Fiction

It’s Kind of a Funny Story

Staff Pick Badge
It's Kind of a Funny Story Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780786851973
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Disney-Hyperion - May 1st, 2007

 

In this relatable YA novel Ned Vizzini manages to take a heavy topic like mental illness and deliver it in an entertaining and comical way. This story follows a fifteen year-old boy, Craig, who is hospitalized for his depression. On his journey to recovery he meets a variety of interesting characters along the way. They are so well developed that it felt as though they might jump right out of the pages. This book gave me the best company in the days where I felt the most alone- it gave me a good share of laughs too. The intriguing setting as well as the electric character dynamics earned this book a forever place in my top 10.

Hannah


Just South of Home

Staff Pick Badge
Just South of Home Cover Image
$7.19
ISBN: 9781534419391
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - July 7th, 2020

 

Author Strong doesn't shy away from racial violence in this MG story, and she slams it out of the park. It's a chilling ghost story wrapped in an endearing tale of family and friendship. For kids who may not like reading non-fiction, this could be a good bridge towards discussions of White violence against Black bodies. Also all of the characters are just so adorable!

Stacey


The Belles

Staff Pick Badge
The Belles Cover Image
$8.79
ISBN: 9781484732519
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Freeform - February 5th, 2019

 

They say that you shouldn't judge a book by it's cover, but you absolutely should because this cover delivers. The Belles brings forth the neverending misconception of how beauty means good, when in reality, beauty is dark and dangerous. The world that Dhonielle Clayton creates draws you in with beauty, but darkness and an unstable society is what you end up staying for.

Sinny


Flygirl

Staff Pick Badge
Flygirl Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780142417256
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - September 16th, 2010

 

All Ida Mae Jones wants to do is fly--but her dream seems impossible until the United States enters World War II. In order to join the new women's pilot program, Ida decides to "pass" as white. But things never turn out exactly as hoped... Perfect for readers looking for a new angle on a well-covered historical period.

Rebecca


You Should See Me In A Crown

Staff Pick Badge
You Should See Me in a Crown Cover Image
$14.39
ISBN: 9781338503265
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - June 2nd, 2020

 

The gloriously cute black queer prom story you never knew you needed. Liz has to become prom queen in order to get a scholarship and attend her dream college. This is difficult enough since she's black, poor, awkward, and not remotely one of the cool kids in her rich, white town. Even worse, she starts to fall in love with a girl who's openly queer. But can she admit it to her conservative classmates with the crown and the scholarship on the line? And will her girlfriend accept her staying closeted? Great for fans of Red, White, and Royal Blue and Dumplin'.

Shana


We Ride Upon Sticks

Staff Pick Badge
We Ride Upon Sticks: A Novel Cover Image
$21.56
ISBN: 9781524748098
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Pantheon - March 3rd, 2020

 

We Ride Upon Sticks is one of my favorite releases of 2020 so far! Quan Berry’s characters are wonderful and real and she absolutely nails the dynamics of high school sports. Though the focus of winning a championship is one many of us can relate to, the thread of supernatural suspense holding this together kept me turning the pages faster than you can say Emilio Estevez!

 

Caleb


Bluebird, Bluebird

Staff Pick Badge
Bluebird, Bluebird (A Highway 59 Novel #1) Cover Image
$13.59
ISBN: 9780316363273
Availability: On Order at the Warehouse
Published: Mulholland Books - August 28th, 2018

 

Meet Darren Mathews, a black Texas Ranger tangled in a web of conflicting loyalties--to his job, his wife, his family, his home. After personal allegiance puts Darren's job at risk, he finds himself caught up in a mystery that causes the racial fault lines in a small Texas town to erupt. Bluebird, Bluebird kicks off a series you won't want to miss!

 

Rebecca


The City We Became

Staff Pick Badge
The City We Became: A Novel (The Great Cities Trilogy #1) Cover Image
$22.40
ISBN: 9780316509848
Availability: On Order at the Warehouse
Published: Orbit - March 24th, 2020

 

When a city reaches a certain point, it stops being a location on a map and starts being a massive living entity. It's New York's turn now, but nothing is going the way it usually does. The city's six new human avatars need to figure out how to work together and use their powers fast or New York is doomed. A love letter to the weirdness and wonder that is New York City written in N K Jemisin's stunning prose.

Shana


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Fiction