Staff Picks

Playing Changes

Staff Pick Badge
Playing Changes: Jazz for the New Century Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781101873496
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - July 23rd, 2019

 

Chinen’s book is so very welcome as books about contemporary jazz are few and far between, but also because it’s terrific. Chinen puts into context each of the various directions players are taking improvisational music today with a studied thoughtfulness based upon careful listening and deep historical knowledge. The discographies bookmarking each chapter as well as his list of essential 21st century albums are good guideposts for anyone’s future listening. 

Dale 


Fever Dream

Staff Pick Badge
Fever Dream: A Novel Cover Image
By Samanta Schweblin, Megan McDowell (Translated by)
$16.00
ISBN: 9780399184604
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Riverhead Books - March 6th, 2018

 

Samanta Schweblin's FEVER DREAM is exactly what the title suggests: an atmospheric drift through a nightmare world of sideways logic and slow-building horror. You'll find yourself consuming it in one sitting, double-checking the locks and turning on all the lights in the house as you go.

Kate


Age of Light

Staff Pick Badge
The Age of Light: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780316524087
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Little, Brown and Company - February 5th, 2019

 

When done well - and this is certainly done well! - good historical "bio-fiction" captures their characters' essence but places them in a context of urgency, of narrative and of emotion.  This novel about photographers Lee Miller and Man Ray (she was also his model and muse), in Paris in the late 20s-early 30s, makes you feel like you know them both intimately, that you're in the room for the tempestuous and intense love, fighting, jealousy, art and passion that was their relationship and through which they produced their bewitching and important art.   

 

David 


Red Rising

Staff Pick Badge
Red Rising (Red Rising Series #1) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780345539809
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Del Rey - July 15th, 2014

 

This series is my FAVORITE thing to come out of the last decade. For everyone who's anticipating the resurrection of the Dune franchise this is "so what if exciting stuff constantly happened in Dune". But better. Just read it. If you like sci-fi even a little bit you will love it.  

Caleb


Bachelor Nation

Staff Pick Badge
Bachelor Nation: Inside the World of America's Favorite Guilty Pleasure Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781101985915
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dutton - February 5th, 2019

 

Why are so many people obsessed with this show? Amy Kaufman dives headfirst into the extensive production behind the The Bachelor, revealing all the secrets that create the reality TV fantasy. If you're a fan (or just a hate-watcher), you should pick up this book.

Rebecca


The Key to Happily Ever After

Staff Pick Badge
The Key to Happily Ever After Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781501197581
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Gallery Books - May 14th, 2019

 

The Key To Happily Ever After: Three sisters inherit their family's wedding planning business in this fun, heartfelt rom-com. With the perfect blend of sisterhood, romance, and friendship, Marcelo brings the characters to life--and will enchant you with the wedding planning details throughout. Perfect for fans of Jasmine Guillory.

 

April


Bttm Fdrs

Staff Pick Badge
BTTM FDRS Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781683962069
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Fantagraphics - June 25th, 2019

 

Bttm Fdrs feels a bit like the movie "Get Out" crossed with Lovecraft and with a Lisa Frank style color palette. Or at least it feels like the concept of the movie. Horror comics are great for those of us who enjoy the genre but are too wimpy to sit through an entire movie. Also, Ben Passmore's unapologetic writing is great.

 

Stacey


Mostly Dead Things

Staff Pick Badge
Mostly Dead Things Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9781947793309
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tin House Books - June 4th, 2019

 

A strange, funny, and surprisingly touching novel about a family of Floridian taxidermists whose sense of duty and expression of love cuts them open as their knives do the skins of the animals they mount. I couldn’t put it down (and I have a phobia of taxidermy). 

Marika


An Untouched House

Staff Pick Badge
An Untouched House Cover Image
By Willem Frederik Hermans, David Colmer (Translated by), Cees Nooteboom (Afterword by)
$16.00
ISBN: 9781939810069
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Archipelago - October 23rd, 2018

 

A war story unlike any you’ve read before. We follow the protagonist discover & try to preserve a personal identity away from the war. But the forces that create war in the first place aren’t bound by walls and doors and the story ends with something that is shocking in large part because of how banal and obvious it is.

Josh


Pages