Staff Picks

New Voices of Fantasy

Staff Pick Logo
The New Voices of Fantasy Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781616962579
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tachyon Publications - August 22nd, 2017

 

This short story collection introduces a stellar new generation of fantasy writers. Standout stories include "Hungry Daughters of Starving Mothers," "A Kiss With Teeth," "The Pauper Prince and the Eucalyptus Jinn," and so many more. Be warned: you'll find yourself feverishly running to the bookstore to find more from each of these captivating authors!

Rebecca


The Tsar of Love and Techno

Staff Pick Logo
The Tsar of Love and Techno: Stories Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780770436452
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hogarth Press - July 19th, 2016

 

It took me too long to take this book seriously because of the unique title, and I'm still mad at myself for taking so long to read it. This book expertly weaves together the stories of people from across  both time and the vast country of Russia. We meet a man working to censor pieces of art, a museum curator, a thug from a small Siberian town, an actress, and many others that all flawlessly form a larger picture of Russian culture and experiences.

Cissa


Educated

Staff Pick Logo
Educated: A Memoir Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780399590504
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House - February 20th, 2018

 

This is a stunning memoir and coming of age story; brutal yet inspiring.  This is the story of what can happen when religious fundamentalists live apart from society and of one young woman's strength and determination to shape her own future.

Susannah


Men and Apparitions

Staff Pick Logo
Men and Apparitions Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781593766795
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Soft Skull Press - March 13th, 2018

 

Men & Apparitions is about photography, “New Men,” ethnography, family history, interpreting images, growing up, falling apart, and just about everything else in its own wonky way, featuring Clover Adams, a praying mantis named Mr. Petey and a kindly elderly painter in Amsterdam, but ultimately it a brilliant novel about, funny, charming, intelligent, sensitive man trying to understand what it means to be alive. A new classic in the “figuring shit out” genre.

Josh


P S I Miss You

Staff Pick Logo
P.S. I Miss You Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250123480
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Feiwel & Friends - March 6th, 2018

 

This book shares the moving tale of a young girl dealing with her strict religious family's reaction to her sister's sin, which ended in her being sent away. Trying to come to terms with the situation, she begins writing her sister letters and ends up finding herself along the way. This book deals with heavy subject matters and I would not recommend it to children under 11.

Cissa


Goldie Vance Vol. 1

Staff Pick Logo
Goldie Vance, Volume 1 Cover Image
By Hope Larson, Brittney Williams (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9781608868988
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Boom Box - October 11th, 2016

 

Goldie Vance dreams of becoming the in-house detective at the hotel where she and her dad work. She's insatiably curious, determined, and willing to go to extreme lengths to help her clients. When one of the clients goes missing, it's up to Goldie and her friends to solve the mystery and track him down. This book is filled with mystery and fun, perfect for fans of Nancy Drew or Gravity Falls!

Shana


Illuminae

Staff Pick Logo
Illuminae (Illuminae Files #1) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780553499148
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ember - April 25th, 2017

 

Illuminae is a fast-paced, heart racing, YA sci-fi book that breaks genre conventions, experiments with form and will keep you turning pages well into the night. Once I picked it up, I couldn't put it down, and I had to read the second one immediately. This is the perfect time to pick this one up because the trilogy is now complete! Head over to the YA section to find the others!

April


Conviction

Staff Pick Logo
Conviction Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781484725382
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Disney-Hyperion - March 13th, 2018

 

Star pitcher Braden thought his life was under control, and it was--until he is the only witness when his father, a prominent televangelist, runs over and kills a police officer. With the trial fast approaching, Braden must find new footing as everything he thought he knew about family, faith, and truth is crumbling. Gut-wrenching, superbly written, and ultimately hopeful.

Rebecca


Backyard Fairies

Staff Pick Logo
Backyard Fairies Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781524715274
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers - March 6th, 2018

 

In this magical yet ordinary story, a little girl searches for fairies in her backyard. While she may never see one, sometimes hints are enough. The vivid, jewel-tone illustrations are full of patterns and details that beg to be pored over. With a simple rhyming text and lush, layered illustrations, this book is certain to be a favorite reread at bedtimes!

Marika


Pages