October 2019

JULIET TAKES A BREATH

Staff Pick Badge
Juliet Takes a Breath By Gabby Rivera Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593108178
Availability: Available to Order from Supplier: Arrives at Store in a Week(ish)
Published: Dial Books - September 17th, 2019

 

 I think the blurb smack dab on the front of the book, the one from Roxane Gay herself, sums it up best. Early in the book, Juliet writes a letter to her feminist writer icon, saying, “I know you’re not a Magic 8 ball. You’re just some lady who wrote a book. But I fall asleep with that book in my arms because words protect hearts and I’ve got this ache in my chest that won’t go away.” Juliet Takes A Breath is a book you can fall asleep holding.

Leila 


Loki

Staff Pick Badge
Loki: Where Mischief Lies (Marvel Rebels & Renegades) By Mackenzi Lee, Stephanie Hans (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Mackenzi Lee, Stephanie Hans (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781368022262
Availability: Available to Order from Supplier: Arrives at Store in a Week(ish)
Published: Marvel Press - September 3rd, 2019

 

Mackenzi Lee adds depth and heart to the backstory of Marvel's Loki--but this book has wider appeal than just fans of the franchise. Mythology fans will appreciate the nods to the original lore; historical fiction buffs will adore Lee's well-researched vision of 19th-century London; and YA readers will fall in love with teen Loki and sweet new character Theo. As always, Lee is clever, quippy, and unafraid of exploring the complexities and contradictions of her characters, making her the perfect writer to give voice to the god of mischief.

Kate


Pavi Sharma’s Guide to Going Home

Staff Pick Badge
Pavi Sharma's Guide to Going Home By Bridget Farr Cover Image
$16.99
It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Information
ISBN: 9780316491068
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 17th, 2019

 

A foster child on track to finding her “forever home,” 12-year-old Pavi runs her own business (salary: Flamin’ Hot Cheetos and school supplies) offering help and reconnaissance for fellow foster kids given placements with new families.When Pavi learns that a young girl at her old shelter, named Meridee, has been placed with Pavi’s first (horrible) foster family, she goes on a mission to make sure Meridee is safe, at all costs. This book provides visibility and empathy to children in the system who often receive neither, and provides lessons to readers about what it’s really like to be a friendless or endangered child.

Meaghan


Rat Rule 79

Staff Pick Badge
Rat Rule 79: An Adventure By Rivka Galchen, Elena Megalos (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Rivka Galchen, Elena Megalos (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781632060990
Availability: Available to Order from Supplier: Arrives at Store in a Week(ish)
Published: Restless Books - September 24th, 2019

 

An inventive adventure full of wordplay, riddles, and strangely wonderful characters, this book is an utter delight! For readers of all ages who love The Phantom Tollbooth, Haroun and the Sea of Stories, and Alice in Wonderland.

Marika


Give Me Back My Bones

Staff Pick Badge
Give Me Back My Bones! By Kim Norman, Bob Kolar (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Kim Norman, Bob Kolar (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780763688417
Availability: Available to Order from Supplier: Arrives at Store in a Week(ish)
Published: Candlewick - July 16th, 2019

 

Poor Pirate Skeleton, he just wants to be whole again! And to teach kids about skeletal anatomy. Cute rhymes, bright colors, and pirates are a winning combination. Added plus: it's a good spooky-time book without being all about Halloween.

Stacey


In Other Lands

Staff Pick Badge
In Other Lands By Sarah Rees Brennan Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781618731661
Availability: Available to Order from Supplier: Arrives at Store in a Week(ish)
Published: Big Mouth House - August 6th, 2019

 

In the mood for something that's part school story and part portal fantasy to start your autumn off right? Looking for a story with a cranky, skeptical bisexual protagonist? Do you like elves or harpies or mermaids? This is absolutely the book for you!

Ari


The Truly Brave Princesses

Staff Pick Badge
The Truly Brave Princesses By Dolores Brown, Sonja Wimmer (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Dolores Brown, Sonja Wimmer (Illustrator)
$17.95
ISBN: 9788417123383
Availability: Available to Order from Supplier: Arrives at Store in a Week(ish)
Published: Nubeocho - October 2nd, 2018

 

You might think there are no princesses in your everyday life -- but that's only because you haven't learned the secrets of the mail carrier, the grocery cashier, and the retiree.

Sarah


White Bird

Staff Pick Badge
White Bird: A Wonder Story (A Graphic Novel) By R. J. Palacio Cover Image
$24.99
It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Information
ISBN: 9780525645535
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - October 1st, 2019

 

RJ Palacio's White Bird is what we need right now: it's a painful reminder of the past that finds present-day solutions in kindness. It'll make your heart race as it points you towards a productive reminder of what we can be when we stand up to the world. I wish it didn't feel so urgent, but reading this gave me hope.

Caleb


Slay

Staff Pick Badge
SLAY By Brittney Morris Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781534445420
Availability: Available to Order from Supplier: Arrives at Store in a Week(ish)
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - September 24th, 2019

 

A high school senior secretly creates a massive multiplayer online role-playing game dedicated to black culture but is attacked in mainstream media after a player is murdered. Perfect for fans of The Hate You Give and Ready Player One. You'll be ready to SLAY when you're done.

April


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - October 2019