Staff Picks

Something to Talk About

Staff Pick Badge
Something to Talk About Cover Image
$12.80
ISBN: 9780593102527
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - May 26th, 2020

 

When showrunner Jo is photographed making her assistant laugh on the red carpet, they are immediately declared a couple by the media. Of course, this couldn't come at a worse time as it threatens Jo's new movie and Emma's upcoming promotion. As they begin to spend more and more time together, the question becomes—what if the rumor wasn't so off base after all? This is a delicious slow-burn of a romance that will keep you turning pages as you yell at them to just kiss already. Great for fans of Red, White, and Royal Blue.

April


Lies of Locke Lamora

Staff Pick Badge
The Lies of Locke Lamora (Gentleman Bastards #1) Cover Image
$7.19
ISBN: 9780553588941
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Del Rey - June 26th, 2007

 

This series is my biggest new obsession of quarantine. It's like grown-up Oliver Twist but in pseudo-Venice and with just the right amounts of fantasy elements. Locke, Jean, and their whole band of delightful con-artists are my new favorite bastards, and I can't get enough of their adventures! 

Caleb


Greenwood

Staff Pick Badge
Greenwood: A Novel Cover Image
$22.40
ISBN: 9781984822000
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hogarth - February 25th, 2020

 

Novels that span multiple generations of a family are not particularly uncommon, but it's hard to do them well.  Christie, widely acclaimed in Canada but not well-known in the US, has done just that with this beautiful tale that opens and closes in the year 2038, and in between telescopes back through various points to 1908 and then forward again.  Trees are intrinsic to the book both actually and metaphorically, and the people who interact with them and with each other are drawn thoughtfully and richly.  The book doesn't moralizes but is deeply moral, and the heart of the story, set in the Depression, is riveting.

David


The Dreamed Part

Staff Pick Badge
The Dreamed Part Cover Image
By Rodrigo Fresan, Will Vanderhyden (Translator)
$15.16
ISBN: 9781948830058
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Open Letter - November 12th, 2019

 

At times baffling, at times exuberant, at times your curmudgeonly profession uncle who doesn’t like smart phones, at times breathtaking, The Dreamed Part is less a book and more a mind-altering substance. Fresan writes about and towards that pliable mental state between waking & dreaming. A tremendous literary accomplishment with some of the most amazing prose about books & reading I’ve ever seen in a novel. 

Josh


The Mercies

Staff Pick Badge
The Mercies Cover Image
$21.60
ISBN: 9780316529259
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown and Company - February 11th, 2020

 

A beautifully written tale of a 1600s witch hunt and trial on a small Norwegian island. It is a nuanced look at the power of a female community, the toxicity of patriarchy, and the whirlwind of a village descending into madness, eating itself from the inside.This book will sweep you up in its whirlwind.

Meaghan


All Creatures Great and Small

Staff Pick Badge
All Creatures Great and Small: The Warm and Joyful Memoirs of the Worlds Most Beloved Animal Doctor Cover Image
$13.59
ISBN: 9781250057839
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - May 6th, 2014

 

If you have never read a James Herriot story about his life as a country veterinarian in England, an authentic, uplifting happiness awaits you. I have been going back to them in the stress of pandemic paralysis. I read them before bedtime and always go to sleep with a smile on my face. Like eating the best bread ever, you think how can this simple fare make me feel so satisfied and happy? These are also perfect for reading with younger family members. This is book 1 of a 5 book series.

Molly


The Emissary

Staff Pick Badge
The Emissary Cover Image
By Yoko Tawada, Margaret Mitsutani (Translated by)
$11.96
ISBN: 9780811227629
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: New Directions - April 24th, 2018

 

The Emissary, one of the strangest and most inventive stories that I’ve read, follows a day in the lives of a Japanese grandfather and grandson after an unnamed environmental catastrophe. In this dystopian world, children are born frail and sickly while the elderly remain healthy and strong. Due to the pollution, most animals and plants have gone extinct, everyone changes sex at least once in their lives, and old holidays have been replaced with new ones like “Being Alive is Enough Day”. Translated from its original Japanese, this short novel pushes the boundary of both language and visions of the future.

Justin, Writer in Residence for Adults


Pages