Staff Picks

Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead

Staff Pick Badge
Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead: A Novel Cover Image
By Olga Tokarczuk, Antonia Lloyd-Jones (Translated by)
$27.00
ISBN: 9780525541332
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - August 13th, 2019

 

What is the best way to live in a cruel and barbaric world? How should we value the lives of animals compared to those of humans? Who is worthy of a voice? These are the questions confronting Janina—an elderly astrologist living in a rural Polish village. Translated from its original Polish in 2018, Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead is a dark fable with a complicated morality and eccentric humor fit for our contemporary predicaments. 

 

Justin, Writer in Residence for Adults 


The Seep

Staff Pick Badge
The Seep Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9781641290869
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Soho Press - January 21st, 2020

 

What if the inevitable alien takeover happened not with a bang, but with a caress? The sweet caress of intoxicants, immortality, and easy access to everything you ever wanted. There’d be at least one person who found the whole “the world is perfect thing” utterly depressing, right? Meet Trina FastHorse Goldberg-Oneka. Her story is a funny, heartfelt ride.

Meaghan


Creatures of Will & Temper

Staff Pick Badge
Creatures of Will and Temper (The Diabolist’s Library #1) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781328710260
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: John Joseph Adams/Mariner Books - November 14th, 2017

 

This lush retelling of The Portrait of Dorian Gray, centering on two opposite-as-can-be sisters in Victorian London, has it all: fencing, a secret society of extreme hedonists, demon summoning and demon slaying, mysterious uncles, queer romance...if your taste is at all like mine, you're probably already halfway to the register.

 

Leila


Judy Joo's Korean Soul Food

Staff Pick Badge
Judy Joo's Korean Soul Food: Authentic dishes and modern twists Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780711251670
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: White Lion Publishing - October 7th, 2019

 

This cookbook blends west with east and whilst there's a new twist on modern Korean recipes, you will fill find Korean staple recipes as well. Chef, Judy Joo, has a lot of fun blending flavours using accessible ingredients. The KFC (Korean fried chicken) wings recipe is the real deal. Looking for an easy weeknight meal? Try the kimchi mac 'n cheese. (#BTSARMY)

 

Sinny


American Royals

Staff Pick Badge
American Royals Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781984830173
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - September 3rd, 2019

 

Everyone knows that when America won the Revolutionary War, its people offered General George Washington a crown—and he accepted it. This is how American Royals begins. Imagine a world where America is about to have its first queen regent, where the age of monarchies never ended, and where the love of a young woman is powerful enough to change history. A soapy, escapist blockbuster full of drama, scandals, and romance. Perfect for fans of Red, White, and Royal Blue and The Royal We!

April


Welcoming Elijah

Staff Pick Badge
Welcoming Elijah: A Passover Tale with a Tail Cover Image
By Leslea Newman, Susan Gal (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781580898829
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Charlesbridge - January 28th, 2020

 

This lovely Passover story leaves room for a variety of traditions and depicts a diverse group of characters, making it a stellar choice for families and classrooms! Gal's gestural illustrations are filled with movement while the strong contrast and bright colors sparkle. A story of opposites, warmth, welcome, and animal adoption, it's a holiday title that will be reread throughout the year.

Marika


The Inquisitor's Apprentice

Staff Pick Badge
The Inquisitor's Apprentice Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780547850849
Availability: On Order at the Warehouse
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - February 26th, 2013

 

In this fun and touching historical fantasy, 1910s New York is full of immigrant magic and predatory millionaires. When 13 year old Sacha Kessler finds out he can see magic he is forced to work for the NYPD Inquisitors to help support his family, gets himself in a whole lot of trouble, and even meets Harry Houdini. This is one of my favorite books ever, and it isn’t just because the protagonist has my name! ;)

Sacha, Writer in Residence for Young Readers 


Pages