Fiction

Blood Water Paint

Staff Pick Badge
Blood Water Paint Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780735232136
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - March 5th, 2019

 

You may not have heard of Renaissance painter Artemisia Gentileschi, the first woman to be accepted into the Florence fine arts academy. But Joy McCullough brings her story to vivid life, from her days as a talented (but largely brushed aside) young artist\ to her assault by her mentor and her fight to get him convicted in court--a story that unfortunately still feels familiar today. This gorgeous, devastating, and ultimately uplifting novel-in-verse is the perfect pick for National Poetry Month.

Kate


Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit

Staff Pick Badge
Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780062271006
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: HarperTeen - May 8th, 2018

 

When Jo's dad, a popular radio preacher, moves them from Atlanta to the small town of Rome, Georgia, he asks Jo to do the impossible: go back in the closet and lie low for her senior year. But when she meets the perfect girl, how can she keep her secret and go after love? The perfect sweet, sexy, teen romance for fans of Love, Simon.

April


Internment

Staff Pick Badge
Internment Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316522694
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 19th, 2019

 

In a near-future United States that's all too easy to imagine, Layla and her parents are forced into an internment camp for Muslim-American citizens. Terrifying but ultimately hopeful, this story is about the power of every voice and every witness.

Rebecca


Dealing in Dreams

Staff Pick Badge
Dealing in Dreams Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781481472142
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - March 5th, 2019

 

Girl gangs keep order in the remnants of Mega City, and Nalah and her Mal Criadas want to be on top. But when Déesse sends Las Mal Criadas on a mission outside the city, Nalah starts to question the stories she's always believed about her hardscrabble world.

Sarah


Cilla Lee-Jenkins the Epic Story

Staff Pick Badge
Cilla Lee-Jenkins: The Epic Story Cover Image
By Susan Tan, Dana Wulfekotte (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250183637
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Roaring Brook Press - March 26th, 2019

 

Funny and sweet, with endearing, complex characters, this book will steal your heart. A great read aloud for younger elementary readers or a solid novel for 3rd-5th graders looking for something good enough to read under desks, on top of the monkey bars, or with a flashlight.

Marika


Sawkill Girls

Staff Pick Badge
Sawkill Girls Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062696601
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - October 2nd, 2018

 

Clare Legrand calls this "a book about girls," but it's really a book about the kind of girls you don't always see in novels: hurting, hopeful, hungry, and above all, powerful. It's a dark, strange, spooky read--perfect for a chilly March night--that reminded me of a Hiyao Miyazaki or Guillermo del Toro movie, but has a magic all its own. Check it out.

Kate


Odd One Out

Staff Pick Badge
Odd One Out Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781101939536
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - October 9th, 2018

 

Courtney and Jupiter have been best friends and next door neighbors forever, but lately, Courtney can't shake the feeling that he might want something more than friendship from Jupiter. When new girl Rae moves to town and upends the status quo, feelings erupt on all sides. Odd One Out is a nuanced exploration of friendship, sexuality, and being a teenager for fans of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda. I loved every character in this book!

Rebecca


Miseducation of Cameron Post

Staff Pick Badge
The Miseducation of Cameron Post Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780062020574
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 28th, 2013

 

Emily M. Danforth's debut novel tells the story of a young girl growing up in rural Montana after the tragic death of both of her parents. Coming to understand her sexuality is further complicated when her conservative aunt discovers her relationship with her best friend and Cameron is sent away to a religious conversion therapy school. Danforth handles the difficulties of family life and identity with nuance and grace in this beautifully rendered coming of age tale.

Kathryn, Writer in Residence for Young Readers


The Volunteer

Staff Pick Badge
The Volunteer: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780525558521
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Press - March 5th, 2019

 

A complex, peripatetic, magnificently written book about identity, war, guilt, and responsibility.  The prose is beautiful, the story is compelling, and you find yourself ripping through the pages in hopes that you will be able to dig down one more layer, to better understand this man and his motivations and demons and secrets.

 

David


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Fiction