Local Authors: Elisabeth Elo, Seth Harwood, Nick Trout

Three novelists present their newest works in our monthly panel featuring local authors!


Elisabeth Elo, Finding Katarina M

An American doctor travels to Siberia to find her estranged grandmother, only to uncover dark family secrets and a dangerous international plot.

Dr. Natalie March always believed that her maternal grandparents perished in the gulag, Stalin's notorious network of labor camps. But when a young Russian dancer appears in her office claiming to be her cousin, and providing details that only a family member would know, Natalie must face a surprising truth: her grandmother, Katarina Melnikova, is still very much alive. Natalie eagerly travels to Siberia to meet her, only to be drawn into a web of mystery, espionage, and danger that will push her to the limits of her endurance.

How far will Natalie go to reunite her family? Finding Katarina M. takes the reader on an extraordinary journey across Siberia, while it explores what it means to be loyal to your family, your country, and yourself.

 Elisabeth Elo is the author of North of Boston, chosen by Booklist as a Best Crime Novel Debut: 2014. Published in six countries, it was also an Indie Next selection and a Book of the Month Selection. Elisabeth attended Brown University and earned a PhD in English from Brandeis. She worked as a children's magazine editor, a high-tech marketer and product manager, and a halfway house counselor before starting to write fiction. She lives in Boston.


​Seth Harwood,The Maltese Jordans

​"It wasn’t long before the bail bondsmen called.”

So starts the newest novel by Cambridge-raised author Seth Harwood, who now teaches creative writing for Harvard Extension School. 

In The Maltese Jordans, his newest Jack Palms novel, the former one-hit-wonder Hollywood action star has turned bounty hunter and tracks a mark out of San Francisco who himself follows a singular, legendary pair of sneakers that Michael Jordan once wore in a secret basketball game for the king of Saudi Arabia in 1996.

You’ll have to hear Harwood’s tale and read The Maltese Jordans to learn all the twists, turns and possibly-true events that led to the most expensive pair of sneakers ever to be bought and sold. If you like crime fiction, sports stories, or have ever bought a pair of shoes, you’ll find this novel riveting and often hilarious.

Seth Harwood is a graduate of the Iowa Writers’ Workshop and currently lives in Western MA. His prior books include the bestsellers Jack Wakes Up, In Broad Daylight, and Everyone Pays.  Check out his website at sethharwood.com


Dr. Nick Trout, The Wonder of Lost Causes

In this heartwarming story, perfect for fans of An Unexpected Grace and A Dog’s Way Home, a single mom learns that her disabled son can communicate with a very special dog—and the lessons this dog teaches can shape the future and transform their lives.

Dr. Kate Blunt will do anything for her son, Jasper. Well, almost anything. Since Jasper has the incurable lung disease cystic fibrosis, Kate’s always told him he couldn’t get a dog, It’s a tough call, but she’s a single mom taking care of a kid who has to fight for every breath he takes. The daily medical routine that keeps Jasper alive is complicated enough without adding a mutt to the mix. Worse still, as the veterinarian in charge of a Cape Cod animal shelter, Kate’s life is wall-to-wall mutts in constant need of forever homes.

Kate must live with the fact that every abandoned dog is on a two-week deadline to find a human—and the scarred, mistreated wreck that turns up doesn’t stand a chance. Named Whistler, he’s too old, too ugly. But the dog forms an instantaneous, almost magical connection with Jasper. The dog never makes a sound, let alone a bark, yet he speaks to Jasper in a myriad of mysterious ways, forging an indelible bond with the boy. The clock’s ticking, the dog’s future hangs in the balance, and Jasper would do anything to find him a home; but Whistler has chosen them—for a reason. And what Whistler inspires in Kate and Jasper may be his most important lesson of all.

Dr. Nick Trout is a staff surgeon at the prestigious Angell Animal Medical Center in Boston. He’s also the author of five books, including the New York Times bestselling memoir, Tell Me Where It Hurts. He lives in Massachusetts with his wife, Kathy, and their adopted Labradoodle, Thai.

Event date: 
Monday, April 29, 2019 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
Porter Square Books
25 White St.
Cambridge, MA 02140
Finding Katarina M. Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781947993433
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Polis Books - March 19th, 2019

The Maltese Jordans: The Hunt for the World's Most Unbelievable Pair of Kicks Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781948235976
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Crimewav Books - February 19th, 2019

The Wonder of Lost Causes: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062747945
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - April 30th, 2019

Category: