Katie

Slaughterhouse 90210

Staff Pick Badge
Slaughterhouse 90210 Cover Image
Not Available
ISBN: 9781250061102
Availability: Out of Print
Published: Flatiron Books - October 6th, 2015

What does Leo Tolstoy have to do with Orange is the New Black? Or Sylvia Plath with The Bachelor? Maris Kreizman's juxtapositions of great literature with pop culture icons are funny and clever, but also intuitively true on a deeper level the stories told through "high" and "low" culture may not be that different at their core. A great gift for the film, TV, and book lovers on your list.

Katie

 


The Rest of Us Just Live Here

Staff Pick Badge
The Rest of Us Just Live Here Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062403162
Availability: Available at Wholesaler
Published: Quill Tree Books - October 6th, 2015

While the indie kids battle mythical enemies yet again, Mikey and his friends are just trying to navigate their final semester of high school and make it through unscathed. Patrick Ness has done it again with this quirky, clever, heartfelt story that proves you don't have to be "the chosen one" to be extraordinary.

Katie

 


THE ONLY ONES

Staff Pick Badge
The Only Ones Cover Image
$16.99
It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Information
ISBN: 9781937512279
Published: Two Dollar Radio - March 10th, 2015

One of the best and most unique near-future dystopias I've read. "I" (short for Inez) is an unforgettable narrator her voice is raw, piercing and utterly engaging, evolving from her initial desensitized deadpan as she learns to care for baby Ani, the unexpected result of a job gone awry. Deeply human speculative fiction, perfect for fans of Margaret Atwood.

Katie

 


FOOD RULES

Staff Pick Badge
Food Rules: An Eater's Manual Cover Image
By Michael Pollan, Maira Kalman (Illustrator)
$20.00
ISBN: 9780143124108
Availability: Available at Wholesaler
Published: Penguin Books - October 29th, 2013

No trendy, complicated diet tricks – Pollan's food rules can be summed up by three guiding principles - "Eat food. Not too much. Mostly plants." This special edition features additional food wisdom and delightfully charming illustrations by Maira Kalman that make this a book to return to again and again.

Katie


White is for Witching

Staff Pick Badge
White is for Witching Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781594633072
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Riverhead Books - February 4th, 2014

The line between the supernatural and the imagined becomes increasingly unclear in this surreal, Gothic coming of age story that grapples with mental illness, identity, loss, and institutional racism. Gorgeous poetic prose and an overwhelmingly eerie, haunting atmosphere sucked me in and made this book stick with me long after I finished reading.

Katie


I Capture the Castle

Staff Pick Badge
I Capture the Castle Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780312201654
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - March 15th, 1999

Set in a crumbling English castle populated by a quirky and delightful cast of characters, the diary entries of the witty, charismatic, and "consciously naive" Cassandra Mortmain make up a coming of age story so utterly charming that I couldn't stop smiling while reading.

Katie


Heap House

Staff Pick Badge
Heap House: Book One Cover Image
$16.99
It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Information
ISBN: 9781468309539
Published: Amulet Books - October 15th, 2014

Fantastically creepy and strange. Carey creates a darkly funny, clever and macabre tale of two misfit orphans each owned in different ways by Heap House, punctuated by gloomy Edward Gorey-style portraits of the house's many inhabitants. Perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket, Neil Gaiman and Roald Dahl.

Katie


A Monster Calls

Staff Pick Badge
A Monster Calls: Inspired by an idea from Siobhan Dowd Cover Image
By Patrick Ness, Jim Kay (Illustrator)
$12.00
ISBN: 9780763660659
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Candlewick - March 12th, 2013

Based on the final book idea of Siobhan Dowd, A Monster Calls is a beautifully written and illustrated tale of grief, loss, and letting go. A powerful and incredibly moving modern fairy tale.

 

Katie


City of Thieves

Staff Pick Badge
City of Thieves: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780452295292
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Penguin Books - March 31st, 2009

During the Nazi siege of Leningrad, an unlikely duo have one chance to save themselves from execution - find a dozen eggs for a powerful Soviet colonel to use in his daughter's wedding cake. City of Thieves is a gripping adventure and coming of age story that ricochets between comedy and tragedy on a single page.

Katie


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Katie