Horror

Dracula Daily (Staff Pick)

Staff Pick Badge
Dracula Daily: Reading Bram Stoker's Dracula in Real Time With Commentary by the Internet By Matt Kirkland Cover Image
$22.39
ISBN: 9781524884703
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Andrews McMeel Publishing - September 19th, 2023

Never before have you seen Dracula like this. Dracula Daily isn't just an internet sensation bringing together people year after year, and this book is not just "Dracula with commentary." By reading each diary entry and letter in the order they would have been written, Kirkland is forcing us to really take the time and sit in how horrific some of Dracula's story are. How long was Jonathan Harker really trapped in that castle? How quickly did Lucy Westenra go from perfectly happy to on deaths door? Grab your copy now to get ready for Jonathan Harker's first diary entry --his journey starts May 3rd!

- Katherine


The Fervor (Staff Pick)

Staff Pick Badge
The Fervor By Alma Katsu Cover Image
$14.40
ISBN: 9780593328354
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - September 5th, 2023

This awesome historical horror novel takes place in US Japanese internment camps during WWII. People are getting sick to the point of chaotic violence, who could be behind this mysterious illness? Enjoy this important and harrowing tale of the dangers of demonization.

- Hannah


The Book of Accidents (Staff Pick)

Staff Pick Badge
The Book of Accidents: A Novel By Chuck Wendig Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780399182150
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Del Rey - March 15th, 2022

A modern masterpiece of horror. Twisting and dark, mixing familial trauma, coming of age, and terror so well-it's truly sublime. Don't let the length deter you- you will fly through these pages at a dead sprint.

- Jen


The Parliament (Staff Pick)

Staff Pick Badge
The Parliament By Aimee Pokwatka Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781250820976
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Tordotcom - January 16th, 2024

Full disclosure: this book made me weep like a child. This is a book about grief, and trauma, and how that changes us, especially as children. It's a shockingly plausible horror story interwoven with a fantasy story that both rescues and reflects our protagonists from their own story.

- Katherine


House of Hunger (Staff Pick)

Staff Pick Badge
House of Hunger By Alexis Henderson Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593438480
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Ace - September 5th, 2023

In a world where the rich and powerful live off the blood of the impoverished, Marion applies to be a bloodmaid to escape her life in the slums. I couldn't help but drain this book down to the very last drop.

- Halle


The Changeling (Staff Pick)

Staff Pick Badge
The Changeling: A Novel By Victor LaValle Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780812985870
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: One World - March 6th, 2018

This modern fairy tale is the suspensefully dark, yet beautiful, book that you never knew you needed. The writing is so incredibly beautiful and immersive, it creates the epitome of magical realism. If you are looking for the perfect January read.... look no further!

- Emma


Dracula (Staff Pick)

Staff Pick Badge
Dracula By Bram Stoker Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9781912714674
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Chiltern Publishing - September 8th, 2020

The defining piece of vampire literature, this gorgeous edition will be sure to warm even the darkes of hearts this holiday season (maybe tuck a clove of garlic in their stocking, just to be safe).

- Jen


Rouge (Staff Pick)

Staff Pick Badge
Rouge: A Novel By Mona Awad Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781982169695
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: S&S/ Marysue Rucci Books - September 12th, 2023

Mona Awad's latest novel is a Snow White-inspired convergence of grief, psychosis, and perilous beauty, about a lonely dress shop clerk whose mother dies unexpectedly. Crammed full of the hallmarks of a truly horrifying fairy tale, it's a masterful commentary on youth and the lengths that people will go to for the sake of proximity to beauty.

- Engel


Boys In the Valley (Staff Pick)

Staff Pick Badge
Boys in the Valley By Philip Fracassi Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250879035
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Tor Nightfire - July 11th, 2023

It is rare that a book genuinely scares me, but I read this book in February and I'm STILL having nightmares about it. The writing, the atmosphere, the characters...everything about this book is to die for. The slow burning terror oozes off the page and wraps itself around your heart and mind and squeezes until you scream. For fans of Stephen King, Lord of the Flies, and the Exorcist, this delectable tale is best read with the lights on.

- Jen


It Came From the Closet (Staff Pick)

Staff Pick Badge
It Came from the Closet: Queer Reflections on Horror By Joe Vallese (Editor), Carmen Maria Machado (Contribution by), Bruce Owens Grimm (Contribution by) Cover Image
By Joe Vallese (Editor), Carmen Maria Machado (Contribution by), Bruce Owens Grimm (Contribution by)
$25.95
ISBN: 9781952177798
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Feminist Press - October 4th, 2022

Last year I spent October reading each essay in this book and then watching the corresponding movie, and let me tell you it made for one of the most magical (and spookiest) Octobers I've had in a while. This book had me nodding along as I read essays that echoed my own thoughts (such as Carmen Maria Machado's take on Jennifer's Body) as well as seeing some old favorites in a completely new way.

- Katherine


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Horror