Motherhood

Splinters (Staff Pick)

Staff Pick Badge
Splinters: Another Kind of Love Story By Leslie Jamison Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9780316374880
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Little, Brown and Company - February 20th, 2024

Last year around this time I was raving about You Could Make This Place Beautiful by Maggie Smith. This year it's Leslie Jamison's Splinters, a tribute to the author's love for her young daughter and a perceptive reflection on the competing desires and identities that come with being a woman and a mother.

- Katie


Mother Doll (Staff Pick)

Staff Pick Badge
Mother Doll: A Novel By Katya Apekina Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781419770951
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: The Overlook Press - March 12th, 2024

Blending Russian cynicism with the playfulness of Lincoln in the Bardo, Mother Doll is a nestled stack of intergenerational traumas that features characters who are capable of great resilience but also great betrayal, abandonment, and spite. Apekina depicts the Russian Revolution with as much aplomb as she does present-day Los Angeles and leaves us with the question: is humanity really as monstrous as the titular matriarch insists?"

- Rachael


Still Born (Staff Pick)

Staff Pick Badge
Still Born By Guadalupe Nettel, Rosalind Harvey (Translated by) Cover Image
By Guadalupe Nettel, Rosalind Harvey (Translated by)
$26.99
ISBN: 9781639730032
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - August 8th, 2023

I’ve loved Nettel’s work since reading her short story collection Natural Histories and have read everything of hers since. Shortlisted for the 2023 International Book Prize, Still Born builds a nuanced portrait of two friends who embrace or reject motherhood and caretaking in various ways. Still Born is a read for fans of Valeria Luiselli, Sheila Heti, and Rachel Cusk.

- Katie H.


Beloved - Everyman's Library Edition (Staff Pick)

Staff Pick Badge
Beloved: Introduction by A. S. Byatt (Everyman's Library Contemporary Classics Series) By Toni Morrison, A. S. Byatt (Introduction by) Cover Image
By Toni Morrison, A. S. Byatt (Introduction by)
$28.00
ISBN: 9780307264886
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Everyman's Library - October 17th, 2006

The haunting, heartbreaking, staggering work of one of America's greats in a beautiful format.

- Stacey


Mild Vertigo (Staff Pick)

Staff Pick Badge
Mild Vertigo By Mieko Kanai, Polly Barton (Translated by), Kate Zambreno (Introduction by) Cover Image
By Mieko Kanai, Polly Barton (Translated by), Kate Zambreno (Introduction by)
$16.95
ISBN: 9780811232289
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: New Directions - May 2nd, 2023

Mild Vertigo is not a book of dramatic plot. Instead, Kanai focuses on the ordinary details of the narrator's middle class life through hypnotizing, stream-of-consciousness prose that mirrors the narrator's spinning grasp on selfhood.

- Katie


The Long Form (Staff Pick)

Staff Pick Badge
The Long Form By Kate Briggs Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781948980210
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Dorothy, a publishing project - October 3rd, 2023

A single mother reads Fielding's Tom Jones as she cares for her newborn. Briggs is brilliant, covering incredible narrative & conceptual distances in the few turns around the living room it takes to soothe her baby. It's quiet in some ways, explosive in others.

- Josh


Subscribe to RSS - Motherhood