Translation

Silence

Staff Pick Badge
Silence: A Novel (Picador Classics) Cover Image
By Shusaku Endo, William Johnston (Translated by), Martin Scorsese (Foreword by)
$16.00
ISBN: 9781250082244
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Picador Modern Classics - January 5th, 2016

Silence is one of those books that grabs your soul and squeezes. In it, Endo explores the depths of human spirituality and psychology, both in their strengths and utter weaknesses. Producing a different response every time I revisit it, this book deserves to be read and reread. I will continue to be moved by it for years to come.

Matthew


The Year 200

The Year 200 (Cuban Science Fiction) Cover Image
By Agustín de Rojas, Hebe Powell (Translated by)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781632060518
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Restless Books - July 12th, 2016

Body-switching, cyborgs, political intrigue, the nature of humanity, the meaning of love, this classic of Cuban Sci-Fi, explores the nature of identity and society, while building a convincing and entertaining future world. A must for fans of Asimov and Heinlein.

Josh


Confession

Staff Pick Badge
A Confession (Penguin Great Ideas) Cover Image
$11.00
ISBN: 9780141042558
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - October 27th, 2009

Best known for his popular novels like Anna Karenina and War and Peace, later in life, Tolstoy experienced a profound existential and spiritual crisis causing him to renounce his fame and many of his past writings. Confession is his existential autobiography composed as Leo Tolstoy grappled with life's meaning.

Matt


Eve Out of Her Ruins

Staff Pick Badge
Eve Out of Her Ruins Cover Image
By Ananda Devi, Jeffrey Zuckerman (Translator), J. M. G. Le Clezio (Introduction by)
$14.95
ISBN: 9781941920404
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Deep Vellum Publishing - September 13th, 2016

Set in a poor section of Port-Louis, Mauritius, this prize-winning novel is a poetic and intense exploration of young lives thrown away by society. Told in four different voices and haunted by the specter of Rimbaud, Devi explores, the violence, identity, and dreams of young people living discarded lives. For fans of A Girl is a Half-Formed Thing and Jean Genet.

Josh


Bret Easton Ellis and the Other Dogs

Staff Pick Badge
Bret Easton Ellis and the Other Dogs Cover Image
By Lina Wolff, Frank Perry (Translator)
$15.95
ISBN: 9781908276643
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: And Other Stories - January 14th, 2016

With rich images and a wicked sense of humor, Bret Easton Ellis and the Other Dogs is a crooked grin of a book that embodies those strange fleeting thoughts that occasionally course through an insomniac's mind late at night. A sharp, dark, feminist exploration of identity, place, and art with the atmosphere, pace, and impact of a hot summer afternoon stroll through a minefield.

Josh

 


THE STORY OF MY TEETH

Staff Pick Badge
The Story of My Teeth Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781566894098
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Coffee House Press - September 15th, 2015

Written in collaboration with the workers at a Mexican juice factory, featuring a delightfully delusional auctioneer, bending styles, playing with references, and challenging the idea of translation, The Story of My Teeth is unlike anything you’ve ever read. With this brilliant, weird, zany second novel, Luiselli has solidified her place as one of the most interesting and imaginative minds putting words on paper today.

JOSH

 


The Mountain Poems of Stonehouse

Staff Pick Badge
The Mountain Poems of Stonehouse Cover Image
By Red Pine (Translator), Stonehouse
$17.00
ISBN: 9781556594557
Availability: On Order at the Warehouse
Published: Copper Canyon Press - May 27th, 2014

For enthusiasts of Han Shan (Cold Mountain) and other medieval Chinese poets (in translation), Stonehouse speaks to the same aesthetic and has great power within the simplicity. A great discovery, thanks to Red Pine.

Gary


Signs Preceding the End of the World

Staff Pick Badge
Signs Preceding the End of the World Cover Image
By Yuri Herrera, Lisa Dillman (Translator)
$13.95
ISBN: 9781908276421
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: And Other Stories - March 3rd, 2015

If you start highlighting what stuns you about Yuri Herrara’s debut novel in English, Signs Preceding the End of the World, every page will be mottled with fluorescent lines. Herrera writes in prose that feels like you are standing on both sides of the uncanny valley while something beautiful happens below and above you, creating a delectable unease, cut through with the simple joy of precise and surprising images. Herrara will draw the obvious comparisons to Roberto Bolano, but Signs Preceding the End of World should also find a should also find a home next to Jesse Ball and Italo Calvino.

 

Josh

 


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Translation