Staff Picks

Hotel Dare

Staff Pick Badge
Hotel Dare Cover Image
By Terry Blas, Claudia Aguirre (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9781684152056
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: KaBOOM! - June 11th, 2019

 

Magic, mystery, and mayhem abound as Olive and her adopted siblings, Charlotte and Darwin, investigate their grandmother's creepy old hotel and the magical doors that lead to other worlds. But when Charlotte decides she'd rather stay in one of those other worlds, it's up to Darwin and Olive to figure out their family's shattered past and convince her to come home. Perfect for fans of Deadendia and Gravity Falls.

Shana


Shadow Magic

Staff Pick Badge
Shadow Magic Cover Image
By Joshua Khan, Ben Hibon (Illustrator), Ben Hibon (Cover design or artwork by)
$6.99
ISBN: 9781484737880
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 14th, 2017

 

Perfect for fans of Rick Riordan, the Shadow Magic series is a perfect fantasy read: it has a treacherous new world, zombies, elemental powers, giant bats, and a girl who can talk to ghosts. What more could you want?

Caleb


Birthday

Staff Pick Badge
Birthday: A Novel Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250129833
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - May 21st, 2019

 

Birthday follows best-friends-from-birth Eric and Morgan over the course of their joint birthdays from ages thirteen to eighteen. It feels viscerally real as it faces issues such as homophobia and transphobia in the south, family tension, and the struggles of growing up in a poor rural area.

April


Queen of the Sea

Staff Pick Badge
Queen of the Sea Cover Image
By Dylan Meconis, Dylan Meconis (Illustrator)
$24.99
ISBN: 9781536204988
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Walker Books US - June 25th, 2019

 

In this historical graphic novel, Margaret seeks to learn who she is and why she arrived at the island convent she calls home. When the banished Queen Eleanor of Albion arrives on the island, Margaret realizes the past is more complicated than she thought. Meconis' beautiful watercolor illustrations will captive readers while her details on history and folklore enrich this immersive feat of storytelling.

Marika


The Last Days of Night

Staff Pick Badge
The Last Days of Night: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780812988925
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks - May 23rd, 2017

 

Before Apple was sued by Samsung over smartphones, before Microsoft was accused of having a monopoly in software, before Theodore Rosevelt broke up any of the large trusts, Thomas Edison and George Westinghouse went to court over who would light up America.

John


American Hippo

Staff Pick Badge
American Hippo: River of Teeth, Taste of Marrow, and New Stories Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250176431
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor.com - May 22nd, 2018

 

Take the gritty lawlessness of a western, combine it with vicious hippos that can and will snap a person in half with their giant jaws, then make everyone queer. That might give you an idea of what you're in for with American Hippo, but I don't think anything can really prepare you. Pick it up, and experience the delightful and bloody madness for yourself.

 

Shana


Horizon

Staff Pick Badge
Horizon Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780394585826
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Knopf - March 19th, 2019

 

This book is not for everyone though it is my kind of Summer reading. Its length and rich prose requires close and patient attention. In a sense it’s a summation of Lopez’s lifetime of travels to the distant corners of our planet documenting the interactions of myriad human cultures and the natural world. Terry Tempest Williams recently called it “a masterpiece”. Indeed.

Dale


Die

Staff Pick Badge
Die Volume 1: Fantasy Heartbreaker Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781534312708
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Image Comics - June 11th, 2019

 

D&D meets Jumanji in the biggest comic of 2019. As with all of Kieron Gillen's books, the characters and their humanity are what drives this, even amongst such a high-concept premise. And Stephanie Hans' artwork will take your breath away. This one is a game changer.

Caleb


Night at the Fiestas

Staff Pick Badge
Night at the Fiestas: Stories Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780393352214
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - March 7th, 2016

 

Roxane Gay called this collection "outstanding" and "nearly flawless," so that should tell you something.  The writing is beautiful, and each story so emotionally intense I had to take breaks while reading. Quade's strong and scrappy characters face their troubled lives with heart and tenacity in rural New Mexico.

Catherine, Writer in Residence Adult


The Silk Road

Staff Pick Badge
The Silk Road: A Novel Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9781555978297
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - March 5th, 2019

 

A post-apocalyptic dream song sung in a labyrinth, this is another brilliant novel from Davis. The prose is so beautiful and the images so rich that the reader is drawn in so that "Reader" becomes as much of a character as the Botanist, the Ice Man & the Archivist. A mind trip in the best possible way. 

Josh


Good Talk

Staff Pick Badge
Good Talk: A Memoir in Conversations Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780399589041
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: One World - March 26th, 2019

 

This hard-hitting graphic memoir is framed around a son's questions about how the world works, but quickly goes much deeper as Mira explores topics of sexuality, politics, prejudice, and the reality of living as a person of color in a post-2016 USA. Heart-aching and fantastic.

Rebecca


Pages