October 2016

In Wartime: Stories From Ukraine

Staff Pick Badge
In Wartime: Stories from Ukraine Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780451495471
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Tim Duggan Books - October 11th, 2016

Reporting from different regions around Ukraine since the Maidan revolution of 2014, Judah helps us understand what lies behind the conflict in the region. It’s a picture reminiscent of other post-communist states such as the Balkans, complicated by Ukraine’s unique history as well as current Russian meddling, leaving one feeling pessimistic for a quick or easy resolution.

Dale


Mercury

Staff Pick Badge
Mercury: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062437501
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Harper - September 27th, 2016

Beautifully written, best-selling author Margot Livesey’s latest novel tells the haunting story of a seemingly ordinary suburban family, yet beneath everyday life are secrets, obsessions, failures and loss.  And when Mercury - a Thoroughbred - appears, life is never the same.

Nathan


Hidden Figures

Staff Pick Badge
Hidden Figures: The American Dream and the Untold Story of the Black Women Mathematicians Who Helped Win the Space Race Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062363596
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: William Morrow - September 6th, 2016

The movie's not out until January, but you can read now about the black female engineers and mathematicians who were the unseen contributors to the space program.

Sarah


The Year 200

The Year 200 Cover Image
By Agustín de Rojas, Hebe Powell (Translated by)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781632060518
Availability: Hard to Find--Contact us for More Info
Published: Restless Books - July 12th, 2016

Body-switching, cyborgs, political intrigue, the nature of humanity, the meaning of love, this classic of Cuban Sci-Fi, explores the nature of identity and society, while building a convincing and entertaining future world. A must for fans of Asimov and Heinlein.

Josh


Amy Snow

Amy Snow: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781501128370
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Simon & Schuster - June 7th, 2016

A Dickensian adventure featuring Amy Snow, a foundling discovered alone in a wintry landscape by a young noble girl. When Amy's benefactress Aurelia dies, Amy is immediately banished by Aurelia's disapproving family. But Aurelia has left Amy a secret inheritance...and a directive to follow a mysterious treasure hunt across Europe. A page turner for those in the mood for something light, British, and full of intrigue.


Leave Me

Leave Me: A Novel Cover Image
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9781616206178
Availability: Out of Print
Published: Algonquin Books - September 6th, 2016

When Maribeth has a heart attack, she quickly learns that she’ll never be able to recover at home. So she does the unthinkable: she leaves her family. A story of confronting oneself, one’s life, and one’s fears that had me laughing aloud at one moment and crying the next.

Marika


Queen’s Hat

Staff Pick Badge
The Queen's Hat Cover Image
By Steve Antony, Steve Antony (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780545835565
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Scholastic Press - August 25th, 2015

Momo the Corgi says: - This is my favorite book this year.  A brave corgi chases after a lost hat blown by a gust of wind around all the sights of London.... oh the Queen's in it too. I'd catch that hat and teach it a lesson.  Wruf!

(Susannah)


The Weight of Feathers

Staff Pick Badge
The Weight of Feathers: A Novel Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250058652
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: A Thomas Dunne Book for St. Martin's Griffin - September 15th, 2015

Night Circus meets Hatfields and McCoys, draped in the most gorgeous prose you'll read all year. For years, the Palomas, a family of performing mermaids, and the Corbeaus, performing tree climbers, have been locked in a bitter rivalry. When disaster strikes their town, Corbeau boy Cluck and Lace Paloma’s lives collide, and both families will never be the same. A stunningly romantic debut novel about family, identity, and standing up for those you love. 

Mackenzie


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - October 2016