Shana

The Good Luck Girls

Staff Pick Badge
The Good Luck Girls Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250299703
Availability: Available at Wholesaler
Published: Tor Teen - October 1st, 2019

You know what would make most westerns better? Ghosts, magic, and smashing the patriarchy. Aster and her sisters are on a journey to find freedom, and they're going to take their revenge on every man that has ever taken advantage on them or the other "Good Luck Girls" sold to Welcome Houses. As thrilling as any old Western with bandits and gunslingers and chases on horseback, but with a much more modern look at gender, sexuality, and class. I couldn't put it down.

Shana


You Should See Me In A Crown

Staff Pick Badge
You Should See Me in a Crown Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338503265
Availability: Available at Wholesaler
Published: Scholastic Press - June 2nd, 2020

 

The gloriously cute black queer prom story you never knew you needed. Liz has to become prom queen in order to get a scholarship and attend her dream college. This is difficult enough since she's black, poor, awkward, and not remotely one of the cool kids in her rich, white town. Even worse, she starts to fall in love with a girl who's openly queer. But can she admit it to her conservative classmates with the crown and the scholarship on the line? And will her girlfriend accept her staying closeted? Great for fans of Red, White, and Royal Blue and Dumplin'.

Shana


The City We Became

Staff Pick Badge
The City We Became: A Novel (The Great Cities #1) Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780316509848
Availability: Available at Wholesaler
Published: Orbit - March 24th, 2020

 

When a city reaches a certain point, it stops being a location on a map and starts being a massive living entity. It's New York's turn now, but nothing is going the way it usually does. The city's six new human avatars need to figure out how to work together and use their powers fast or New York is doomed. A love letter to the weirdness and wonder that is New York City written in N K Jemisin's stunning prose.

Shana


Sal and Gabi Break the Universe

Staff Pick Badge
Sal and Gabi Break the Universe (A Sal and Gabi Novel, Book 1) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781368023627
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Rick Riordan Presents - May 5th, 2020

It's rare that I find a book that so perfectly balances the drama of middle school and family problems with the drama of being able to break through the fabric of reality. Add to that the brilliant humor, a fascinating mix of characters, and the mouth-watering descriptions of Cuban food, and you've got this gem of a book. You won't soon forget it.

Shana


House in the Cerulean Sea

Staff Pick Badge
The House in the Cerulean Sea Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250217288
Availability: Available at Wholesaler
Published: Tor Books - March 17th, 2020

Utterly charming. Featuring outcast weirdo children that will win your heart and a deeply satisfying romance, with a side of rising up against injustice. This book feels as familiar in tone as putting on a favorite sweater while still managing to bring something new and special. A great comfort read!

Shana


When Aidan Became a Brother

Staff Pick Badge
When Aidan Became a Brother Cover Image
By Kyle Lukoff, Kaylani Juanita (Illustrator)
$19.95
ISBN: 9781620148372
Availability: Available at Wholesaler
Published: Lee & Low Books - June 4th, 2019

 

There are a lot of stories about cis children dealing with getting a younger sibling. Aidan's feelings are extra complicated because people keep asking his parents what gender the baby will be, and they didn't know his real gender until he was old enough to tell them. He wants everything to be perfect from the start for this baby! A beautifully written and illustrated book great for children of any gender.

Shana


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Shana