Staff Picks

Staff Pick Badge
All Ways By Kelly Coons Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781636769028
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: New Degree Press - April 27th, 2021

Two brothers go on a road trip. Plenty of misadventures. The brothers are both autistic, but the author never uses that term. One of my new favorite teen adventure stories!

Hazel


Staff Pick Badge
The Way of the Hive: A Honey Bee's Story By Jay Hosler, Jay Hosler (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Jay Hosler, Jay Hosler (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780063007352
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: HarperAlley - April 20th, 2021

I read this in its original iteration, Clan Apis, in probably 2006 when I was 10 and Very Scared Of Bees. I am not exaggerating when I say it changed my relationship to bees entirely - I went from fear and mistrust to awe, appreciation, and curiosity. Jay Hosler's approach to what is essentially an explanation of What Bees Are is funny, interesting, and moving, and his artwork is top-tier.

Piera


Staff Pick Badge
Junji Ito's Cat Diary: Yon & Mu Collector's Edition By Junji Ito Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781646512515
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Kodansha Comics - November 9th, 2021

Junji Ito is one of the foremost names in horror comics - well-known titles include TOMIE and THE ENIGMA OF AMIGARA FAULT - and his horror chops make this nonfiction account of his life with housecats even weirder and funnier. Ideal for the cat-and-horror-lover in your life!

Piera


Staff Pick Badge
Rebels at Sea: Privateering in the American Revolution By Eric Jay Dolin Cover Image
$32.50
ISBN: 9781631498251
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Liveright - May 31st, 2022

For Liberty, for Independence, and because it pays better than the navy.

John


Staff Pick Badge
When You Call My Name By Tucker Shaw Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250624864
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - May 3rd, 2022

Both a love letter to the queer community and a vivid snapshot of what it was like to be gay in New York during the nineties, this book is a vital read for those looking to better understand modern gay history and appreciate our roots, for both teens and adults. A perfect read for Pride month, it pulled on my heartstrings and I think it will for you too.

April


Staff Pick Badge
The Ghosts of Rose Hill By R. M. Romero Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781682633380
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Peachtree Teen - May 10th, 2022

A ghostly fantasy set in verse is unique enough, but Romero has really crafted a darkly beautiful story. Music, myth, self-discovery, horror, and joy all flowing together effortlessly. Steeped in personal experience and spiritual identity, it's a real gem. Sure to leave it's mark - especially for lovers of Jewish history and mythology.

Stacey


Staff Pick Badge
A Far Wilder Magic By Allison Saft Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250623652
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Wednesday Books - March 8th, 2022

Perfect for fans of The Night Circus and Leigh Bardugo's Grishaverse, A Far Wilder Magic tells the story of Margaret Welty, the competent recluse who keeps things just barely under control while her famous mother is away, and Weston Winters, a poor alchemist looking for a teacher, as they team up to win an unwinnable hunt that is both of their last chance. Romantic and sharp and transportive, you won't want to miss out on this fantastic novel.

Katherine


Staff Pick Badge
Escargot By Dashka Slater, Sydney Hanson (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Dashka Slater, Sydney Hanson (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780374302818
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - April 11th, 2017

Escargot is the sweetest, fiercest, fastest, most beautiful French snail you'll ever meet. A charming interactive story and an opportunity to read in your best French accent - if the snail wasn't already your favorite animal, it soon will be.

Katie


Staff Pick Badge
Gideon Green in Black and White By Katie Henry Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062955739
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - May 17th, 2022

Gideon's noir-inspired detective career ended ignominiously in middle school, but now his investigative skills -- and the lure of the editor-in-chief -- have found him a new home on the high school newspaper.

Sarah


Staff Pick Badge
Bad Mexicans: Race, Empire, and Revolution in the Borderlands By Kelly Lytle Hernández Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781324004370
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - May 10th, 2022

Mexico's 1910 revolution involved -- among other conspirators -- a group of dissident journalists who launched attacks from the US while also fighting US imperialism in Mexico.

Sarah


Staff Pick Badge
Portrait of a Thief: A Novel By Grace D. Li Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780593184738
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Tiny Reparations Books - April 5th, 2022

Portrait of a Thief is the heist novel with a marvelous and dynamic all-Asian cast that will make you laugh and cry, with stakes that will keep your hands (pleasantly) sweating and your heart racing an unsteady beat. Don't believe me? Weike Wang, author of Chemistry, calls it a "slick, dazzling" read.

Cindy


Staff Pick Badge
Private Label By Kelly Yang Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062941107
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - May 31st, 2022

Kelly Yang's Private Label is a brilliant contemplation of what becomes of dreams once disaster strikes. Following two Chinese American teenagers who seem to be from entirely different universes--assured fashion designer Serene and new kid on the block Lian--Yang weaves a gripping YA tale that ultimately discusses how worlds can fall apart and slowly be put back together again with the help of unlikely friendships (and maybe something more).

Cindy


Staff Pick Badge
The Palace Papers: Inside the House of Windsor--the Truth and the Turmoil By Tina Brown Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9780593138090
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Crown - April 26th, 2022

Author and editor extraordinary Tina Brown (The Tatler, Vanity Fair, The New Yorker) takes on the British Royal Family in this absorbing chronicle of life at the palace. Well-researched and filled with insider knowledge, with great skill Brown tells this captivating story with all its glorious traditions (think QE2), and shocking scandals (think Prince Andrew).

Nathan


Staff Pick Badge
Plans for Sentences By Renee Gladman Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781950268580
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Wave Books - May 3rd, 2022

Writing about the fundamental mechanics of language and narrative is kinda like trying to chop down a tree, with another tree. Gladman comes closer than any other writer I've read at pulling off this impossible feat. Plans for Sentences is complex, challenging, & strangely beautiful and there are phrases that will make every writer sigh.

Josh


Staff Pick Badge
The Lady and the Unicorn By Béatrice Fontanel, Vanessa Hié (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Béatrice Fontanel, Vanessa Hié (Illustrator)
$19.95
ISBN: 9781648961236
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Princeton Architectural Press - March 15th, 2022

Inspired by the Unicorn Tapestries at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City, this is a phenomenally illustrated AND educational book about art history, magic, and all of the qualities that makes a good fairytale. The back matter is amazingly detailed and a fun read for future artists or art historians!

Engel


Pages