Historical Fiction

Outrun the Moon

Staff Pick Badge
Outrun the Moon Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780399175411
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - May 24th, 2016

Mercy Wong is determined to break free of the poverty of San Francisco's Chinatown, but in 1906 her options are limited. Her best chance is an education at the prestigious St. Clare's School for Girls. Using ingenuity and just a little bribery, she gains admittance and faces off against her wealthy classmates - but when the great San Francisco earthquake strikes, it will take all of her wits to keep her friends safe and reunite with her family.

Rebecca


The Last Confession of Thomas Hawkins

Staff Pick Badge
The Last Confession of Thomas Hawkins Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780544639683
Availability: Hard to Find--Contact us for More Info
Published: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt - March 15th, 2016

A hilarious, fast-paced historical adventure novel set in the filthy squalor of 1720s London, in which fallen gentleman Thomas Hawkins is framed for murder, and must find the real culprit before he meets the hangman's knot himself. Vivid, atmospheric, and totally engrossing.

 

Mackenzie

 


Salt to the Sea

Staff Pick Badge
Salt to the Sea Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780399160301
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Philomel Books - February 2nd, 2016

Ruta Sepetys has once again made history come alive in Salt to the Sea. Refugees at the end of WWII struggle to reach the Wilhelm Gustoff, a ship that will bring them to freedom.  This is important, engaging historical fiction. A genuine page-turner.

Carol

 


The Occupation Trilogy

Staff Pick Badge
The Occupation Trilogy: La Place de l'Étoile – The Night Watch – Ring Roads Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781632863720
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury USA - September 22nd, 2015

Winner of the Nobel Prize in 2014 French author Patrick Modiano’s glistening, seductive novels are now being published in English.The Occupation Trilogy consists of three early novels looking backward to World War II.

Nathan

 


Madness So Discreet

Staff Pick Badge
A Madness So Discreet Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062320865
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - October 6th, 2015

Confined to an asylum because of her out-of-wedlock pregnancy, robbed of her voice and her rights, Grace Mae thinks she knows madness. Until a visiting doctor selects her as an assistant to help hunt down a serial killer, using the new science of criminology. Sherlock Holmes meets American Horror Story in this spooky, atmospheric historical thriller. 

Mackenzie


The Fair Fight

Staff Pick Badge
The Fair Fight Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781594633294
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Riverhead Books - April 14th, 2015

Born in a brothel in the 1700s, Ruth hopes for little in life except survival.When a brothel fight draws a rich merchant's attention, she's thrust into the dangerous world of boxing for sport. While Ruth feels she's discovered her true calling, she must take care, for destitution is just an injury away. This captivating novel draws from the rich history of pugilism in England, and is perfect for fans of Sarah Waters and bad-ass ladies being awesome.

Rebecca

 


GAME OF LOVE AND DEATH

Staff Pick Badge
The Game of Love and Death Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780545668347
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Arthur A. Levine Books - April 28th, 2015

Henry and Flora, two young people in Depression-era Seattle, become unknowing players in a centuries-long game between Love and Death. Will their love win out, or will this game end the way all the others have throughout history? A heart-breaking examination of what it means to love and what it means to live, and how the two become intertwined. Nontraditional and innovative and sensory and evocative.

Mackenzie

 


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Historical Fiction