Fiction

Hotel Dare

Staff Pick Badge
Hotel Dare Cover Image
By Terry Blas, Claudia Aguirre (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9781684152056
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: KaBOOM! - June 11th, 2019

 

Magic, mystery, and mayhem abound as Olive and her adopted siblings, Charlotte and Darwin, investigate their grandmother's creepy old hotel and the magical doors that lead to other worlds. But when Charlotte decides she'd rather stay in one of those other worlds, it's up to Darwin and Olive to figure out their family's shattered past and convince her to come home. Perfect for fans of Deadendia and Gravity Falls.

Shana


Birthday

Staff Pick Badge
Birthday: A Novel Cover Image
$15.19
ISBN: 9781250129833
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - May 21st, 2019

 

Birthday follows best-friends-from-birth Eric and Morgan over the course of their joint birthdays from ages thirteen to eighteen. It feels viscerally real as it faces issues such as homophobia and transphobia in the south, family tension, and the struggles of growing up in a poor rural area.

April


The Last Days of Night

Staff Pick Badge
The Last Days of Night: A Novel Cover Image
$13.60
ISBN: 9780812988925
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks - May 23rd, 2017

 

Before Apple was sued by Samsung over smartphones, before Microsoft was accused of having a monopoly in software, before Theodore Rosevelt broke up any of the large trusts, Thomas Edison and George Westinghouse went to court over who would light up America.

John


American Hippo

Staff Pick Badge
American Hippo: River of Teeth, Taste of Marrow, and New Stories Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781250176431
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor.com - May 22nd, 2018

 

Take the gritty lawlessness of a western, combine it with vicious hippos that can and will snap a person in half with their giant jaws, then make everyone queer. That might give you an idea of what you're in for with American Hippo, but I don't think anything can really prepare you. Pick it up, and experience the delightful and bloody madness for yourself.

 

Shana


Die

Staff Pick Badge
Die Volume 1: Fantasy Heartbreaker Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781534312708
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Image Comics - June 11th, 2019

 

D&D meets Jumanji in the biggest comic of 2019. As with all of Kieron Gillen's books, the characters and their humanity are what drives this, even amongst such a high-concept premise. And Stephanie Hans' artwork will take your breath away. This one is a game changer.

Caleb


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Fiction