Staff Picks

Almost Home

Staff Pick Logo
Almost Home Cover Image
ISBN: 9780670012893
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Viking Children's Books - September 13th, 2012

First of all, who can resist this cover?? When Sugar and her mom, Reba, wind up homeless, everything seems quite hopeless. But with the help of a little dog named Shush, a teacher from Sugar’s past, a foster home that works and a strengthened Reba, Sugar can look forward with reasonable hope. Kids 9 to 12 will enjoy this very well-told, engrossing story.

The Berlin Game

Staff Pick Logo
Berlin Game Cover Image
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9781402795145
Availability: Out of Print
Published: Sterling - August 7th, 2012

Len Deighton (The Ipcress File) is the other cold war suspense master. This is the first of his Bernard Sampson trilogy, and it's as seedy and treacherous and wry and compelling as Le Carre's George Smiley Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy series. A welcome re-release of a classic trio.


The Swerve

Staff Pick Logo
The Swerve: How the World Became Modern Cover Image
ISBN: 9780393343403
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - September 4th, 2012

A veritable intellectual historical thriller concerning the wire-thin survival into modern times of Lucretius' On the Nature of Things - an astonishingly humanist view arrived at centuries before the Enlightenment. It reads like a novel, and reminds us of how tenuous can be the survival of ideas - especially when a power structure like the Roman Church is trying to obliterate them.


We Have Always Lived in the Castle

Staff Pick Logo
We Have Always Lived in the Castle (Penguin Classics Deluxe Editions) Cover Image
By Shirley Jackson, Jonathan Lethem (Introduction by), Thomas Ott (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780143039976
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - October 31st, 2006

The perfect Halloweeny read- creepy tension builds up slowly to a devastating climax. Teenage Mary Katherine lives in a decrepit mansion with her sister and uncle: “The rest of my family is dead.” But then cousin Charles shows up to wreck her perfect home and destroy the family- at least, that’s what she says. But should we believe her?


The Art of Cruelty: A Reckoning

Staff Pick Logo
The Art of Cruelty: A Reckoning Cover Image
ISBN: 9780393343144
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - August 13th, 2012

is one of the best works of criticism in recent memory.  Nelson
examines everything from Yoko Ono’s weird performance art to the
contemporary horror flick in a sweeping attempt to understand the nature
of cruelty in art and determine how moral beings might navigate a world
enriched and complicated by it.  Her voice is incendiary, sensitive,
and thoroughly unpretentious.  Though I was a fan way back at Jane: A Murder, The Art of Cruelty put Maggie Nelson on the map as a thinker to watch.Kim


Staff Pick Logo
Hitchers Cover Image
ISBN: 9781597803373
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Night Shade Books - September 25th, 2012

Just about the time cartoonist Finn Darby's getting over his wife's death, an anthrax attack hits Atlanta; he soon realizes the dead are slowly coming back via the bodies of the living--including his wife. A weird and wonderful body snatchers tale for this Halloween.


In the Shadow of the Banyan Tree

Staff Pick Logo
In the Shadow of the Banyan Cover Image
ISBN: 9781451657708
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Simon & Schuster - August 7th, 2012

A compelling autobiographical novel. Ratner is a member of the Cambodian royal family & was 7 years old when the Khmer Rouge drove her family from their home. Only she and her mother in her immediate family survived. Beautifully written, it is a testament to the love of her father, who was a poet first and prince second.

Jane J.

Beautiful Ruins

Staff Pick Logo
Beautiful Ruins Cover Image
ISBN: 9780061928123
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Harper - June 12th, 2012

In 1962 the world was scandalized when Elizabeth Taylor and Richard Burton fell in love on the set of their epic movie Cleopatra in Rome.  Beautiful Ruins returns to this romantic time weaving their story with that of Pasquale, a young Italian, who falls in love with a dying American actress working on the film.  Is she truly dying, or merely pregnant?  Nearly fifty years pass until we find out the truth.




399 Games, Puzzles & Trivia Challenges Specially Designed to Keep Your Brain Young

Staff Pick Logo
399 Games, Puzzles & Trivia Challenges Specially Designed to Keep Your Brain Young Cover Image
ISBN: 9780761168256
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Workman Publishing - September 25th, 2012

They say it only takes 10 to 15 minutes a day AND it's fun....hopefully after I've finished this book I'll never forget anyone's name again, or where I parked the damn car.

age 51 and already having "senior moments"

The Oath

Staff Pick Logo
The Oath: The Obama White House and the Supreme Court Cover Image
ISBN: 9780385527200
Availability: Hard to Find--Contact us for More Info
Published: Doubleday Books - September 18th, 2012

Toobin continues his behind the scenes look at the contemporary Supreme Court begun in his earlier book, The Nine. In The Oath,Toobin, with his insider access, looks at the personalities as well as the political and judicial philosophies of the current Robert’s court which seems intent on overturning decades of precedents to further an ultra-conservative ideology.


The Devil in Silver

Staff Pick Logo
The Devil in Silver Cover Image
ISBN: 9781400069866
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Spiegel & Grau - August 21st, 2012

Pepper gets dropped off at the New Hyde mental institution, not because he’s mentally ill, but because the plain-clothed cops who busted him didn’t want to deal with the paperwork of a formal booking. If he keeps his head down he’s out in 72 hours, but New Hyde has problems that drag Pepper down into its culture and close to insanity. Mental illness, power relations, race, sex, and the devil; this book goes beyond horror and social commentary to scratch at universal human truths, further proving that Victor Lavalle is the rightful heir to Kurt Vonnegut


Plant Dreaming Deep

Staff Pick Logo
Plant Dreaming Deep Cover Image
ISBN: 9780393315516
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - September 1st, 1996

What a pleasure, after many years, to read this book again. Leaving summer behind, and settling into the next season can be a time of reflection no matter how busy we are. We take comfort in familiar routines and the newfound quiet of our homes, but also look forward to the changes this time of year brings. These are the themes of this book: anticipation of the new, looking back on the familiar, and how their combination brings clarity to our lives.



Staff Pick Logo
Bunheads Cover Image
ISBN: 9780316126540
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Poppy Books - October 9th, 2012

Bunheads’ striking cover pulled me into this book. Sophie Flack wrote this mesmerizing story from a first person view of the professional world of American Ballet having danced at the New York City Ballet for nine years. No one from the outside of this world has any idea the total commitment that is required to become a ballerina.  For any young person or adult it is an awe inspiring story of dedication.  As Hannah grows up in the school she begins to wonder if this is all she wants for her life.

Jane D


Staff Pick Logo
Safekeeping Cover Image
ISBN: 9781250011343
Availability: Hard to Find--Contact us for More Info
Published: Feiwel & Friends - September 18th, 2012

Karen Hesse glimpses a future for America that we won’t want to see. It has become a military state with all sorts of restrictions and rules. Radley, on her way back from volunteering in Haiti, discovers that her parents are missing as is any hint of her old life. But guns can’t eradicate the human spirit that she finds as she wanders in Vermont. Hesse’s photographs enrich the heartfelt text. Perfect for ages 14 and up.


Magic Tree House Games and Puzzles From The Tree House

Staff Pick Logo
Games and Puzzles from the Tree House: Over 200 Challenges! (Stepping Stone Books) Cover Image
ISBN: 9780375862168
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - April 27th, 2010

This little activity book is the perfect companion for fans of Jack and Annie.  Discover all sorts of fun puzzles, mazes, word searches, and games, from each adventure in the series, from book #1 though book #44.