Staff Picks

Minus Me

Staff Pick Badge
Minus Me: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781643856438
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Alcove Press - January 12th, 2021

Sit back, make a cup of tea, and enjoy the latest novel from best-selling author, and PSB friend, Mameve Medwed (How Elizabeth Barrett Browning Save My Life, Of Men and Their Mothers).  Filled with her usual sympathetic, yet often eccentric and charming characters, Minus Me is a novel with great heart and soul. 

Nathan


Amari and the Night Brothers

Staff Pick Badge
Amari and the Night Brothers (Supernatural Investigations #1) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062975164
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - January 19th, 2021

Such an inventive spin on the magical school narrative. The fantastical world building is superb, yet is not used as an escape from real-world problems. Amari is an awesome hero with a heart of gold and a will of iron. I truly cannot wait for the next book in the series. There's so much potential!

Stacey


The Ruin of Kings

Staff Pick Badge
The Ruin of Kings (A Chorus of Dragons #1) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250175502
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - September 10th, 2019

This series is utterly bonkers and I am utterly obsessed. Reincarnated gods and identity theft run rampant through this high fantasy that reads like an apocalyptic Kingkiller Chronicles. For bonus points, Jenn Lyons actually crushes deadlines and book four is coming soon! 

Caleb


Katie the Catsitter

Staff Pick Badge
Katie the Catsitter Cover Image
By Colleen AF Venable, Stephanie Yue (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781984895639
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - January 5th, 2021

This book has all the bitter sweet friendship changes of Roller Girl plus the thrilling exploits, morally ambiguous antiheroes of a Catwoman comic. And so many cats!! Each one with their own special skills, and each one out to make trouble. It's delightful.

Shana


We Keep the Dead Close

Staff Pick Badge
We Keep the Dead Close: A Murder at Harvard and a Half Century of Silence Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9781538746837
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grand Central Publishing - November 10th, 2020

 

More than a true crime book, more than a memoir, Becky Cooper weaves a compelling and vivid portrait of an unsolved murder at Harvard and pulls together threads of misogyny, issues with academic culture, silencing at elite institutions, and the ways that we rewrite the stories of female victims. A striking portrait for fans of I'll Be Gone in the Dark

April


I'll Be the One

Staff Pick Badge
I'll Be the One Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062936929
Availability: Available at Wholesaler
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - June 16th, 2020

The first page is all you need to need. Skye Shin is a protagonist that only comes by once (maybe twice) in a lifetime. In the world of kpop, where size 0 and heterosexual relationships are the standard, Skye disrupts the industry with her talent, making it impossible to ignore her and all that she stands for. And reader, she is a powerhouse.

Sinny


Mrs Murakami's Garden

Staff Pick Badge
Mrs. Murakami's Garden Cover Image
By Mario Bellatin, Heather Cleary (Translator)
$15.95
ISBN: 9781646050291
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Deep Vellum Publishing - December 22nd, 2020

Bellatin has a way of saying the loud part quietly so his stories light a long fuse in your brain that can crackle and spark for months before exploding. One never knows quite where to look or what to pay attention to as this slow story of art, identity, patriarchy, and cultural mores winds through the fall out of a critical essay a young woman writes about an art collector. Baffling, beautiful, & unique.

Josh


Eyes that Kiss in the Corners

Staff Pick Badge
Eyes That Kiss in the Corners Cover Image
By Joanna Ho, Dung Ho (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062915627
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - January 5th, 2021

My eyes also kiss in the corners and I wish there had been a book for my eyes when I was growing up. I love that the book exists today, thanks to Joanna Ho, and I hope that children (and adults) from all corners of the world get to read this now. Note: this makes a great gift, in time for Lunar New Year!

Sinny


The Seven Torments of Amy and Craig

Staff Pick Badge
The Seven Torments of Amy and Craig (A Love Story) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781368010061
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 17th, 2019

No time like Valentine's Day Month for a tale of teen heartbreak! This has all my favorite YA romance ingredients: aspiring artists in small towns, family quirks/drama, Dungeons & Dragons, and of course...breakups. Perfect for fans of Super Fake Love Song.

Caleb


Milk Fed

Staff Pick Badge
Milk Fed: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781982142490
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribner - February 2nd, 2021

Lush and weird, one bite of this book isn't enough- I had to binge it, and it was hard to find another book after that would feed my hunger for more. From the complexities of food and mother-daughter relationship, to questions of career, sex, and desire, Broder has created a deliciously weird, multiple-course masterpiece.

Marika


Pages