Staff Picks

The Midnight Gang

Staff Pick Logo
The Midnight Gang Cover Image
By David Walliams, Tony Ross (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780062561060
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - February 27th, 2018


Tom is rushed to Lord Funt hospital in London from his miserable boarding school with a nasty bump on his head. It's all too awful at first, but he wont want to leave after joining the other kids on his ward in the midnight gang. Creative escapades await with happy endings all around.


They Can't Kill Us Until They Kill Us

Staff Pick Logo
They Can't Kill Us Until They Kill Us Cover Image
ISBN: 9781937512651
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Two Dollar Radio - November 7th, 2017

Like the music he writes about, Hanif Abdurraqib's essay collection is by turns novel and nostalgic, euphoric and poignant, contemplative and raw. A moving examination of the way pop culture ties into the current state of our nation--and how it affects us on a personal level.



American Panda

Staff Pick Logo
American Panda Cover Image
ISBN: 9781481499101
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon Pulse - February 6th, 2018

Mei's all set to fulfill her parents' plan: she's a freshman at MIT on the path to becoming a doctor and marrying the perfect Taiwanese Ivy Leaguer. The only problem? She hates germs, is bored by biology class, and has a crush on her decidedly not Taiwanese classmate. When Mei reconnects with her estranged brother Xing, she must decide whether all the secrets are worth it. This smart, funny YA debut is for fans of Sarah Dessen or Jennifer Smith.


Meet Cute

Staff Pick Logo
Meet Cute Cover Image
ISBN: 9781328759870
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Houghton Mifflin - January 2nd, 2018

Meet Cute is a YA short story anthology celebrating the best part of any good rom-com- the meet cute. The fourteen stories within are diverse, romantic, funny, and heartbreaking, featuring many of today's most popular YA authors. This is the perfect read to get you in that Valentine's Day spirit.


The Job of the Wasp

Staff Pick Logo
The Job of the Wasp Cover Image
ISBN: 9781593766801
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Soft Skull Press - January 9th, 2018

This book is unsettling, eerie, strange, disquieting, and delightful, if you are into Gothic murder mysteries that make you question your own sanity with every sentence. Think Lord of The Flies meets Turn Of The Screw.



Staff Pick Logo
Ali: A Life Cover Image
ISBN: 9780544435247
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Houghton Mifflin - October 3rd, 2017

This is not a book about boxing, although if you are not a boxing enthusiast you will certainly learn a lot about the sport. It is much more a book about one of the most outsized personalities of the 60s,about race relations and politics and Vietnam, and about how Cassius Clay went from being a poor kid in Louisville to "The Champ" and "The Greatest". A very compelling read, and worth all the pages.


Salvation of a Saint

Staff Pick Logo
Salvation of a Saint (Detective Galileo #2) Cover Image
ISBN: 9781250036278
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Minotaur Books - September 9th, 2014

Looking for a cerebral mystery that's more of a how-dunnit than who-dunnit? Look no further than Keigo Higashino, one of Japan's bestselling crime novelists. Yoshitawa, a man about to leave his wife for another woman, turns up poisoned. But his wife--one of the only logical suspects--was hundreds of miles away at the time! Enter physics professor Yukawa, a genius with a penchant for solving "unsolvable" cases...



Staff Pick Logo
Belladonna Cover Image
By Dasa Drndic, Celia Hawkesworth (Translator)
ISBN: 9780811227216
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: New Directions Publishing Corporation - October 31st, 2017

What will books written about this time in history be like? If they are brilliantly erudite about complicity and politics, growing old and mortality, how we remember and forget history, and the quiet moments that stretch into our lives like cracks in glass, they’ll be like Belladonna. Drndic’s novel is thoughtful, funny, and profound. A must-read for fans of translation and anyone looking for a different perspective on our troubling times.


The Man Without a Face

Staff Pick Logo
The Man Without a Face: The Unlikely Rise of Vladimir Putin Cover Image
ISBN: 9781594486517
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - March 5th, 2013

After living in the center of Moscow during the 2012 presidential election, I thought I knew just about everything there was to know about Putin's election and his initial rise to power. I was amazed after reading Masha's brilliant reporting of just how much was going on behind the scenes. This scathing book doesn't pull any punches and anyone who follows current events should give it a read.