Translation

This Little Art

Staff Pick Badge
This Little Art Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9781910695456
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Fitzcarraldo Editions - April 17th, 2018

 

Far more than a book about translation, This Little Art, is a beautiful treatise on the reading life and the creative life. Through examining her own struggles translating Roland Barthes’s lecture notes, Briggs wanders through the all the questions you typically encounter in translation to get to something more fundamental about the power of words and what happens when we try to communicate with each other.  

Josh


Red, Yellow, Green

Staff Pick Badge
Red, Yellow, Green (Biblioasis International Translation #20) Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781771961417
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Biblioasis - October 24th, 2017

 

Traumatized by crimes he participated in as a soldier in Bolivia, Alfredo hears voices. He tries to write letters. He tries to write his story. He tries to fall in love again. His memories mix with nightmares. Not only is this a striking exploration of what a trauma survivor's thoughts might look like, Sarvaria, uses a shattered narrative style to interrogate the idea of nationality and identity. Red, Yellow, Green is a powerful mess of a novel.

Josh


Belladonna

Staff Pick Badge
Belladonna Cover Image
By Dasa Drndic, Celia Hawkesworth (Translator)
$19.95
ISBN: 9780811227216
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: New Directions Publishing Corporation - October 31st, 2017

What will books written about this time in history be like? If they are brilliantly erudite about complicity and politics, growing old and mortality, how we remember and forget history, and the quiet moments that stretch into our lives like cracks in glass, they’ll be like Belladonna. Drndic’s novel is thoughtful, funny, and profound. A must-read for fans of translation and anyone looking for a different perspective on our troubling times.

Josh


Translation as Transhumance

Staff Pick Badge
Translation as Transhumance Cover Image
By Mireille Gansel, Ros Schwartz (Translator)
$14.95
ISBN: 9781558614444
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Feminist Press - November 14th, 2017

Truly brilliant and beautiful work on the nature of translation and how powerful the ability to reach across languages can be. One of those rare books you wish you’d read years earlier. Highly recommended to writers (it changed how I think about American English), readers of works in translation, and readers in general looking to extend their horizons.

Josh


Judas

Staff Pick Badge
Judas Cover Image
By Amos Oz, Nicholas de Lange (Translated by)
$25.00
ISBN: 9780544464049
Availability: Hard to Find--Contact us for More Info
Published: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt - November 8th, 2016

This brilliant new novel by one of Israel's foremost writers and longtime left-wing political activists (often himself called a traitor) weaves together the stories of two "traitors" whose characterization as such, in Oz's telling, becomes much less clear: the biblical Judas, and a fictional early Zionist who was thrown out of the Zionist Congress because he advocated a unified Jewish-Arab state instead of what became modern Israel. The result is a nuanced story which manages to be full of ideas and philosophy while never being boring or pedantic.

David


Tell Me How it Ends

Staff Pick Badge
Tell Me How It Ends: An Essay in 40 Questions Cover Image
By Valeria Luiselli, Jon Lee Anderson (Introduction by)
$12.95
ISBN: 9781566894951
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Coffee House Press - April 4th, 2017

Luiselli introduces us to one of the forgotten figures and tragic heroes of contemporary America: the child who risked everything to come here. Through stories about specific children and consideration of our immigration system, Luiselli sheds light on what most of us would choose to ignore and gives new meaning to the question: Why are we here? Books like this are like dew on a spider web, revealing the often forgotten and sometimes ignored threads of humanity that connect us all.

Josh


In Praise of Defeat

Staff Pick Badge
In Praise of Defeat: Poems by Abdellatif Laabi Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9780914671596
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Archipelago - January 17th, 2017

This a powerful career spanning collection by a poet who was tortured and jailed for eight years for his political activism in Morocco. The poetry is dark and unsettling but also beautiful and uplifting. Laabi’s voice is one of proud, even exuberant defiance. This collection is a punch to jaw, but the kind of punch that lets you know you’re ready to fight.

Josh


Silence

Staff Pick Badge
Silence: A Novel (Picador Classics) Cover Image
By Shusaku Endo, William Johnston (Translated by), Martin Scorsese (Foreword by)
$16.00
ISBN: 9781250082244
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Picador Modern Classics - January 5th, 2016

Silence is one of those books that grabs your soul and squeezes. In it, Endo explores the depths of human spirituality and psychology, both in their strengths and utter weaknesses. Producing a different response every time I revisit it, this book deserves to be read and reread. I will continue to be moved by it for years to come.

Matthew


The Year 200

The Year 200 Cover Image
By Agustín de Rojas, Nicholas Caistor (Translated by)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781632060518
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Restless Books - July 12th, 2016

Body-switching, cyborgs, political intrigue, the nature of humanity, the meaning of love, this classic of Cuban Sci-Fi, explores the nature of identity and society, while building a convincing and entertaining future world. A must for fans of Asimov and Heinlein.

Josh


Confession

Staff Pick Badge
A Confession (Penguin Great Ideas) Cover Image
$11.00
ISBN: 9780141042558
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - October 27th, 2009

Best known for his popular novels like Anna Karenina and War and Peace, later in life, Tolstoy experienced a profound existential and spiritual crisis causing him to renounce his fame and many of his past writings. Confession is his existential autobiography composed as Leo Tolstoy grappled with life's meaning.

Matt


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Translation