Staff Picks

Staff Pick Badge
The Bruising of Qilwa By Naseem Jamnia Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781616963781
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Tachyon Publications - August 9th, 2022

I have been searching my whole adult life for this exact book, and now that I've found it I'm going to be yelling about it forever. With a gripping plot and a lush world, this book is deeply compassionate, vivid, and lets each character exist as a whole and complete person. Fans of Tamora Pierce's Circle of Magic books and Katherine Addison's Witness for the Dead will love The Bruising of Qilwa. Personally, I would like a dozen more books set in this universe.

Katherine


Staff Pick Badge
One Boy Watching By Grant Snider Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781797210889
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Chronicle Books - June 28th, 2022

This is a really beautifully illustrated counting book, and interestingly not all the counting is in numerical order, which is good for growing brains! It's also a lovely ode to the art of noticing, and really captures the feeling of being shipped to school from the sticks early every morning.
 

Piera


Staff Pick Badge
Our Wives Under the Sea: A Novel By Julia Armfield Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250229892
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Flatiron Books - July 12th, 2022

Oh man oh man. It's been a month and I keep thinking about this book. Gorgeous, devastating, revolting, lovely. The protagonist tells us early on that her project is to make the reader fall in love with her wife, and she succeeds. And now I just have to live with that!! Pairs well with Florence + The Machine, "Never Let Me Go" + the Mountain Goats, "In Corolla"

Piera


Staff Pick Badge
The Gathering Dark: An Anthology of Folk Horror By Erica Waters, Chloe Gong, Tori Bovalino, Hannah Whitten, Allison Saft, Olivia Chadha, Courtney Gould, Aden Polydoros, SMP Alex Brown, Shakira Toussaint Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781645676225
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Page Street Kids - September 6th, 2022

An unexpectedly thrilling and eerie collection of stories from a cast of well-known and well-loved YA authors! This is a perfect introduction for anyone looking to dip their toes into the horror genre. Each story is self-contained, so you really could spend several, separate nights snuggling under the covers and reading to the tune of rain and thunder outside your window without the stress and worry of finishing a massive, nightmare-inducing volume prior to bed. (Also, Chloe Gong is in it!)

Cindy


Staff Pick Badge
I'm So (Not) Over You By Kosoko Jackson Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780593334447
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Berkley - February 22nd, 2022

Perfectly balancing the humorous and heart-wrenching in the same breath, Kosoko Jackson's debut is an impressive one! Set against the backdrop of Georgia's "wedding of the year," two exes find themselves entangled in fake dating scheme. I loved the two protagonists with my whole being and found myself touched by the important discussions of class, queerness, and family identity that were brought up and dealt with so sincerely in this book. This is a rom-com about two exes that fake a relationship for a family wedding, yes, but it's also so much more. This will be perfect for fans of Casey McQuiston!

Cindy


Staff Pick Badge
Happy Hour: A Novel By Marlowe Granados Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781839764011
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Verso Fiction - September 7th, 2021

21-year-old Isa and her friend Gala embark on a season of hedonism and adventure in New York City, determined to reap the fruits of their youth, beauty, and charisma during one sweltering summer in the 2010’s. With little money, plentiful charm, and a biting wit, Isa’s bold and compelling voice cuts through with poignant observations on the glamorous coterie in which she precariously thrives. Happy Hour may be my Book of the Summer forever. Read it in August, on a hot, languid day with a cool and refreshing drink in hand, and fill yourself with the ebullient joy and youthful wisdom of its narrator.

Catherine


Staff Pick Badge
The Boys By Katie Hafner Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781954118058
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Spiegel & Grau - July 26th, 2022

NYT called this book "a wonder of storytelling" and I couldn't come up with a better description. The narrative is touching, hilarious, and poignant, yet manages to raise deep and provocative questions about loneliness, parenting, and companionship. The story takes a turn in the middle that is so astounding, and so deftly handled, that you may feel compelled to go right back to the beginning - and the rest of the book floats on the brilliance of that device.

David


Staff Pick Badge
The Lesbiana's Guide to Catholic School By Sonora Reyes Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780063060234
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 17th, 2022

This is a book that balances perfectly on the precipice between joy and heartache. It's a story about two siblings transferring to a new school, but it is also so much more than that. You will find discussion of depression/suicidality, sexuality, racism, transracial adoption, and religion all handled with sensitivity and care. But honestly, the sibling dynamics in this book are everything. Read it, then call your siblings.

Kendall


Staff Pick Badge
Yerba Buena: A Novel By Nina LaCour Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250810465
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Flatiron Books - May 31st, 2022

Yerba Buena, Nina LaCour's adult debut, takes her trademark emotional resonance and brings it to an adult audience. A breathtaking modern queer love story with stunning prose and realistic romance, about love, family, and dealing with our pasts. Will tug on your heartstrings.

April


Staff Pick Badge
Easy No-Churn Ice Cream: The ‘No Equipment Necessary’ Guide to Standout Homemade Ice Cream By Heather Templeton Cover Image
$22.99
ISBN: 9781645675983
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Page Street Publishing - July 12th, 2022

No special equipment? No rock salt? no pre-chilling? Yes, it IS just that simple!

John


Staff Pick Badge
Sorrow and Bliss: A Novel By Meg Mason Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780063049598
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Harper Perennial - March 1st, 2022

The narrative voice is pitch-perfect and these characters felt so real. Heartbreaking and moving while remaining consistently hilarious.

Katie


Staff Pick Badge
What Feelings Do When No One’s Looking By Tina Oziewicz, Aleksandra Zajac (Illustrator), Jennifer Croft (Translated by) Cover Image
By Tina Oziewicz, Aleksandra Zajac (Illustrator), Jennifer Croft (Translated by)
$18.95
ISBN: 9781953861283
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Elsewhere Editions - July 5th, 2022

After reading this book, I walked around the store holding it to my chest for a good 20 minutes. These little creatures highlight the complexity of human emotions in such an original and personal way, making you feel valid in every little feeling you experience. Bonus - if you were also personally affected by Disney's Inside Out in a way that you didn't expect... this is the perfect book for you.

Jane


Staff Pick Badge
Stack the Cats By Susie Ghahremani Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781419727061
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Harry N. Abrams - May 8th, 2018

What does one do with a herd of cats? Stack them of course! A bright, cute counting book with a little bit of math thrown in.

Katie


Staff Pick Badge
The Civil War of Amos Abernathy By Michael Leali Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780063119864
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: HarperCollins - June 7th, 2022

A queer middle school historical reenactor brings Civil War history into the present.

Sarah


Staff Pick Badge
Don't Touch My Hair! By Sharee Miller Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316562584
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - November 6th, 2018

A lovely story about the importance of knowing and setting boundaries. I love my curly hair, but it’s not an open invitation to touch!

Kayala


Pages