*Postponed* Zan Romanoff, Look

*This event has been postponed due to public health and travel concerns. We will do our best to reschedule when it is safe to do so!*

 

For fans of Nina LaCour and Mary H. K. Choi comes "a gorgeous exploration of Los Angeles, love, and how a girl can be torn down and put herself back together, one image at a time." --Robin Benway, National Book Award-winning author of Far From the Tree

"An incisive, tantalizing exploration into the minds of teen girls through the reality-distortion-field of social media. Look is smart, quick, and startlingly tender. I loved this book." --Mary H. K. Choi, New York Times bestselling author of Emergency Contact


Things Lulu Shapiro's 5,000 Flash followers don't know about her:
    That the video of her with another girl was never supposed to go public.
    That Owen definitely wasn't supposed to break up with her because of it.
    That behind the carefully crafted selfies and scenes Lulu projects onto people's screens, her life feels like a terrible, uncertain mess.

Then Lulu meets Cass. Cass isn't interested in looking at Lulu's life, only in living in it. And The Hotel--a gorgeous space with an intriguing, Old Hollywood history and a trust-fund kid to restore it--seems like the perfect, secret place for them to get to know each other. But just because Lulu has stepped out of the spotlight doesn't mean it'll stop following her every move.

Look is about what you present vs. who you really are, about real intimacy and manufactured intimacy and the blurring of that line. It's a deceptively glamorous, feminist, emotionally complex, utterly compelling, queer coming-of-age novel about falling in love and taking ownership of your own self--your whole self--in the age of social media.

Zan Romanoff was born in Los Angeles and raised in its private schools. She is the author of the novels A Song to Take the World Apart and Grace and the Fever. Her nonfiction has appeared in Buzzfeed, ElleGQ, LitHub, The Los Angeles TimesThe New Republic, and The Washington Post, among others. Zan lives, writes, and watches a lot of reality television in LA.

Event date: 

Tuesday, April 7, 2020 - 7:00pm

Event address: 

Porter Square Books
25 White St.
Cambridge, MA 02140
Look Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525554264
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - March 31st, 2020

Category: