Josh

What We See When We Read

Staff Pick Logo
What We See When We Read Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780804171632
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Vintage - August 5th, 2014

An entertaining and fascinating look under the hood of the experience of reading. What, exactly, happens when we look at words on a page? How do words become images in our minds? Do we all see the same images when we read the same words? With images, quotes from other sources, and brilliant insights, Mendelsund reveals everything about reading we normally take for granted.

Josh

 


THE LITTLE TOWN WHERE TIME STOOD STILL

Staff Pick Logo
The Little Town Where Time Stood Still Cover Image
By Bohumil Hrabal, James Naughton (Translated by), Joshua Cohen (Introduction by)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781590178409
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: NYRB Classics - June 30th, 2015

Hrabal’s two linked novels feature two of the most exuberant and captivating characters I’ve encountered in recent memory. One, the wife of a brewery manager, has the vigor of a Austro­Hungarian Whitman (if you can imagine that) and the other, the brewery manager’s brother, is a strutting and boasting locals-only Don Quixote. An absolute joy to read.

JOSH

 


THE FAMILIAR, VOLUME 1: ONE RAINY DAY IN MAY

Staff Pick Logo
The Familiar, Volume 1: One Rainy Day in May Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9780375714948
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Pantheon - May 12th, 2015

Danielewski uses everything in his visionary storytelling arsenal in this first volume of his epic serial novel, THE FAMILIAR, but, despite all of the visual and linguistic fireworks, all the untranslated text and timestamps, Danielewski is telling a moving story of making your way in a complex and confusing world. A young heart beats for a better world. A young girl wants to save a kitten. Who can’t relate to that?

JOSH

 


THE STORY OF MY TEETH

Staff Pick Logo
The Story of My Teeth Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781566894098
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Coffee House Press - September 15th, 2015

Written in collaboration with the workers at a Mexican juice factory, featuring a delightfully delusional auctioneer, bending styles, playing with references, and challenging the idea of translation, The Story of My Teeth is unlike anything you’ve ever read. With this brilliant, weird, zany second novel, Luiselli has solidified her place as one of the most interesting and imaginative minds putting words on paper today.

JOSH

 


Milk Bar Life

Staff Pick Logo
Milk Bar Life: Recipes & Stories Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9780770435103
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Clarkson Potter - April 7th, 2015

This is not a cookbook. This is a compendium of the dark arts. Kimchi Cheez-Its. Blue Cheese Pretzels. Tang Toast. With quick desserts, to full meals, to eyebrow-raising apps, to snacks perfect for nights of questionable decision making, this book is one of the most exciting and interesting collections of recipes out there.

 

Josh

 


BAN EN BANLIEUE

Staff Pick Logo
Ban En Banlieue Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781937658243
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Nightboat Books - January 6th, 2015

This dense and beautiful book touches a wide range of topics including gender, race, violence, and art, taking the first few moments of a riot and meditating and expanding on them until the moment touches so much more. The act of creation, of poetry, of storytelling is the centerpiece of Kapil’s brilliant book, so I highly recommend this for writers and other artists.

JOSH

 


THE ART OF FLIGHT

Staff Pick Logo
The Art of Flight Cover Image
By Sergio Pitol, George Henson (Translator), Enrique Vila-Matas (Introduction by)
$15.95
ISBN: 9781941920060
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Deep Vellum Publishing - March 17th, 2015

A meditation on travel, literature, writing, politics and culture, The Art of Flight is the long overdue introduction of one of the great living Mexican writers to American readers. Part memoir, part travelogue, part something else, this book is a must for writers and others interested in creativity or thoughtful considerations of ways of being. Also great for fans of The Empathy Exams, The Argonauts, and, oddly, Knaussgaard's My Struggle.

Josh

 


THE FORCE OF WHAT’S POSSIBLE

Staff Pick Logo
The Force of What's Possible: Writers on Accessibility & the Avant-Garde Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9781937658274
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Nightboat Books - December 1st, 2014

This anthology collects the answers, explorations, philosophies, poetic wanderings, prosaic wonderings of some of our best writers in prose and poetry as they grapple with the idea of the avant-garde in contemporary literature. A must have for any reader looking to stay on the cutting edge of today’s writing, while peering over the edge at whatever the future of literature might hold.

Josh


HAUSFRAU

Staff Pick Logo
Hausfrau Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780812997538
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Random House - March 17th, 2015

Though it may seem based in a tired plot, (bored housewife has affairs), Hausfrau is a crackling and original work. Essbaum's sharpness, originality, and vitality of imagery exploded the quiet (even quietly desperate) and mundane moments of the protagonist’s perpetual wallow, scattering the shrapnel of all too familiar images to distant corners of intellectual and emotional exploration.

Josh


Signs Preceding the End of the World

Staff Pick Logo
Signs Preceding the End of the World Cover Image
By Yuri Herrera, Lisa Dillman (Translator)
$13.95
ISBN: 9781908276421
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: And Other Stories - March 10th, 2015

If you start highlighting what stuns you about Yuri Herrara’s debut novel in English, Signs Preceding the End of the World, every page will be mottled with fluorescent lines. Herrera writes in prose that feels like you are standing on both sides of the uncanny valley while something beautiful happens below and above you, creating a delectable unease, cut through with the simple joy of precise and surprising images. Herrara will draw the obvious comparisons to Roberto Bolano, but Signs Preceding the End of World should also find a should also find a home next to Jesse Ball and Italo Calvino.

 

Josh

 


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Josh