Staff Picks

White Bird

Staff Pick Badge
White Bird: A Wonder Story Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9780525645535
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - October 1st, 2019

 

RJ Palacio's White Bird is what we need right now: it's a painful reminder of the past that finds present-day solutions in kindness. It'll make your heart race as it points you towards a productive reminder of what we can be when we stand up to the world. I wish it didn't feel so urgent, but reading this gave me hope.

Caleb


Slay

Staff Pick Badge
SLAY Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781534445420
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon Pulse - September 24th, 2019

 

A high school senior secretly creates a massive multiplayer online role-playing game dedicated to black culture but is attacked in mainstream media after a player is murdered. Perfect for fans of The Hate You Give and Ready Player One. You'll be ready to SLAY when you're done.

April


Salt on Your Tongue

Staff Pick Badge
Salt on Your Tongue: Women and the Sea Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9781786891198
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Canongate Books - March 5th, 2019

 

Charlotte Runcie’s SALT ON YOUR TONGUE is an artfully woven tapestry of history, mythology, personal essay, and reflection that dives into the historical and literary ties between women and the sea. The book is framed by Runcie’s pregnancy with her first child and her own obsession with the ocean. As her child grows, Runcie visits the weathered seascapes and portside ruins of Scotland, while revisiting the importance of sirens, and fishwives, ancient saints, and seabirds. This book is a calm in the storm of womanhood, a peaceful place to contemplate all that that means. 

Meaghan


Lullabies for Little Criminals

Staff Pick Badge
Lullabies for Little Criminals: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062468475
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Perennial - April 5th, 2016

 

Twelve-year-old Baby, the daughter of a young heroin addict, lives mostly on the streets of Montreal. Her story is gritty, tender, funny, disturbing, and unexpectedly hopeful. Also, Baby’s voice is unlike anything else I’ve read.  A stunning coming-of-age novel.

Catherine, Writer in Residence for Adults


Strange Weather in Tokyo

Staff Pick Badge
Strange Weather in Tokyo Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781640090163
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Counterpoint LLC - November 14th, 2017

 

This book is seriously entertaining without anything ever happening. The story moves forward but you’re unsure of how or why. Tsukiko shuffles through life awkwardly, whilst Sensei lives with intention. Their paths cross in a bar one night and somehow they end up picking mushrooms in a mountain later. 

Sinny


Monster, She Wrote

Staff Pick Badge
Monster, She Wrote: The Women Who Pioneered Horror and Speculative Fiction Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781683691389
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quirk Books - September 17th, 2019

 

This is a great place to start if you're a horror lover looking for more authors to read. There are so many mentioned in this book, not just the big names. I appreciate the trigger warnings that accompany discussions of some works, as there are some topics you may want to know about ahead of time. A beautiful ode to women horror and speculative fiction writers (including pulp fiction!).

Stacey


Life of the Party

Staff Pick Badge
Life of the Party: Poems Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781984801906
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Press Trade Paperback - August 20th, 2019

 

Gatwood beautifully describes the tragedy that comes with female adolescence and sexuality in the most raw and immersing fashion. Incredible poet, incredible woman- an all time favorite. Each word spoke to me on a level that I didn’t even know words were capable of reaching. Life of the Party is a page-turner for sure and is something I will forever hold close to my heart. 

Hannah


Solid State: The Story of Abbey Road and the End of the Beatles

Staff Pick Badge
Solid State: The Story of
By Kenneth Womack, Alan Parsons (Foreword by)
$26.95
ISBN: 9781501746857
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Cornell University Press - October 15th, 2019

 

Solid State is a compulsively readable and definitive account of the writing and recording of the Beatles’ landmark final album, Abbey Road. Filled with fascinating details demonstrating the creativity and ingenuity of the group, George Martin, and their recording engineers, and even with all that has been written about them, this book is simply a must read for any fan.

Dale


A Fortune for your Disaster

Staff Pick Badge
A Fortune for Your Disaster Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781947793439
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tin House Books - September 3rd, 2019

Not everything is Sisyphean. No one ever wants to imagine themselves as the boulder.” Hanif’s words have stuck with me since I first heard them, and they keep summoning me back. They convict and inspire as they weave magic and music and messy relationships into something that feels like life but is also more. If you’re not reading Hanif you are missing out.

Caleb


The Mythic Dream

If you read science fiction and fantasy, you should pick up this book. Every anthology Parisien & Wolfe edit is excellent, and The Mythic Dream is no exception.

Rebecca


Pages