Katie

White is for Witching

Staff Pick Badge
White is for Witching Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781594633072
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - February 4th, 2014

The line between the supernatural and the imagined becomes increasingly unclear in this surreal, Gothic coming of age story that grapples with mental illness, identity, loss, and institutional racism. Gorgeous poetic prose and an overwhelmingly eerie, haunting atmosphere sucked me in and made this book stick with me long after I finished reading.

Katie


I Capture the Castle

Staff Pick Badge
I Capture the Castle Cover Image
$14.39
ISBN: 9780312201654
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - March 15th, 1999

Set in a crumbling English castle populated by a quirky and delightful cast of characters, the diary entries of the witty, charismatic, and "consciously naive" Cassandra Mortmain make up a coming of age story so utterly charming that I couldn't stop smiling while reading.

Katie


Heap House

Staff Pick Badge
Heap House: Book One Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781468309539
Availability: Hard to Find--Contact us for More Info
Published: Amulet Books - October 15th, 2014

Fantastically creepy and strange. Carey creates a darkly funny, clever and macabre tale of two misfit orphans each owned in different ways by Heap House, punctuated by gloomy Edward Gorey-style portraits of the house's many inhabitants. Perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket, Neil Gaiman and Roald Dahl.

Katie


City of Thieves

Staff Pick Badge
City of Thieves: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780452295292
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Penguin Books - March 31st, 2009

During the Nazi siege of Leningrad, an unlikely duo have one chance to save themselves from execution - find a dozen eggs for a powerful Soviet colonel to use in his daughter's wedding cake. City of Thieves is a gripping adventure and coming of age story that ricochets between comedy and tragedy on a single page.

Katie


Conversion

Staff Pick Badge
Conversion Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780399167775
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - July 1st, 2014

A compelling mystery that blends contemporary and historical fiction, Conversion draws from true events both recent and far past. Parallel stories of the Salem witch hysteria and a mysterious illness sweeping through high school senior Colleen's prestigious Catholic school combine to form an absorbing narrative that is chilling, satirical, and at times funny, keeping the reader second guessing what's really going on all the way through.

 

Katie


California

Staff Pick Badge
California: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780316250818
Availability: Hard to Find--Contact us for More Info
Published: Little, Brown and Company - July 8th, 2014

In a not so distant future, young married couple Frida and Cal have fled a ruined Los Angeles and built a fragile new life on their own in the wilderness, content with only each other until Frida discovers she is pregnant. Their sudden reentry into community forces Cal and Frida to reexamine their ideas about themselves, each other, and the strength of their principles when their unborn child's safety is at stake. California is a gripping read and the future that Lepucki imagines seems frighteningly plausible and close at hand.

Katie


Lexicon

Staff Pick Badge
Lexicon: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143125426
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - April 1st, 2014

Kidnapped from the airport and told that he is in grave danger, Wil finds himself on the run from the mysterious and menacing "poets," while teenager Emily escapes homelessness with an invitation to a prestigious and exclusive school that teaches much more than your average subjects. The two parallel stories eventually converge as Barry reveals more and more pieces of the puzzle in an action-packed thriller with the power of words and language at its center.

Katie


The Thickety: A Path Begins

Staff Pick Badge
The Thickety: A Path Begins Cover Image
By J. A. White, Andrea Offermann (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062257246
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - May 6th, 2014

After her mother is accused of witchcraft Kara tries to hold her family together. But when Kara is lured into the cursed forest of the Thickety, she finds an object of immense power and is forced to face the truth about herself and her mother's past. Dark, creepy, and action-packed, with an ending that will leave readers anxious for the next installment.

Katie


Red Rising

Staff Pick Badge
Red Rising (Red Rising Series #1) Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780345539786
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Del Rey - January 28th, 2014

Finally something creative and unexpected in the overdone dystopian genre, Red Rising is a cross between dystopian, science fiction and epic war fantasy that packs a punch. Some parallels to The Hunger Games are there, but this book stands alone - darker, more intense, more emotional and ambitious. I couldn't put it down.

Katie


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Katie