Staff Picks

Staff Pick Badge
Grandfather Gandhi Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781442423657
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - March 11th, 2014

Celebrate October 2nd, Mahatma Gandhi's birthday, with this beautifully illustrated biogaphy about the man whose name is synonymous with teaching peace. We get to know Gandhi through the eyes of his grandson Arun, who learns Gandhi is not only his grandfather, but also one to the world. A book that can teach and be treasured by all!

Kai


Staff Pick Badge
The Vanished Days (The Scottish series) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781492650164
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Sourcebooks Landmark - October 5th, 2021

A gorgeously detailed and fast-paced historical mystery-plus-romance brings 18th-century Scotland to life, with a narrative twist that sent me back to the first page to solve the puzzle a second time.

Sarah


Staff Pick Badge
To Break a Covenant Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781645672067
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Page Street Kids - September 21st, 2021

Fans of Plain Bad Heroines and Wilder Girls will love this book. Moon Basin is the type of haunted town that draws in Ghost Hunters from all over the country, and one summer four friends realize the chilling truth of what it means that no one ever leaves. This book is the type of bone-chilling you won’t be able to look away from.

Katherine
 


Staff Pick Badge
Not Here to Be Liked Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780063038363
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - September 14th, 2021

High school journalism, misogyny, double standards, bubble tea, family drama, and what it means to belong -- this book's got you covered.

Sarah


Staff Pick Badge
Alice Isn't Dead: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062844149
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Harper Perennial - August 31st, 2021

Freshly reprinted in time for Halloween. Jump into this creepy journey alongside Keisha and her wife Alice as they embark on a road trip where they are forced to hunt or be hunted- or so they thought it was that simple.

Hannah


Staff Pick Badge
When Langston Dances Cover Image
By Kaija Langley, Keith Mallett (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534485198
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Denene Millner Books/Simon & Schuster Books f - September 7th, 2021

Applause, applause for this beautiful picture book from a local author that reminds us to dance (and live our lives) like no one is watching - and proudly take a bow when they are!

Leila


Staff Pick Badge
These Violent Delights Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781534457690
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - November 17th, 2020

These Violent Delights is my new favorite Shakespeare retelling. A take on Romeo and Juliet set in 1920s Shanghai with the lovers cast as the heirs to two rival gangs in the city, and a dash of the supernatural thrown in as a mysterious madness sweeps through the city. It's fast-paced, vividly drawn, and pulled me all the way into the story. And the sequel comes out next month!

April


Staff Pick Badge
The Charm Offensive: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781982170714
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Atria Books - September 7th, 2021

When an anxious, would-be Bachelor-style reality star meets a hopeless romantic producer, well... the charm offensive works a charm!

Leila


Staff Pick Badge
Other Boys Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781250222817
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: First Second - September 28th, 2021

Perfect for fans of Hey Kiddo, Damian's beautifully illustrated story is a great read for anyone who has ever felt left out and in need of a little hope. I'm not saying it will make you cry, but it made me cry. 

Caleb


Staff Pick Badge
Unidentified Suburban Object Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780545782272
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Scholastic Inc. - May 30th, 2017

This is a delightful story about how a Korean American middle-grader, Chloe, feels about growing up in a town where no one else looks like her except for her family. It's hard to give a true and wonderful review w/out spoilage but what feels like a contemporary story at the beginning does take a turn into another genre that is quite exciting.

Sinny


Staff Pick Badge
The Breathless Zoo: Taxidermy and the Cultures of Longing (Animalibus #1) Cover Image
$29.95
ISBN: 9780271053738
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Penn State University Press - May 15th, 2013

In the introduction of The Breathless Zoo, author Rachel Poliquin remarks on an exhibit of taxidermied polar bears retrieved from across Great Britain: "If the bears provide a critique of past collecting practices, they also make material the intrinsic worth of preserving animals." This can be taken as a summary for the entirety of The Breathless Zoo, a beautiful, melancholy exploration of the practice of taxidermy and its complicated history. If you, like me, have ever wandered through a natural history museum and felt both awed and discomforted by the animals on display, this book is for you.

Piera


Staff Pick Badge
Sabrina & Corina: Stories Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780525511304
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: One World - April 7th, 2020

This thoughtful short story collection is a study of human connections and the landscapes they play out on. Unafraid truths about family, tradition, and women, separated by generations but tied by experience, rise from the soil of the now-American West that is Kali Farjado-Anstine’s ancestral home in this lauded debut. You can’t miss “Remedies,” “Ghost Sickness,” or “All Her Names,” or any of them, really. A necessary read before her first novel comes out in 2022.

Kate M


Staff Pick Badge
Red House, Brown Mouse Cover Image
By Jane Godwin, Blanca Gómez (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780593112199
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Dial Books - March 2nd, 2021

This rhyming introduction to colors and counting is a pleasure to read aloud, and Blanca Gómez's illustrations are charming. Find the little brown mouse hiding on each page!

Katie


Staff Pick Badge
A Million Things Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593332733
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Berkley - August 24th, 2021

Rae is used to fending for herself, so when her mother dies, she keeps it a secret. The bond Rae forms with her equally quirky neighbor Lettie gives them both a way to deal with being an orphan and and old woman.

Sarah


Staff Pick Badge
Lycanthropy and Other Chronic Illnesses: A Novel Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781683692348
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Quirk Books - April 27th, 2021

If you've ever struggled with chronic illness, made some of your closest friends online, or turned into a rampaging beast once a month, you're sure to find something to relate to here. If none of the above apply, you'll still probably enjoy this surprisingly realistic take on werewolves and friendship.

Shana


Pages