Staff Picks

Ungrateful Refugee

Staff Pick Badge
The Ungrateful Refugee: What Immigrants Never Tell You Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781948226424
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Catapult - September 3rd, 2019

 

A refugee who escaped Iran under threat of religious persecution in 1989, Dina Nayeri writes with lyricism and incredible clarity about the refugee experience. She weaves her own story in with those of fellow Iranian refugees, as well those waiting in the camps in Greece today to show the insidious power of Western privilege, the hopelessness of the asylum seeker, and to make the plea for dignity for the misplaced. A necessary read.

Meaghan


Let's Be Weird Together

Staff Pick Badge
Let's Be Weird Together: A Book About Love Cover Image
$12.95
ISBN: 9781523507733
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Workman Publishing Company - December 10th, 2019

 

 

From the creator of the eminently adorable Instagram account @sadanimalfacts (featuring such tragic true tidbits as, ‘rhinos make a squeaking sound to call for their friends when they’re lost’). This wonderful, all-inclusive celebration of the weirdness of love features notable couples through history, animal courting rituals, and all the strange things we do when we’re half of a pair. I’m tossing you a softball here, folks: get this sweet, silly book for your partner for in lieu of the Hallmark card. Or for yourself, if you’re a single, hopeless romantic like me!

Leila


If We Were Villains

Staff Pick Badge
If We Were Villains: A Novel Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250095299
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - April 17th, 2018

 

It's time for another meeting of Caleb's Artsy-Academics-With-Dark-Secrets Book Club! If We Were Villains is the tale of a cohort of acting students who get a little too caught up in the menace and magic of Shakespeare. It's not so much about how a crime happens as about how crime affects those in its wake. Perfect for fans of The Secret History! 

Caleb


HoodWitch

Staff Pick Badge
HoodWitch (ACRE) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781946724243
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Acre Books - October 15th, 2019

 

I'm finding my words insufficient for describing what Hicks has achieved with this book of poetry, so I'm going to quote Tyrese Coleman: “These poems explore Black femme power and the reclaiming of those harmed bodies...and embracing the nonbinary femme body through a miasma of language and imagery that conjures Christian, Afrofuturist, and Voodoo mysticism; it’s all beautifully visceral and real.”

Stacey


Severance

Staff Pick Badge
Severance: A Novel Cover Image
By Ling Ma
$17.00
ISBN: 9781250214997
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador - May 7th, 2019

 

Candace Chen, one of the last people alive in New York City after a fungal infection spreads across the world, spends her days as the sole employee of a defunct publishing company. Darkly and dryly humorous, the novel is a zombie horror story, an office satire, a coming of age narrative, an immigrant saga, and a mediation on the perils and pleasures of nostalgia. 

Justin, Writer in Residence for Adults


Michelangelo: God’s Architect

Staff Pick Badge
Michelangelo, God's Architect: The Story of His Final Years and Greatest Masterpiece Cover Image
$29.95
ISBN: 9780691195490
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Princeton University Press - November 19th, 2019

 

William E. Wallace’s lifetime of research clearly informs this wonderfully written account of the last two decades of Michelangelo’s life when he designs and directs the construction of the new St. Peter’s in Rome. Wallace convincingly immerses you what is was like to live in sixteenth -century Rome as well as providing great insight into the genius of Michelangelo’s artistry. 

Dale


Cast Iron: The Ultimate Book of the World's Most Prized Cookware with More Than 300 International Recipes

Staff Pick Badge
Cast Iron: The Ultimate Book of the World's Most Prized Cookware with More Than 300 International Recipes Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781604338881
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Cider Mill Press - October 22nd, 2019

 

Cast Iron, The Ultimate Cookbook is absolutely worth its weight! Mouth watering recipes plus an excellent  section on cast iron care and keeping. This cookbook is essential for your kitchen! 

Megan


Eyes Bottle Dark with a Mouthful of Flowers

Staff Pick Badge
Eyes Bottle Dark with a Mouthful of Flowers: Poems (National Poetry) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781571315205
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Milkweed Editions - September 10th, 2019

 

Jake Skeets’s poems sometimes sound like gears grinding in an old pickup truck you’ve barely kept going for years, sometimes like a heavy pint glass being slammed down on a sticky bar moments before someone says something they’ll always regret, and sometimes like a tender, consoling whisper. This collection will take your breath away and give it back with something added.


Josh


Intercepted

Staff Pick Badge
Intercepted (Playbook, The #1) Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780451491954
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Berkley - September 11th, 2018

 

When Marlee discovers that her NFL-player boyfriend has been cheating on her, she vows to never date an athlete again. There's just one problem: Gavin Pope, the new hotshot quarterback. If you like steamy romance (and independent women) with a side of sports, this fun, fast-paced novel is for you. Perfect for fans of Jasmine Guillory.

April


Polar Bear Explorer’s Club

Staff Pick Badge
The Polar Bear Explorers' Club (The Polar Bear Explorers’ Club #1) Cover Image
By Alex Bell, Tomislav Tomic (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9781534406476
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - November 12th, 2019

A magical, wintery adventure filled with fairies dinosaurs, and mustachioed mayhem. Stella is out to prove girls can be explorers too, and maybe break some other misconceptions while she’s at it.

Stacey


Pages