Graphic Novel

Hotel Dare

Staff Pick Badge
Hotel Dare Cover Image
By Terry Blas, Claudia Aguirre (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9781684152056
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: KaBOOM! - June 11th, 2019

 

Magic, mystery, and mayhem abound as Olive and her adopted siblings, Charlotte and Darwin, investigate their grandmother's creepy old hotel and the magical doors that lead to other worlds. But when Charlotte decides she'd rather stay in one of those other worlds, it's up to Darwin and Olive to figure out their family's shattered past and convince her to come home. Perfect for fans of Deadendia and Gravity Falls.

Shana


Queen of the Sea

Staff Pick Badge
Queen of the Sea Cover Image
By Dylan Meconis, Dylan Meconis (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781536204988
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Walker Books US - June 25th, 2019

 

In this historical graphic novel, Margaret seeks to learn who she is and why she arrived at the island convent she calls home. When the banished Queen Eleanor of Albion arrives on the island, Margaret realizes the past is more complicated than she thought. Meconis' beautiful watercolor illustrations will captive readers while her details on history and folklore enrich this immersive feat of storytelling.

Marika


Die

Staff Pick Badge
Die Volume 1: Fantasy Heartbreaker Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781534312708
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Image Comics - June 11th, 2019

 

D&D meets Jumanji in the biggest comic of 2019. As with all of Kieron Gillen's books, the characters and their humanity are what drives this, even amongst such a high-concept premise. And Stephanie Hans' artwork will take your breath away. This one is a game changer.

Caleb


Good Talk

Staff Pick Badge
Good Talk: A Memoir in Conversations Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9780399589041
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: One World - March 26th, 2019

 

This hard-hitting graphic memoir is framed around a son's questions about how the world works, but quickly goes much deeper as Mira explores topics of sexuality, politics, prejudice, and the reality of living as a person of color in a post-2016 USA. Heart-aching and fantastic.

Rebecca


X-Men Red Vol 1: The Hate Machine

Staff Pick Badge
X-Men Red Vol. 1: The Hate Machine (X-Men Red (2018) #1) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781302911676
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Marvel - September 18th, 2018

 

I love the X-Men. But honestly superheroing is not actually a practical way to make the world hate and fear you less. This is the X-Men team I never knew I always wanted, a group of people trying to save the world with compassion and truth rather than punching. Yes, some punching happens, but it is never presented as a solution to their problems.

 

Plus, they reprogram a mutant-hunting sentinel robot and paint rainbows on it. What's not to love?

 

Shana


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Graphic Novel