May 2013

Bunker Hill

Staff Pick Logo
Bunker Hill: A City, a Siege, a Revolution Cover Image
$32.95
ISBN: 9780670025442
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Viking - April 30th, 2013

Philbrick’s clear and entertaining prose brings an old story to life. Live with our patriots and marvel at their heroism and foibles. Washington, Warren, Knox, Bunker Hill, Breed’s Hill and Battle Road. Loyalists, Generals, Admirals, and mad King George. Boston occupied and under siege! Enjoy and marvel at the exploits as Philbrick enthralls us – again!

Jane Jacobs


Daddy Long-Legs and Dear Enemy

Staff Pick Logo
Daddy-Long-Legs and Dear Enemy Cover Image
By Jean Webster, Elaine Showalter (Introduction by), Elaine Showalter (Notes by)
$16.00
ISBN: 9780143039068
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Penguin Classics - November 30th, 2004

This pair of hundred-year-old novels could almost have been written yesterday. In Daddy Long-Legs, an anonymous benefactor sends orphan Judy Abbott to college, and she sends him monthly updates on university life. In Dear Enemy, Judy's former classmate becomes an unwilling orphanage superintendent and surrogate mother to an ever-changing brood.

Sarah



Mountains Beyond Mountains YA Edition

Staff Pick Logo
Mountains Beyond Mountains (Adapted for Young People): The Quest of Dr. Paul Farmer,  A Man Who Would Cure the World Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780385743181
Availability: Hard to Find--Contact us for More Info
Published: Delacorte Books for Young Readers - April 9th, 2013

This adaptation of the adult bestseller is so well done that even adults will want to revisit the story about the work of Paul Farmer in Haiti and elsewhere. Tracy Kidder’s introduction to this younger version is pitch perfect, and the book settles on the essential story, only leaving out bits of some background info. Amazingly well done!

Carol


Aurorarama

Staff Pick Logo
Aurorarama: A Novel (The Mysteries of New Venice) Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781612191317
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Melville House - May 1st, 2012

By far, this is the best book of Sci Fi/Fantasy I've read in a while. Set above the arctic circle in the beautifully rendered city of New Venice, Aurorama is an adventure filled with political intrigue, romance, magic, and revolution. Strange drugs, weird music, Arctic Kangaroos, mystical Siamese twins, and Tesla coils, this beautifully written book will be a great read for fans of Dr. Who and The Night Circus. Did I mention the beauty? There are moments of prose in this book as beautiful as anything else being written now; as stunning as the aurora always hanging in the north above the action and adventure.

Josh


I Await the Devil's Coming

Staff Pick Logo
I Await the Devil's Coming (Neversink) Cover Image
By Mary MacLane, Jessa Crispin (Introduction by)
$16.00
ISBN: 9781612191942
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Melville House - March 19th, 2013

Equal parts Nietzsche, Emma Goldman, Oscar Wilde, and Dickinson/Whitman, Mary MacLane’s portrait of herself is an exuberant, daring, and brilliant book from a vibrant intellect. MacLane’s passion and philosophy might  raise a few contemporary eyebrows, but that she wrote this book when she was 19 years old in 1901 is just astonishing. 2013 might be the year this forgotten talent gets her due.

Josh


The Bromeliad Trilogy

Staff Pick Logo
The Bromeliad Trilogy: Truckers, Diggers, and Wings Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780060094935
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: HarperCollins - September 30th, 2003

Originally published individually as three books, this middle reader gem is a brilliant introduction for the young reader into Pratchett's subversive, clever and humorous fantasy.   Set in a department store and featuring a clan of nomes, it is part adventure, part satire and part parable and a whole lot of fun.   My tip of the hat to Terry Pratchett who is bravely facing the end of his writing career and will be sorely missed by fans of all ages.

 

Susannah


My Animals and Other Family

Staff Pick Logo
My Animals and Other Family Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781594205620
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Penguin Press - April 18th, 2013

British sports broadcaster and national treasure, Balding, leads us on a full gallop through the whole range of human emotions in this memoir of growing up in an usual household.  Her animals are mostly horses and dogs as her father trained racehorses for the Queen and she proves herself a skillful raconteur, spilling the beans on stories like time when she nearly hit Her Madge with a sausage.  Full of humor, self awareness and charm, I only hope a second volume picking up in 1990 is in the works.  


Susannah


Second Person Singular

Staff Pick Logo
Second Person Singular Cover Image
By Sayed Kashua, Mitch Ginsburg (Translator)
$16.00
ISBN: 9780802121202
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Grove Press - March 19th, 2013

I *loved* this page-turning, addictive story about the disguises two men wear for others and for themselves. An Arab-Israeli lawyer finds a love letter in a book and all of a sudden his perfect life falls apart. Turn the page for the story of a nameless Arab social worker who becomes the caretaker of a vegetative Jewish man. How, where and why they come together will surprise you and defy your expectations at every turn, make you smile and cry and break your heart. It's a winner!

Marie


Saltie, A Cookbook

Staff Pick Logo
Saltie: A Cookbook Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9781452103020
Availability: Hard to Find--Contact us for More Info
Published: Chronicle Books - October 10th, 2012

Saltie is a tiny sandwich shop in Brooklyn that my daughter adores. She gave me their cookbook for Christmas and to my delight, I savored each and every page.  It has the best focaccia recipe, made to cut into squares, split and use for sandwiches. There is homemade mayonnaise, pesto and pistou...all that will guarantee the most delectable sandwiches. If you think you know how to make eggs, you must read the recipes for Soft-Scrambled and Sunny Eggs Three Ways, even Hard Boiled and Pickled!!!  Buy it, read it, cook from it, you will be delighted.

Barbara


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - May 2013