thinks it deserves. When she shows a natural talent for engineering, Bel is coerced into joining her school's robotics club. All the boys on the team ignore her--except for Mateo, the captain. Mateo thinks that Bel can be a good thing for the team, but they struggle to see eye-to-eye. As they spend more time together, they realize that they've not only improved the club, but also grown as individuals. Heart warming, funny, and loaded with the wit that the author is known for (she's more recognizable as her pseudonym Olivie Blake), this is a fun way to kick off the summer.

Engel


All Ways

Staff Pick Badge
All Ways Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781636769028
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: New Degree Press - April 27th, 2021

Two brothers go on a road trip. Plenty of misadventures. The brothers are both autistic, but the author never uses that term. One of my new favorite teen adventure stories!

Hazel


Way of the Hive

Staff Pick Badge
The Way of the Hive: A Honey Bee's Story Cover Image
By Jay Hosler, Jay Hosler (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780063007352
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: HarperAlley - April 20th, 2021

I read this in its original iteration, Clan Apis, in probably 2006 when I was 10 and Very Scared Of Bees. I am not exaggerating when I say it changed my relationship to bees entirely - I went from fear and mistrust to awe, appreciation, and curiosity. Jay Hosler's approach to what is essentially an explanation of What Bees Are is funny, interesting, and moving, and his artwork is top-tier.

Piera


When You Call My Name

Staff Pick Badge
When You Call My Name Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250624864
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - May 3rd, 2022

Both a love letter to the queer community and a vivid snapshot of what it was like to be gay in New York during the nineties, this book is a vital read for those looking to better understand modern gay history and appreciate our roots, for both teens and adults. A perfect read for Pride month, it pulled on my heartstrings and I think it will for you too.

April


The Ghosts of Rose Hill

Staff Pick Badge
The Ghosts of Rose Hill Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781682633380
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Peachtree Teen - May 10th, 2022

A ghostly fantasy set in verse is unique enough, but Romero has really crafted a darkly beautiful story. Music, myth, self-discovery, horror, and joy all flowing together effortlessly. Steeped in personal experience and spiritual identity, it's a real gem. Sure to leave it's mark - especially for lovers of Jewish history and mythology.

Stacey


A Far Wilder Magic

Staff Pick Badge
A Far Wilder Magic Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250623652
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Wednesday Books - March 8th, 2022

Perfect for fans of The Night Circus and Leigh Bardugo's Grishaverse, A Far Wilder Magic tells the story of Margaret Welty, the competent recluse who keeps things just barely under control while her famous mother is away, and Weston Winters, a poor alchemist looking for a teacher, as they team up to win an unwinnable hunt that is both of their last chance. Romantic and sharp and transportive, you won't want to miss out on this fantastic novel.

Katherine


Gideon Green in Black and White

Staff Pick Badge
Gideon Green in Black and White Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062955739
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - May 17th, 2022

Gideon's noir-inspired detective career ended ignominiously in middle school, but now his investigative skills -- and the lure of the editor-in-chief -- have found him a new home on the high school newspaper.

Sarah


Private Label

Staff Pick Badge
Private Label Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062941107
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - May 31st, 2022

Kelly Yang's Private Label is a brilliant contemplation of what becomes of dreams once disaster strikes. Following two Chinese American teenagers who seem to be from entirely different universes--assured fashion designer Serene and new kid on the block Lian--Yang weaves a gripping YA tale that ultimately discusses how worlds can fall apart and slowly be put back together again with the help of unlikely friendships (and maybe something more).

Cindy


Subscribe to RSS - Kids 6/22