Staff Picks

Staff Pick Badge
The Arrival Cover Image
By Shaun Tan, Shaun Tan (Illustrator)
$21.99
ISBN: 9780439895293
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Arthur A. Levine Books - October 1st, 2007

The Arrival is great for kids (and grown-ups!) whose favorite part of picture books is the illustrations. Packed with delightfully imaginative detail and a masterclass in visual storytelling, The Arrival is a bittersweet (but mostly sweet!) narrative of immigration, loneliness, and making a new home in an alien world.

Arrival


Staff Pick Badge
All the Feels: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780063005587
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Avon - November 16th, 2021

When Lauren is hired to keep a sexy actor in line, it seems like an easy gig compared to the ER therapy work she’s been doing. But all is not as it seems, and sparks are about to fly. Nuanced characters, thrilling pacing, and plenty of laughs make this a one-sitting read. If you enjoyed Spoiler Alert, Kiss Quotient, or Boyfriend Material, this romance novel is everything you’re lusting after.

Marika


Staff Pick Badge
The Thing About Jellyfish Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780316380843
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 4th, 2017

While everyone else believes that a drowning accident took Franny Jackson's life, her best friend Suzy Swanson is on a self-imposed mission to find the real culprit of her death. What is grief? When is it okay to let go? How do you move on? Ali Benjamin presents answers to all of these difficult questions in her stunning debut. Beautifully written and heartfelt to the core, The Thing About Jellyfish is the kind of book that you read as a kid and still remember years down the line.

Cindy


Staff Pick Badge
The All-Consuming World Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9781645660200
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Erewhon - September 7th, 2021

Set in a world where clones are raised solely for hard labor, and not even respawning can destroy memories marked for restoration, The Dirty Dozen broke out and became a mercenary band. They were glorious, but that was then. Now, having lost most of their crew, the remainder just have baggage that they refuse to inspect... but if they can cooperate long enough, they might be able to find someone they thought lost, and save the world while they're at it.

Maybe. CW for codependency, eye trauma, and gore.

Mariśca


Staff Pick Badge
Down Girl: The Logic of Misogyny Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9780190933203
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Because of how it is sold to us we cannot accept a return of this title.
Published: Oxford University Press, USA - March 1st, 2019

Down Girl distills the most hard-to-understand aspects of feminism, misogyny, and the patriarchy into easier-to-understand terms, brought to enrapturing relevance by real-world, pop culture, and true crime-adjacent case studies that feel more like conversation than philosophy class. Kate Manne writes in a way that tackles tough concepts with ease and style- a must-read for feminists of any wave.

Kate M


Staff Pick Badge
The Charm Offensive: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781982170714
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Atria Books - September 7th, 2021

When an anxious, would-be Bachelor-style reality star meets a hopeless romantic producer, well... the charm offensive works a charm!

Leila


Staff Pick Badge
Black Boy Joy: 17 Stories Celebrating Black Boyhood Cover Image
By Kwame Mbalia (Editor)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780593379936
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Delacorte Press - August 3rd, 2021

Judge this book by it's cover. Its a complete delight and you won't be able to read it through without smiling. 

Shana


Staff Pick Badge
The Vanished Days (The Scottish series) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781492650164
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Sourcebooks Landmark - October 5th, 2021

A gorgeously detailed and fast-paced historical mystery-plus-romance brings 18th-century Scotland to life, with a narrative twist that sent me back to the first page to solve the puzzle a second time.

Sarah


Staff Pick Badge
The Gilda Stories Cover Image
By Jewelle Gomez, Alexis Pauline Gumbs (Afterword by)
$16.95
ISBN: 9780872866744
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: City Lights Books - March 29th, 2016

Jewelle Gomez is the original queen of the modern vampire novel. This is a queer, creative, gothic treasure.

Stacey


Staff Pick Badge
The Love Hypothesis Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780593336823
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Berkley - September 14th, 2021

Filled to the brim with quirky characters, witty dialogue, and the most unexpected setting (Stanford!), The Love Hypothesis is a beauty of a story. If you're looking for a fast read that manages to toe the line between uber-serious commentary and lighthearted fun, this unlikely contemporary romance between a struggling PhD student and the notorious professor who fails just about everyone in his path is definitely for you! (And don't worry, the scientific lingo is hilarious and easy to follow along, even for people (like myself) who are not very... STEM-inclined, let's just say.)

Cindy


Staff Pick Badge
The Last House on Needless Street Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250812629
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Tor Nightfire - September 28th, 2021

Unsettling, atmospheric, and unputdownable. This feels like a horror novel and becomes something much more unexpected. It’s best to go in knowing little and let the puzzle pieces come together along the way. 

Katie


Staff Pick Badge
Light From Uncommon Stars Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250789068
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Tor Books - September 28th, 2021

From the premise, I expected wacky shenanigans. I wasn't expecting to be utterly emotionally wrecked and healed all at once. This isn't a book that pretends everything is okay. The world can be ugly and filled with suffering. But you are not awful. You are beautiful, and the art you make can make the world feel more beautiful, even if only for the length of a song.

And now I want donuts. CW: Transphobia, Racism, Domestic Abuse, Sexual Violence

Shana


Staff Pick Badge
If the Shoe Fits: A Meant to Be Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781368053372
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Hyperion Avenue - August 3rd, 2021

You may know Julie Murphy for her YA novels, but her first foray into adult romance swept me off my feet. A Cinderella retelling with a fat woman going on a fictionalized version of the Bachelor did not disappoint my reality TV– and romance-loving heart. Murphy turns the Cinderella story into something new and all its own, and I loved the direction she chose—and I think you will too.

April


Staff Pick Badge
To Break a Covenant Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781645672067
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Page Street Kids - September 21st, 2021

Fans of Plain Bad Heroines and Wilder Girls will love this book. Moon Basin is the type of haunted town that draws in Ghost Hunters from all over the country, and one summer four friends realize the chilling truth of what it means that no one ever leaves. This book is the type of bone-chilling you won’t be able to look away from.

Katherine
 


Staff Pick Badge
Garlic and the Vampire Cover Image
By Bree Paulsen, Bree Paulsen (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062995087
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Quill Tree Books - September 28th, 2021

Absolutely adorable characters brought to life with rich, earthy illustrations. Paulsen has created such a sweet, unique story that will resonate with so many anxious readers. A stroll on an early autumn day in book form.

Stacey


Pages