Staff Picks

Hitchers

Staff Pick Logo
Hitchers Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781597803373
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Night Shade Books - September 25th, 2012

Just about the time cartoonist Finn Darby's getting over his wife's death, an anthrax attack hits Atlanta; he soon realizes the dead are slowly coming back via the bodies of the living--including his wife. A weird and wonderful body snatchers tale for this Halloween.


Jennifer


In the Shadow of the Banyan Tree

Staff Pick Logo
In the Shadow of the Banyan Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9781451657708
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Simon & Schuster - August 7th, 2012

A compelling autobiographical novel. Ratner is a member of the Cambodian royal family & was 7 years old when the Khmer Rouge drove her family from their home. Only she and her mother in her immediate family survived. Beautifully written, it is a testament to the love of her father, who was a poet first and prince second.


Jane J.


Beautiful Ruins

Staff Pick Logo
Beautiful Ruins: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780061928123
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Harper - June 12th, 2012

In 1962 the world was scandalized when Elizabeth Taylor and Richard Burton fell in love on the set of their epic movie Cleopatra in Rome.  Beautiful Ruins returns to this romantic time weaving their story with that of Pasquale, a young Italian, who falls in love with a dying American actress working on the film.  Is she truly dying, or merely pregnant?  Nearly fifty years pass until we find out the truth.

 

 

Nathan


399 Games, Puzzles & Trivia Challenges Specially Designed to Keep Your Brain Young

Staff Pick Logo
399 Games, Puzzles & Trivia Challenges Specially Designed to Keep Your Brain Young Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780761168256
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Workman Publishing - September 25th, 2012

They say it only takes 10 to 15 minutes a day AND it's fun....hopefully after I've finished this book I'll never forget anyone's name again, or where I parked the damn car.

Susannah
age 51 and already having "senior moments"


The Oath

Staff Pick Logo
The Oath: The Obama White House and the Supreme Court Cover Image
$28.95
ISBN: 9780385527200
Availability: Hard to Find--Contact us for More Info
Published: Doubleday Books - September 18th, 2012

Toobin continues his behind the scenes look at the contemporary Supreme Court begun in his earlier book, The Nine. In The Oath,Toobin, with his insider access, looks at the personalities as well as the political and judicial philosophies of the current Robert’s court which seems intent on overturning decades of precedents to further an ultra-conservative ideology.


Dale


The Devil in Silver

Staff Pick Logo
The Devil in Silver Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781400069866
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Spiegel & Grau - August 21st, 2012

Pepper gets dropped off at the New Hyde mental institution, not because he’s mentally ill, but because the plain-clothed cops who busted him didn’t want to deal with the paperwork of a formal booking. If he keeps his head down he’s out in 72 hours, but New Hyde has problems that drag Pepper down into its culture and close to insanity. Mental illness, power relations, race, sex, and the devil; this book goes beyond horror and social commentary to scratch at universal human truths, further proving that Victor Lavalle is the rightful heir to Kurt Vonnegut

Josh


Plant Dreaming Deep

Staff Pick Logo
Plant Dreaming Deep Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9780393315516
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - September 1st, 1996

What a pleasure, after many years, to read this book again. Leaving summer behind, and settling into the next season can be a time of reflection no matter how busy we are. We take comfort in familiar routines and the newfound quiet of our homes, but also look forward to the changes this time of year brings. These are the themes of this book: anticipation of the new, looking back on the familiar, and how their combination brings clarity to our lives.

Robin


Bunheads

Staff Pick Logo
Bunheads Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780316126540
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Poppy Books - October 9th, 2012

Bunheads’ striking cover pulled me into this book. Sophie Flack wrote this mesmerizing story from a first person view of the professional world of American Ballet having danced at the New York City Ballet for nine years. No one from the outside of this world has any idea the total commitment that is required to become a ballerina.  For any young person or adult it is an awe inspiring story of dedication.  As Hannah grows up in the school she begins to wonder if this is all she wants for her life.

Jane D


safekeeping

Staff Pick Logo
Safekeeping Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250011343
Availability: Hard to Find--Contact us for More Info
Published: Feiwel & Friends - September 18th, 2012

Karen Hesse glimpses a future for America that we won’t want to see. It has become a military state with all sorts of restrictions and rules. Radley, on her way back from volunteering in Haiti, discovers that her parents are missing as is any hint of her old life. But guns can’t eradicate the human spirit that she finds as she wanders in Vermont. Hesse’s photographs enrich the heartfelt text. Perfect for ages 14 and up.


Carol


Magic Tree House Games and Puzzles From The Tree House

Staff Pick Logo
Games and Puzzles from the Tree House: Over 200 Challenges! (Stepping Stone Books) Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9780375862168
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - April 27th, 2010

This little activity book is the perfect companion for fans of Jack and Annie.  Discover all sorts of fun puzzles, mazes, word searches, and games, from each adventure in the series, from book #1 though book #44.


Megan


Three Times Lucky

Staff Pick Logo
Three Times Lucky (Mo & Dale Mysteries) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780803736702
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Dial Books - May 10th, 2012

Twelve-year-old Miss Moses Lobeau, and her friend Dale, are self appointed detectives in the small town of Tupelo, NC. Lost your cat, they'll find it. Now there has been a murder, and people are disappearing. Can they help? Meanwhile Mo is trying to solve her own personal mystery. This is a fast moving, and fun read.

Robin


Fifth Business

Staff Pick Logo
Fifth Business (Penguin Twentieth-Century Classics) Cover Image
By Robertson Davies, Gail Godwin (Introduction by)
$16.00
ISBN: 9780141186153
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Penguin Books - January 1st, 2001

It is always good to discover an author, but especially if he is Robertson Davies. (I know, where have I been?) This first volume of the Deptford Trilogy is a well-told tale that ends with a twist. Though it stands alone well, I am now deep into the second book and look forward to the third.


Robin


Days of Destruction Days of Revolt

Staff Pick Logo
Days of Destruction, Days of Revolt Cover Image
By Chris Hedges, Joe Sacco (Illustrator)
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9781568586434
Availability: Out of Print
Published: Nation Books - June 12th, 2012

An eloquent and unsettling visual telling of the plight of the poorest in America. We have failed these regions, these peoples with the pursuit of wealth. It is impossible to walk away after reading this and do nothing about the grab for money power in Washington.


Jane J


The Bartender's Tale

Staff Pick Logo
The Bartender's Tale Cover Image
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9781594487354
Availability: Out of Print
Published: Riverhead Books - August 21st, 2012

In The Bartender’s Tale, Ivan Doig creates a new chapter in the town of Gros Venture, Montana.  Rusty, a boy of twelve and “an accident between the sheets,” narrates his summer with his father, Tom Harry, bartender and owner of the Medicine Lodge. Rusty never knew his mother, and their simple life unravels as he wonders who she is. The tension between his father’s past and his love for his son is a story told with wit and craft.

Robert


Pages