Fiction

The Golem and the Jinni

Staff Pick Badge
The Golem and the Jinni: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062110848
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Harper Perennial - December 31st, 2013

 

In 1899 Manhattan, Chava is a golem who has unexpectedly lost her master, and Ahmad is a jinni who is accidentally summoned from the copper flask in which he was imprisoned. They form an odd and touching friendship, and together they navigate a strange new country and the return of an old sinister force. Part historical fiction, part mythological fantasy, and entirely wonderful.

Ari


Leading Men

Staff Pick Badge
Leading Men: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780525559054
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking - February 12th, 2019

 

At the heart of Christopher Castellani’s latest novel, written with moving grace, is the complicated story of playwright Tennessee Williams and his lover of 15 years, Frank Merlo.  A backward glance to 1953 and Southern Italy, this exquisite narrative explores such themes as fame, fortune, fidelity, art, tragedy and above all, love.

Nathan


Daisy Jones & The Six

Staff Pick Badge
Daisy Jones & The Six: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781524798628
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ballantine Books - March 5th, 2019

 

This is the story of a rock band building it's fame, and joining forces with an unstoppable young woman. If you're a fan of Fleetwood Mac and the movie Almost Famous, read this book! You'll wish there was an album you could listen to when you've finished.

Heather


Our Year of Maybe

Staff Pick Badge
Our Year of Maybe Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781481497763
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Simon Pulse - January 15th, 2019

 

When Sophie decides to donate a kidney to her best friend (and secret crush) Peter, neither of them anticipates the way their friendship fractures in the aftermath. Our Year of Maybe is gorgeous and complicated and painful--your heart will hurt (in a good way!) after finishing this book.

Rebecca


MOUTHFUL OF BIRDS

Staff Pick Badge
Mouthful of Birds: Stories Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780399184628
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - January 8th, 2019

 

Pick this up for a collection reads like Grimm fairy tales by way of contemporary Argentina: mysterious, bizarre, and darkly funny. Samanta Schweblin's prose is spare and startling.  It's the perfect book for a month of cold winter's nights!

 

Kate


Book of Essie

Staff Pick Badge
The Book of Essie: A novel Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780525520313
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Knopf - June 12th, 2018

 

The Book of Essie is a searing, insightful dissection of the intersections of reality-tv celebrity, toxic Christianity and buried secrets that will make you think, examine your own participation in the culture surrounding reality TV, break your heart--and put it back together.

 

April


Goodbye, Vitamin

Staff Pick Badge
Goodbye, Vitamin: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781250182555
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador - July 10th, 2018

 

Feeling disengaged from the world, Ruth quits her job, leaves town, and arrives at her parents' home to find that her father is losing his memory and her mother is...not handling the situation well. At first glance the story seems like a tragedy, but Khong's incisive humor makes this utterly readable. For fans of Jami Attenberg, Goodbye, Vitamin is a quirky, tender look at the unexpected ways life can hit you.

Rebecca


The Lost Man

Staff Pick Badge
The Lost Man Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250105684
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - February 5th, 2019

 

Jane Harper has a gift for invoking an incredibly strong sense of place. The brutal Australian outback is more than a backdrop to an intricately plotted and emotionally satisfying mystery that kept me guessing. The Lost Man is a tense, atmospheric page turner with well drawn, flawed, and relatable characters.  

Katie


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Fiction