Staff Picks

Bttm Fdrs

Staff Pick Badge
Bttm Fdrs Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781683962069
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Fantagraphics Books - June 25th, 2019

 

Bttm Fdrs feels a bit like the movie "Get Out" crossed with Lovecraft and with a Lisa Frank style color palette. Or at least it feels like the concept of the movie. Horror comics are great for those of us who enjoy the genre but are too wimpy to sit through an entire movie. Also, Ben Passmore's unapologetic writing is great.

 

Stacey


Mostly Dead Things

Staff Pick Badge
Mostly Dead Things Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9781947793309
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tin House Books - June 4th, 2019

 

A strange, funny, and surprisingly touching novel about a family of Floridian taxidermists whose sense of duty and expression of love cuts them open as their knives do the skins of the animals they mount. I couldn’t put it down (and I have a phobia of taxidermy). 

Marika


An Untouched House

Staff Pick Badge
An Untouched House Cover Image
By Willem Frederik Hermans, David Colmer (Translated by), Cees Nooteboom (Afterword by)
$16.00
ISBN: 9781939810069
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Archipelago - October 23rd, 2018

 

A war story unlike any you’ve read before. We follow the protagonist discover & try to preserve a personal identity away from the war. But the forces that create war in the first place aren’t bound by walls and doors and the story ends with something that is shocking in large part because of how banal and obvious it is.

Josh


Hotel Dare

Staff Pick Badge
Hotel Dare Cover Image
By Terry Blas, Claudia Aguirre (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9781684152056
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: KaBOOM! - June 11th, 2019

 

Magic, mystery, and mayhem abound as Olive and her adopted siblings, Charlotte and Darwin, investigate their grandmother's creepy old hotel and the magical doors that lead to other worlds. But when Charlotte decides she'd rather stay in one of those other worlds, it's up to Darwin and Olive to figure out their family's shattered past and convince her to come home. Perfect for fans of Deadendia and Gravity Falls.

Shana


Birthday

Staff Pick Badge
Birthday: A Novel Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250129833
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - May 21st, 2019

 

Birthday follows best-friends-from-birth Eric and Morgan over the course of their joint birthdays from ages thirteen to eighteen. It feels viscerally real as it faces issues such as homophobia and transphobia in the south, family tension, and the struggles of growing up in a poor rural area.

April


Queen of the Sea

Staff Pick Badge
Queen of the Sea Cover Image
By Dylan Meconis, Dylan Meconis (Illustrator)
$24.99
ISBN: 9781536204988
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Walker Books US - June 25th, 2019

 

In this historical graphic novel, Margaret seeks to learn who she is and why she arrived at the island convent she calls home. When the banished Queen Eleanor of Albion arrives on the island, Margaret realizes the past is more complicated than she thought. Meconis' beautiful watercolor illustrations will captive readers while her details on history and folklore enrich this immersive feat of storytelling.

Marika


Pages