Staff Picks

An Untouched House

Staff Pick Badge
An Untouched House Cover Image
By Willem Frederik Hermans, David Colmer (Translated by), Cees Nooteboom (Afterword by)
$16.00
ISBN: 9781939810069
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Archipelago - October 23rd, 2018

 

A war story unlike any you’ve read before. We follow the protagonist discover & try to preserve a personal identity away from the war. But the forces that create war in the first place aren’t bound by walls and doors and the story ends with something that is shocking in large part because of how banal and obvious it is.

Josh


Hotel Dare

Staff Pick Badge
Hotel Dare Cover Image
By Terry Blas, Claudia Aguirre (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9781684152056
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: KaBOOM! - June 11th, 2019

 

Magic, mystery, and mayhem abound as Olive and her adopted siblings, Charlotte and Darwin, investigate their grandmother's creepy old hotel and the magical doors that lead to other worlds. But when Charlotte decides she'd rather stay in one of those other worlds, it's up to Darwin and Olive to figure out their family's shattered past and convince her to come home. Perfect for fans of Deadendia and Gravity Falls.

Shana


Birthday

Staff Pick Badge
Birthday: A Novel Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250129833
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - May 21st, 2019

 

Birthday follows best-friends-from-birth Eric and Morgan over the course of their joint birthdays from ages thirteen to eighteen. It feels viscerally real as it faces issues such as homophobia and transphobia in the south, family tension, and the struggles of growing up in a poor rural area.

April


Queen of the Sea

Staff Pick Badge
Queen of the Sea Cover Image
By Dylan Meconis, Dylan Meconis (Illustrator)
$24.99
ISBN: 9781536204988
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Walker Books US - June 25th, 2019

 

In this historical graphic novel, Margaret seeks to learn who she is and why she arrived at the island convent she calls home. When the banished Queen Eleanor of Albion arrives on the island, Margaret realizes the past is more complicated than she thought. Meconis' beautiful watercolor illustrations will captive readers while her details on history and folklore enrich this immersive feat of storytelling.

Marika


The Last Days of Night

Staff Pick Badge
The Last Days of Night: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780812988925
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks - May 23rd, 2017

 

Before Apple was sued by Samsung over smartphones, before Microsoft was accused of having a monopoly in software, before Theodore Rosevelt broke up any of the large trusts, Thomas Edison and George Westinghouse went to court over who would light up America.

John


American Hippo

Staff Pick Badge
American Hippo: River of Teeth, Taste of Marrow, and New Stories Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250176431
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor.com - May 22nd, 2018

 

Take the gritty lawlessness of a western, combine it with vicious hippos that can and will snap a person in half with their giant jaws, then make everyone queer. That might give you an idea of what you're in for with American Hippo, but I don't think anything can really prepare you. Pick it up, and experience the delightful and bloody madness for yourself.

 

Shana


Horizon

Staff Pick Badge
Horizon Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780394585826
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - March 19th, 2019

 

This book is not for everyone though it is my kind of Summer reading. Its length and rich prose requires close and patient attention. In a sense it’s a summation of Lopez’s lifetime of travels to the distant corners of our planet documenting the interactions of myriad human cultures and the natural world. Terry Tempest Williams recently called it “a masterpiece”. Indeed.

Dale


Pages