Grubbie Debuts: Karen Winn with Shelley Berg, Our Little World

Porter Square Books and GrubStreet are thrilled to present the latest installment of the Grubbie Debut series with Karen Winn for Our Little World. Called "a story of sisterhood and the haunting nature of loss for readers of Celeste Ng and Kristen Bird” by Booklist, Winn's debut is not to be missed. Shelley Berg will join the author in conversation.

Join us at Porter Square Books: Boston Edition on Wednesday, May 4 at 7pm to celebrate the book's release! In person attendance will be limited to the first 50 RSVPs, so be sure to register below to reserve your spot. Virtual attendance will be supported on Crowdcast- register here to attend virtually!

"I was intrigued by Our Little World from the chilling first paragraph. It's a coming-of-age novel complicated by a tragic and untimely death, and it's also a novel about two sisters you will never forget. I fell in love with the confidence of the writing and the colorful nostalgia of the mid-'80s details. Our Little World will transport and transfix you."—Elin Hilderbrand

July 1985. It’s a normal, sweltering New Jersey summer for soon-to-be seventh grader Bee Kocsis. Her thoughts center only on sunny days spent at Deer Chase Lake, on evenings chasing fireflies around her cul-de-sac with the neighborhood kids, and on Max, the boy who just moved in across the street. There's also the burgeoning worry that she'll never be as special as her younger sister, Audrina, who seems to effortlessly dazzle wherever she goes. 

But when Max’s little sister, Sally, goes missing at the lake, Bee’s long-held illusion of stability is shattered in an instant. As the families in her close-knit community turn inward, suspicious and protective, things in Bee’s own home become increasingly strained, most of all with Audrina, when a shameful secret surfaces. With everything changed, Bee and Audrina’s already-fraught sisterhood is pushed to the limit as they grow up—and apart—in the wake of an innocence lost too soon. 
 
Perfect for readers of Celeste Ng’s Everything I Never Told YouOur Little World is a powerful and lyrical coming-of-age story that examines the complicated bond of sisterhood, the corrosive power of envy, and how the traumas of our youths can shape our identities for a lifetime.

Karen Winn received her MFA from Fairleigh Dickinson University. She also holds a doctoral degree in nursing. Born and raised in New Jersey, Karen now lives in Boston with her husband and two children. Our Little World is her first novel.

Register in the RSVP form below to join us in-person at Porter Square Books: Boston Edition, or register here to attend virtually!

Event date: 

Wednesday, May 4, 2022 - 7:00pm

Event address: 

Porter Square Books: Boston Edition
50 Liberty Drive
Boston, MA 02210

RSVP Form: 

RSVP to attend Karen Winn, Our Little World

Interested in joining our event on 5/4 with Karen Winn? Please RSVP here to reserve your spot. Space will be limited to the first 50 RSVPs, after which this form will close, so make sure to sign up here if you plan to attend in person!  

Attendees should note the following in-person event guidelines:

-Attendees must wear a mask at all times during the event.

-Proof of vaccination must be shown upon arrival at the event (a vaccination card, online vaccination record, or photo of your vaccine card are all fine - please have this handy, as well as a form of ID, as we check you in).

-Distanced seating will be provided. Porter Square Books will be open all day so feel free to come early to browse, but you’ll be able to take your seats starting at 6:45 pm. The talk will begin at 7pm, and conclude at 8pm. A signing line will follow the talk.

We thank you for respecting the safety of our community and staff by following these guidelines. Please feel free to reach out to me with any questions at catherine@portersquarebooks.com

Thanks so much for your support  - we truly can’t wait to host you!

 

Our Little World: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780593184493
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Dutton - May 3rd, 2022

Category: