Fiction

Our Year of Maybe

Staff Pick Badge
Our Year of Maybe Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781481497763
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon Pulse - January 15th, 2019

 

When Sophie decides to donate a kidney to her best friend (and secret crush) Peter, neither of them anticipates the way their friendship fractures in the aftermath. Our Year of Maybe is gorgeous and complicated and painful--your heart will hurt (in a good way!) after finishing this book.

Rebecca


MOUTHFUL OF BIRDS

Staff Pick Badge
Mouthful of Birds: Stories Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780399184628
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - January 8th, 2019

 

Pick this up for a collection reads like Grimm fairy tales by way of contemporary Argentina: mysterious, bizarre, and darkly funny. Samanta Schweblin's prose is spare and startling.  It's the perfect book for a month of cold winter's nights!

 

Kate


Book of Essie

Staff Pick Badge
The Book of Essie: A novel Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780525520313
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - June 12th, 2018

 

The Book of Essie is a searing, insightful dissection of the intersections of reality-tv celebrity, toxic Christianity and buried secrets that will make you think, examine your own participation in the culture surrounding reality TV, break your heart--and put it back together.

 

April


Goodbye, Vitamin

Staff Pick Badge
Goodbye, Vitamin: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781250182555
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador - July 10th, 2018

 

Feeling disengaged from the world, Ruth quits her job, leaves town, and arrives at her parents' home to find that her father is losing his memory and her mother is...not handling the situation well. At first glance the story seems like a tragedy, but Khong's incisive humor makes this utterly readable. For fans of Jami Attenberg, Goodbye, Vitamin is a quirky, tender look at the unexpected ways life can hit you.

Rebecca


The Lost Man

Staff Pick Badge
The Lost Man Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250105684
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - February 5th, 2019

 

Jane Harper has a gift for invoking an incredibly strong sense of place. The brutal Australian outback is more than a backdrop to an intricately plotted and emotionally satisfying mystery that kept me guessing. The Lost Man is a tense, atmospheric page turner with well drawn, flawed, and relatable characters.  

Katie


The Dreamers

Staff Pick Badge
The Dreamers: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780812994162
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House - January 15th, 2019

 

Is it redundant to say that a book about a sleeping sickness is written with a dream-like quality? And yet it's as fast-paced and urgent as a wildfire. This is a haunting and mesmerizing book. If you're a fan of Bird Box, this is an even better story of survival.

Heather


Lost Children Archive

Staff Pick Badge
Lost Children Archive: A novel Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9780525520610
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - February 12th, 2019

 

Finishing the book feels like the beginning of your own journey, to track down the literary and historic references, to critique a society and culture that "removes" people, to recover the moments from you own life when you first realized how big the world around you is, but without any kind of heavy-handed moralization or didactic injunctions. The characters are so thoughtful and rich that you're inspired to grow so you can have a conversation with them.

Josh


Lady’s Guide to Petticoats & Piracy

Staff Pick Badge
The Lady's Guide to Petticoats and Piracy (Montague Siblings #2) Cover Image
$15.19
ISBN: 9780062795328
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - October 2nd, 2018

 

This is the 18th-century women-in-science pirate girl gang you've always dreamed of, tearing down ideas of patriarchy and colonialism as they swashbuckle their way across Europe and the Atlantic. Felicity is fierce, funny, and whip-smart. I didn't think I could love a book as much as Gentleman's Guide, but this one is just as good--and it's a companion novel, so you can pick this one up even if you haven't read the first one yet!

Kate


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Fiction