Graphic Novel

Tiger vs. Nightmare

Staff Pick Badge
Tiger vs. Nightmare Cover Image
By Emily Tetri, Emily Tetri (Illustrator)
$14.39
ISBN: 9781626725355
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - November 6th, 2018

 

Nightmares are bad, but Tiger doesn’t have to worry about that. The Monster under her bed is her best friend and scares them all away. Until one comes that’s so big and scary that even Monster is frightened. Only friendship and teamwork can save the day now!

Shana


Bttm Fdrs

Staff Pick Badge
Bttm Fdrs Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781683962069
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Fantagraphics Books - June 25th, 2019

 

Bttm Fdrs feels a bit like the movie "Get Out" crossed with Lovecraft and with a Lisa Frank style color palette. Or at least it feels like the concept of the movie. Horror comics are great for those of us who enjoy the genre but are too wimpy to sit through an entire movie. Also, Ben Passmore's unapologetic writing is great.

 

Stacey


Hotel Dare

Staff Pick Badge
Hotel Dare Cover Image
By Terry Blas, Claudia Aguirre (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9781684152056
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: KaBOOM! - June 11th, 2019

 

Magic, mystery, and mayhem abound as Olive and her adopted siblings, Charlotte and Darwin, investigate their grandmother's creepy old hotel and the magical doors that lead to other worlds. But when Charlotte decides she'd rather stay in one of those other worlds, it's up to Darwin and Olive to figure out their family's shattered past and convince her to come home. Perfect for fans of Deadendia and Gravity Falls.

Shana


Queen of the Sea

Staff Pick Badge
Queen of the Sea Cover Image
By Dylan Meconis, Dylan Meconis (Illustrator)
$24.99
ISBN: 9781536204988
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Walker Books US - June 25th, 2019

 

In this historical graphic novel, Margaret seeks to learn who she is and why she arrived at the island convent she calls home. When the banished Queen Eleanor of Albion arrives on the island, Margaret realizes the past is more complicated than she thought. Meconis' beautiful watercolor illustrations will captive readers while her details on history and folklore enrich this immersive feat of storytelling.

Marika


Die

Staff Pick Badge
Die Volume 1: Fantasy Heartbreaker Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781534312708
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Image Comics - June 11th, 2019

 

D&D meets Jumanji in the biggest comic of 2019. As with all of Kieron Gillen's books, the characters and their humanity are what drives this, even amongst such a high-concept premise. And Stephanie Hans' artwork will take your breath away. This one is a game changer.

Caleb


Good Talk

Staff Pick Badge
Good Talk: A Memoir in Conversations Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780399589041
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: One World - March 26th, 2019

 

This hard-hitting graphic memoir is framed around a son's questions about how the world works, but quickly goes much deeper as Mira explores topics of sexuality, politics, prejudice, and the reality of living as a person of color in a post-2016 USA. Heart-aching and fantastic.

Rebecca


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Graphic Novel