Staff Picks

Bunheads

Staff Pick Logo
Bunheads Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780316126540
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Poppy Books - October 9th, 2012

Bunheads’ striking cover pulled me into this book. Sophie Flack wrote this mesmerizing story from a first person view of the professional world of American Ballet having danced at the New York City Ballet for nine years. No one from the outside of this world has any idea the total commitment that is required to become a ballerina.  For any young person or adult it is an awe inspiring story of dedication.  As Hannah grows up in the school she begins to wonder if this is all she wants for her life.

Jane D


safekeeping

Staff Pick Logo
Safekeeping Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250011343
Availability: Hard to Find--Contact us for More Info
Published: Feiwel & Friends - September 18th, 2012

Karen Hesse glimpses a future for America that we won’t want to see. It has become a military state with all sorts of restrictions and rules. Radley, on her way back from volunteering in Haiti, discovers that her parents are missing as is any hint of her old life. But guns can’t eradicate the human spirit that she finds as she wanders in Vermont. Hesse’s photographs enrich the heartfelt text. Perfect for ages 14 and up.


Carol


Magic Tree House Games and Puzzles From The Tree House

Staff Pick Logo
Games and Puzzles from the Tree House: Over 200 Challenges! (Stepping Stone Books) Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9780375862168
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - April 27th, 2010

This little activity book is the perfect companion for fans of Jack and Annie.  Discover all sorts of fun puzzles, mazes, word searches, and games, from each adventure in the series, from book #1 though book #44.


Megan


Three Times Lucky

Staff Pick Logo
Three Times Lucky (Mo & Dale Mysteries) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780803736702
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Dial Books - May 10th, 2012

Twelve-year-old Miss Moses Lobeau, and her friend Dale, are self appointed detectives in the small town of Tupelo, NC. Lost your cat, they'll find it. Now there has been a murder, and people are disappearing. Can they help? Meanwhile Mo is trying to solve her own personal mystery. This is a fast moving, and fun read.

Robin


Fifth Business

Staff Pick Logo
Fifth Business (Penguin Twentieth-Century Classics) Cover Image
By Robertson Davies, Gail Godwin (Introduction by)
$16.00
ISBN: 9780141186153
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Penguin Books - January 1st, 2001

It is always good to discover an author, but especially if he is Robertson Davies. (I know, where have I been?) This first volume of the Deptford Trilogy is a well-told tale that ends with a twist. Though it stands alone well, I am now deep into the second book and look forward to the third.


Robin


Days of Destruction Days of Revolt

Staff Pick Logo
Days of Destruction, Days of Revolt Cover Image
By Chris Hedges, Joe Sacco (Illustrator)
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9781568586434
Availability: Out of Print
Published: Nation Books - June 12th, 2012

An eloquent and unsettling visual telling of the plight of the poorest in America. We have failed these regions, these peoples with the pursuit of wealth. It is impossible to walk away after reading this and do nothing about the grab for money power in Washington.


Jane J


The Bartender's Tale

Staff Pick Logo
The Bartender's Tale Cover Image
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9781594487354
Availability: Out of Print
Published: Riverhead Books - August 21st, 2012

In The Bartender’s Tale, Ivan Doig creates a new chapter in the town of Gros Venture, Montana.  Rusty, a boy of twelve and “an accident between the sheets,” narrates his summer with his father, Tom Harry, bartender and owner of the Medicine Lodge. Rusty never knew his mother, and their simple life unravels as he wonders who she is. The tension between his father’s past and his love for his son is a story told with wit and craft.

Robert


Paper Made!

Staff Pick Logo
Paper Made!: 101 Exceptional Projects to Make Out of Everyday Paper Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780761159971
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Workman Publishing - May 9th, 2012

Exactly
101 crafts included here for home design, fashion, and party decor. I
love how the author expands the idea of paper crafts to include other
materials such as cardboard, album sleeves --even movie tickets!
Instructions are simple to follow, and each project comes with an
easy-to-difficult rating. Tons of gift ideas too. A great addition to
one's craft collection.Jennifer


Marathon

Staff Pick Logo
Marathon Cover Image
By Boaz Yakin, Joe Infurnari (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781596436800
Availability: Hard to Find--Contact us for More Info
Published: First Second - June 19th, 2012

As the Persians prepare to attack Athens, the city sends its swiftest messenger over 150 miles to Sparta for reinforcements.  Then, injured and exhausted, he must run another 26 miles from the battlefield to Athens in a desperate last stand for Greece's fledgling Democracy. Set a generation before the battle that inspired 300, Marathon is the true story of men who lost everything under tyranny and sacrificed their lives to fight it.  Infurnari's drawings bristle with tension in this raw and unexpectedly relevant graphic novel.

Kim


The Polar Bear Scientists

Staff Pick Logo
The Polar Bear Scientists (Scientists in the Field) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780547283050
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Houghton Mifflin - January 10th, 2012

Future wildlife biologists will appreciate the wealth of information and amazing photos in this new picture book.  Part of a series called "Scientists in the Field," The Polar Bear Scientists follows a team of arctic field researchers as they set out to track and tag bears.  You'll learn about the helicopter mechanic, the student interns, and everyone whose work provides international policy makers with important data about the health of the arctic.Recommended for ages 7 and up.


Kim


Medicus

Staff Pick Logo
Medicus: A Novel of the Roman Empire Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781596914278
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC - March 4th, 2008

Of our three favorite "Ancient Rome proto-detective" series, Steven Saylor has great historical figure portraits, Lindsay Davis has a bit o' the music hall and Ruth Downie has Tula - the Celt slave of the army doctor/investigator Gaius Ruso.  Slave she may (start out to) be, but she causes no end of...complications for our hero.  Medicus is the 1st book of the series, all of which are vastly satisfying.

Gary


Cold Comfort Farm

Staff Pick Logo
Cold Comfort Farm: (penguin Classics Deluxe Edition) (Penguin Classics Deluxe Editions) Cover Image
By Stella Gibbons, Lynne Truss (Introduction by), Roz Chast (Illustrator)
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143039594
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - March 28th, 2006

Delightful- just delightful- English comedy of manners about a young woman trying to reform her uncouth country cousins. Being a bit short of cash, young Flora Poste goes to stay with her relatives the Starkadders and immediately sets about trying to bring a bit of civilization to the place. The characters and setting are unforgettable, the writing crisp and perfect. You’ll never want this lovely book to end.

Marie


The Emily Dickinson Reader

Staff Pick Logo
The Emily Dickinson Reader: An English-To-English Translation of Emily Dickinson's Complete Poems Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781936365982
Availability: Hard to Find--Contact us for More Info
Published: McSweeney's - August 14th, 2012

More than just a clever joke, The Emily Dickinson Reader is an insightful look at Emily Dickinson’s work and a wise work of poetry its own right. Through his “translations,” Legault reveals a darker and funnier Dickinson than we might have assumed, while creating a strange synthesis work shining with its own kind of brilliance. This is how he translates poem 432 ““I cannot write people back to life. As hard as I might try. And I do. Furiously. Like a wizard. Or a grammarian.”

Josh


Comfort Me with Offal

Staff Pick Logo
Comfort Me with Offal: Ruth Bourdain's Guide to Gastronomy Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781449427481
Availability: Hard to Find--Contact us for More Info
Published: Andrews McMeel Publishing - September 4th, 2012

The elusive Ruth Bourdain, the popular Twitter mash-up satirist, has left the 140-character world for a lengthier version of her hilarious take on the food world. She skewers food memoirs, food trends, and celebrity chefs. Perfect for all the foodies out there and anyone who appreciates more than a dollop of sarcasm.


Carol


Pages