Staff Picks

Creatures of Will & Temper

Staff Pick Badge
Creatures of Will and Temper (The Diabolist’s Library #1) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781328710260
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: John Joseph Adams/Mariner Books - November 14th, 2017

 

This lush retelling of The Portrait of Dorian Gray, centering on two opposite-as-can-be sisters in Victorian London, has it all: fencing, a secret society of extreme hedonists, demon summoning and demon slaying, mysterious uncles, queer romance...if your taste is at all like mine, you're probably already halfway to the register.

 

Leila


Judy Joo's Korean Soul Food

Staff Pick Badge
Judy Joo's Korean Soul Food: Authentic dishes and modern twists Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780711251670
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: White Lion Publishing - October 7th, 2019

 

This cookbook blends west with east and whilst there's a new twist on modern Korean recipes, you will fill find Korean staple recipes as well. Chef, Judy Joo, has a lot of fun blending flavours using accessible ingredients. The KFC (Korean fried chicken) wings recipe is the real deal. Looking for an easy weeknight meal? Try the kimchi mac 'n cheese. (#BTSARMY)

 

Sinny


American Royals

Staff Pick Badge
American Royals Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781984830173
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - September 3rd, 2019

 

Everyone knows that when America won the Revolutionary War, its people offered General George Washington a crown—and he accepted it. This is how American Royals begins. Imagine a world where America is about to have its first queen regent, where the age of monarchies never ended, and where the love of a young woman is powerful enough to change history. A soapy, escapist blockbuster full of drama, scandals, and romance. Perfect for fans of Red, White, and Royal Blue and The Royal We!

April


Welcoming Elijah

Staff Pick Badge
Welcoming Elijah: A Passover Tale with a Tail Cover Image
By Leslea Newman, Susan Gal (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781580898829
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Charlesbridge - January 28th, 2020

 

This lovely Passover story leaves room for a variety of traditions and depicts a diverse group of characters, making it a stellar choice for families and classrooms! Gal's gestural illustrations are filled with movement while the strong contrast and bright colors sparkle. A story of opposites, warmth, welcome, and animal adoption, it's a holiday title that will be reread throughout the year.

Marika


The Inquisitor's Apprentice

Staff Pick Badge
The Inquisitor's Apprentice Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780547850849
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - February 26th, 2013

 

In this fun and touching historical fantasy, 1910s New York is full of immigrant magic and predatory millionaires. When 13 year old Sacha Kessler finds out he can see magic he is forced to work for the NYPD Inquisitors to help support his family, gets himself in a whole lot of trouble, and even meets Harry Houdini. This is one of my favorite books ever, and it isn’t just because the protagonist has my name! ;)

Sacha, Writer in Residence for Young Readers 


Nyxia

Staff Pick Badge
Nyxia (The Nyxia Triad #1) Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780399556821
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ember - June 19th, 2018

 

This is a perfect series to tide you over while you wait for the second coming of the Hunger Games. While the "compete for survival" premise might sound familiar, there are plenty of sci-fi twists to keep you frantically turning the pages. And it's in space, where no one can hear you scream! Or CAN they....? 

Caleb


Oracle Code

Staff Pick Badge
The Oracle Code Cover Image
By Marieke Nijkamp, Manuel Preitano (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781401290665
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: DC Comics - March 10th, 2020

 

Barbara has to tackle challenges ranging from making friends to chasing ghosts, all while resentfully getting used to life in a wheelchair. A story that both warms and wrenches the heart about one of the most prominent disabled superheroes in comics.

Shana


Of Curses and Kisses

Staff Pick Badge
Of Curses and Kisses Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781534417540
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon Pulse - February 18th, 2020

 

Boarding school, scandal, royals, diverse characters, and a re-telling of Beauty and the Beast makes this book irresistible. Princess Jaya Rao is no Belle and Lord Grey Emerson is no Beast, which makes their story feel like a brand new one instead of a re-telling. If you're a fan of fun, you'll like this book.

Sinny


Scary Stories for Young Foxes

Staff Pick Badge
Scary Stories for Young Foxes Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250181428
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - July 30th, 2019

 

Follow a pair of clever fox kits through the spooky underbelly of the forest in this beautifully-woven tale, reminiscent of Watership Down by way of the Brothers Grimm. The dangers the foxes face will make you want to keep the light on and the door shut tight--but, as the wise old storyteller counsels, if you can make it to the end of the tale, you'll find a happy ending waiting there.

Kate


Pages