Tucker Shaw, When You Call My Name

Porter Square Books is thrilled to welcome Tucker Shaw for When You Call My Name, A Buzzfeed New LGBTQA+ YA Novels You Need This Spring Selection. This event will take place at Porter Square Books: Cambridge Edition on Wednesday, May 4th at 7pm. Please RSVP below if you plan to attend!

In the spirit of the author’s massively popular Twitter thread, Tucker Shaw’s When You Call My Name is a heartrending novel about two gay teens coming of age in New York City in 1990 at the height of the HIV/AIDS epidemic, perfect for fans of Adam Silvera and Mary H. K. Choi.

Film fanatic Adam is seventeen and being asked out on his first date—and the guy is cute. Heart racing, Adam accepts, quickly falling in love with Callum like the movies always promised.

Fashion-obsessed Ben is eighteen and has just left his home upstate after his mother discovers his hidden stash of gay magazines. When he comes to New York City, Ben’s sexuality begins to feel less like a secret and more like a badge of honor.

Then Callum disappears, leaving Adam heartbroken, and Ben finds out his new world is more closed-minded than he thought. When Adam finally tracks Callum down, he learns the guy he loves is very ill. And in a chance meeting near the hospital where Callum is being treated, Ben and Adam meet, forever changing each other’s lives. As both begin to open their eyes to the possibilities of queer love and life, they realize sometimes the only people who can help you are the people who can really see you—in all your messy glory.

A love letter to New York and the liberating power of queer friendship, When You Call My Name is a hopeful novel about the pivotal moments of our youth that break our hearts and the people who help us put them back together.

Tucker Shaw is a writer and editor who first found his family in New York City's East Village in 1991 when he was twenty-three. Over the decades he's worked in magazines, newspapers, and advertising, When You Call My Name is his first novel for Henry Holt Books for Young Readers.

Event date: 

Wednesday, May 4, 2022 - 7:00pm

Event address: 

Porter Square Books
25 White St.
Cambridge, MA 02140

RSVP Form: 

RSVP to attend Tucker Shaw, When You Call My Name

Interested in joining our event on 5/4 with Tucker Shaw? Please RSVP here to reserve your spot. 

Attendees should note the following in-person event guidelines:

-Attendees must wear a mask at all times during the event.

-Proof of vaccination must be shown upon arrival at the event (a vaccination card, online vaccination record, or photo of your vaccine card are all fine - please have this handy, as well as a form of ID, as we check you in).

-Porter Square Books will be open all day so feel free to come early to browse, but you’ll be able to take your seats starting at 6:45 pm. The talk will begin at 7pm, and conclude at 8pm. A signing line will follow the talk.

We thank you for respecting the safety of our community and staff by following these guidelines. Please feel free to reach out to me with any questions at catherine@portersquarebooks.com

Thanks so much for your support  - we truly can’t wait to host you!

When You Call My Name Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250624864
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - May 3rd, 2022

Category: