Historical Fiction

Salt to the Sea

Staff Pick Badge
Salt to the Sea Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780399160301
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Philomel Books - February 2nd, 2016

Ruta Sepetys has once again made history come alive in Salt to the Sea. Refugees at the end of WWII struggle to reach the Wilhelm Gustoff, a ship that will bring them to freedom.  This is important, engaging historical fiction. A genuine page-turner.

Carol

 


The Occupation Trilogy

Staff Pick Badge
The Occupation Trilogy: La Place de l'Étoile – The Night Watch – Ring Roads Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781632863720
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury USA - September 22nd, 2015

Winner of the Nobel Prize in 2014 French author Patrick Modiano’s glistening, seductive novels are now being published in English.The Occupation Trilogy consists of three early novels looking backward to World War II.

Nathan

 


Madness So Discreet

Staff Pick Badge
A Madness So Discreet Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062320865
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - October 6th, 2015

Confined to an asylum because of her out-of-wedlock pregnancy, robbed of her voice and her rights, Grace Mae thinks she knows madness. Until a visiting doctor selects her as an assistant to help hunt down a serial killer, using the new science of criminology. Sherlock Holmes meets American Horror Story in this spooky, atmospheric historical thriller. 

Mackenzie


The Fair Fight

Staff Pick Badge
The Fair Fight Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781594633294
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Riverhead Books - April 14th, 2015

Born in a brothel in the 1700s, Ruth hopes for little in life except survival.When a brothel fight draws a rich merchant's attention, she's thrust into the dangerous world of boxing for sport. While Ruth feels she's discovered her true calling, she must take care, for destitution is just an injury away. This captivating novel draws from the rich history of pugilism in England, and is perfect for fans of Sarah Waters and bad-ass ladies being awesome.

Rebecca

 


GAME OF LOVE AND DEATH

Staff Pick Badge
The Game of Love and Death Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780545668347
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Arthur A. Levine Books - April 28th, 2015

Henry and Flora, two young people in Depression-era Seattle, become unknowing players in a centuries-long game between Love and Death. Will their love win out, or will this game end the way all the others have throughout history? A heart-breaking examination of what it means to love and what it means to live, and how the two become intertwined. Nontraditional and innovative and sensory and evocative.

Mackenzie

 


THE CARTOGRAPHER OF NO MAN’S LAND

Staff Pick Badge
The Cartographer of No Man's Land: A Novel Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780871407771
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Liveright - June 2nd, 2014

Set in a quiet Nova Scotia village and in the bloody trenches of World War I, this debut novel follows Angus MacGrath as he tries to find his brother in law, missing on the Front. It also charts the coming of age of his son, Simon Peter, who must reconcile his grandfather’s pacifism and the mounting horrors of war with his own belief in the supremacy of Allies and in his father’s ability to navigate life as successfully as he navigates the sea.

Porter Square Book Club

 


WARS OF THE ROSES: STORMBIRD

Staff Pick Badge
Wars of the Roses: Stormbird Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780425275443
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - May 5th, 2015

Go back 50 years from Hilary Mantel's Henry VIII trilogy and you are in a very different time Henry VI and the Wars of the Roses. Like much great historical fiction, this novel reads more like fiction than history, with rich, fully drawn characters, intricate plots and vivid scenery. It is the first of three (the second is due out in June, and the author will be here at PSB) as an added bonus, if you want to see the Bard's version on stage, Actor's Shakespeare Project is performing Henry VI, Part 2 from May 13 through June 7.

David


THE LAST BOOKANEER

Staff Pick Badge
The Last Bookaneer Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781594204920
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Penguin Press - April 28th, 2015

Pearl's specialty is along with great plots and characters the inclusion and portrayal of actual 19th century authors. The Last Bookaneer features Robert Louis Stevenson in the South Seas in a most satisfying tale indeed. One of this author's best.

Gary


STAY WHERE YOU ARE & THEN LEAVE

Staff Pick Badge
Stay Where You Are And Then Leave Cover Image
By John Boyne, Oliver Jeffers (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781627790314
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - March 25th, 2014

As with all John Boyne’s writing, I was quite taken with this book. He tells good stories of historical circumstances and through the perspective of his characters provides an intimate look of the times. This story is a good introduction to the First World War, of how the war affects a soldier, his loved ones, conscientious objectors, and of the public’s dawning recognition of what then was called “shell shock.”

Robin


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Historical Fiction