June 2014

Time Present and Time Past

Staff Pick Badge
Time Present, and Time Past Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781609452070
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Europa Editions - May 6th, 2014

I loved this book about middle class Irish life just before the economic crash of 2008. Fintan Buckley has a loving family all working through their pasts and present in different ways. His interest in auto chrome photography leads him to hallucinatory experiences blending time and emotion. The writing is lyrical, smooth and economical and the characters are so well-drawn that I feel like I could turn around and see them on the street. I need to read more of Deirdre Madden’s books!

Marie


A Country Year

Staff Pick Badge
A Country Year: Living the Questions Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780395967010
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Mariner Books - April 26th, 1999

Sue Hubbell spent years running a commercial beekeeping operation from her farm in the Ozarks, and when she wasn't tending her hives, she noticed everything, from bugs to bears. Perfect for fans of Animal, Vegetable, Miracle.

Sarah


The Year Without Summer: 1816

Staff Pick Badge
The Year Without Summer: 1816 and the Volcano That Darkened the World and Changed History Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250042750
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - March 11th, 2014

An astounding study in climate change in the aftermath of a monster volcanic eruption (10 times the force of Krakatoa). This single natural event had world-wide consequences: New England blizzards in June; European food riots; panicking establishment of fringe religious sects; mass population shifts; even the composition of Mary Shelley's Frankenstein.  What a year!

Gary


Faces in the Crowd

Staff Pick Badge
Faces in the Crowd Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781566893541
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Coffee House Press - May 13th, 2014

Faces in the Crowd is a subtle, sophisticated examination of identity, authenticity and poetry. The narrator, a young married writer and mother of two, shares her struggles to write a novel about an obscure Mexican poet and the novel in progress, while remembering the time her life when she became obsessed with him. Luiselli braids the three narrative currents into a brilliant meditation on the nature of creation. Translation hoax. Ghosts on the subway. The demonstrative vocabulary of a clever toddler. The mix of fact and fiction on the page and in the mind. With her first novel, Luiselli has established herself as a brilliant explorer of voice, self, and art.   


Josh


The Static Herd

Staff Pick Badge
The Static Herd Cover Image
$12.00
ISBN: 9781940853031
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Calamari Press - May 2014

This debut book of poetry and art is a beautiful miasma; an atmosphere, an idea, and a lexicon that envelopes you. Dark without being morbid, its words and images creep into your consciousness and settle into a pensive, persistent, and brilliant whisper. A fantastic debut from a wonderfully talented poet and artist.

Josh


Red or Dead

Staff Pick Badge
Red or Dead: A Novel Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781612193687
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Melville House - May 27th, 2014

A towering novel about a towering figure, the legendary Liverpool soccer coach Bill Shankly. The rhythm and relentlessness of the prose captures as closely as I’ve ever read the feel and intensity of soccer, making this one of the greatest works sports fiction I’ve ever read. A city. A soccer team. A coach. A hero. A major achievement.


Josh


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - June 2014