The Social Novel as a Vehicle for Empathy: Author Talk with Lynne Reeves Griffin, Katherine Sherbrooke, and Mira T. Lee

Porter Square Books is delighted to welcome authors Lynne Reeves Griffin, Katherine Sherbrooke, and Mira T. Lee to Porter Square Books: Boston Edition for an author talk. The authors will discuss how the social novel can act as a vehicle for empathy and build resilience in readers and writers alike, drawing upon their three most recent works (Dark Rivers to Cross, Leaving Coy's Hill, and Everything Here is Beautiful). This event is presented in partnership with GrubStreet.

This event will take place on Wednesday, November 16 at 7pm at Porter Square Books: Boston Edition (50 Liberty Dr. Boston, MA 02210). Masks are required for all attending this event. RSVPs, while not required, are strongly encouraged- scroll down to RSVP below!

 

 

Dark Rivers to Cross

For fans of Hannah Mary McKinnon and Kimberley Belle, this emotionally charged thriller explores long-buried family secrets and the deadly reckoning that often follows their explosive reveal.

For two decades, Lena Blackwell has kept her sons at her side, teaching them everything she knows about running their successful river lodge in Northern Maine. But what she really wants is to keep her boys in the dark about their tragic past.
 
Her son Luke is right where he belongs, working at the family inn sheltered by acres of pine forest that stretch along the Penobscot River. So when his adopted brother, Jonah, threatens to upend their peaceful life by searching for his biological parents, Luke refuses to help.
 
Lena is determined to thwart Jonah’s search to uncover his own history. But the unexpected arrival of old friends at the inn for a weekend off the grid throws her plans into disarray. Little does she know, Jonah has already gleaned enough information to set in motion a deadly reckoning.

Luke may not want to know anything about his family, but he’s caught between the hard truths his brother is determined to expose and the devastating secret his mother is desperate to keep—at any cost.
 
Dark Rivers to Cross sensitively explores inherited trauma and the stories we tell the ones we love. It’s about what one mother is willing to sacrifice for her children.

Lynne Reeves is an internationally recognized family counselor and novelist. Her short fiction, essays, and articles have appeared in Parents, Psychology Today, Solstice Literary Magazine, Chautauqua Journal, Craft Literary, Fiction Writers Review, Brain, Child and more. Lynne regularly appears as a media guest expert to discuss contemporary family life and preventive mental health.

Leaving Coy's Hill

An unforgettable story about the triumphs and travails of a woman unwilling to play by the rules, based on the remarkable life of pioneering feminist and abolitionist Lucy Stone. 

Born on a farm in 1818, Lucy Stone dreamt of extraordinary things for a girl of her time, like continuing her education beyond the eighth grade and working for the abolitionist cause, and of ordinary things, such as raising a family of her own. But when she learns that the Constitution affords no rights to married women, she declares that she will never marry and dedicates her life to fighting for change.

At a time when it is considered promiscuous for women to speak in public, Lucy risks everything for the anti-slavery movement, her powerful oratory mesmerizing even her most ardent detractors as she rapidly becomes a household name. And when she begins to lecture on the “woman question,” she inspires a young Susan B. Anthony to join the movement. But life as a crusader is a lonely one. 

When Henry Blackwell, a dashing and forward-thinking man, proposes a marriage of equals, Lucy must reconcile her desire for love and children with her public persona and the legal perils of marriage she has long railed against. And when a wrenching controversy pits Stone and Anthony against each other, Lucy makes a decision that will impact her legacy forever.

Based on true events, Leaving Coy’s Hill is a timeless story of women’s quest for personal and professional fulfillment within society’s stubborn constraints. And as an abolitionist and women’s rights activist fighting for the future of a deeply divided country, Lucy Stone’s quest to live a life on her own terms is as relevant as ever. In this “propulsive,” “astonishing,” and “powerful” story, Katherine Sherbrooke brings to life a true American heroine for a new generation.

Katherine A. Sherbrooke is the author of Fill the Sky, which was a finalist for the Mary Sarton Award for Contemporary Fiction and the Foreward Indies Book of the Year, and won a 2017 Independent Press Award. She is Chair of the GrubStreet Creative Writing Center in Boston and lives south of the city with her husband, two sons, and black lab.

Everything Here is Beautiful

A dazzling novel of two sisters and their emotional journey through love, loyalty, and heartbreak

Two Chinese-American sisters—Miranda, the older, responsible one, always her younger sister’s protector; Lucia, the headstrong, unpredictable one, whose impulses are huge and, often, life changing. When Lucia starts hearing voices, it is Miranda who must find a way to reach her sister. Lucia impetuously plows ahead, but the bitter constant is that she is, in fact, mentally ill. Lucia lives life on a grand scale, until, inevitably, she crashes to earth.
 
Miranda leaves her own self-contained life in Switzerland to rescue her sister again—but only Lucia can decide whether she wants to be saved. The bonds of sisterly devotion stretch across oceans—but what does it take to break them?
 
Everything Here Is Beautiful is, at its heart, an immigrant story, and a young woman’s quest to find fulfillment and a life unconstrained by her illness. But it’s also an unforgettable, gut-wrenching story of the sacrifices we make to truly love someone—and when loyalty to one’s self must prevail over all.

Mira T. Lee's work has been published in numerous quarterlies and reviews, including The Missouri Review, The Southern Review, Harvard Review, and Triquarterly. She was awarded an Artist's Fellowship by the Massachusetts Cultural Council in 2012, and has twice received special mention for the Pushcart Prize. She is a graduate of Stanford University, and currently lives with her husband and two children in Cambridge, Massachusetts. This is her debut novel.

Event date: 

Wednesday, November 16, 2022 - 7:00pm

Event address: 

Porter Square Books: Boston Edition
50 Liberty Dr.
boston, MA 02210

RSVP Form: 

RSVP to attend!

Interested in joining us? Please RSVP here to let us know you're coming and to receive event updates.

 

All fields marked with '*' denotes mandatory fields
Dark Rivers to Cross: A Novel By Lynne Reeves Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781639101214
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Crooked Lane Books - November 8th, 2022

Leaving Coy's Hill: A Novel By Katherine Sherbrooke Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781639362189
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Pegasus Books - August 9th, 2022

Everything Here Is Beautiful: A Novel By Mira T. Lee Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780735221970
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Penguin Books - January 15th, 2019

Category: 

Event Location: