Memoir

My Year of Running Dangerously

Staff Pick Badge
My Year of Running Dangerously: A Dad, a Daughter, and a Ridiculous Plan Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780399175473
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Blue Rider Press - October 6th, 2015

One man's (somewhat) harebrained decision to train for a marathon with his 18-year-old daughter results in a rekindled love for his family, running, and life. Foreman's prose is light hearted, funny, and informative. It's almost enough to make me want to get back on the trail myself!

Rebecca

 


Coming To My Senses

Staff Pick Badge
Coming to My Senses: A Story of Perfume, Pleasure, and an Unlikely Bride Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780143123385
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Penguin Books - June 25th, 2013

Harad's unexpected love affair with perfume is meandering, sensual, and captivating, with prose so rich you'll be able to smell the scents on the page.I (a perfume skeptic) loved this memoir enough to get curious about perfume myself!

Rebecca

 


THE SHEPHERD’S LIFE

Staff Pick Badge
The Shepherd's Life: Modern Dispatches from an Ancient Landscape Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250060242
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Flatiron Books - May 12th, 2015

In prose as sparse and rugged as the Lakeland fells, Rebanks takes us through the year of sheep farming in this idyllic corner of Britain. A memoir of the hardships of the farming life, it is also a moving testament to the value of tradition, rural community, and shared land over tourism and cultural urbanism.

SUSANNAH

 


THE PRINCE OF LOS COCUYOS

Staff Pick Badge
The Prince of los Cocuyos: A Miami Childhood Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062313775
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Ecco - June 23rd, 2015

The inaugural poet Blanco’s memoir of his childhood in Miami is both a quintessentially American immigrant family story and his own singular story of his awakening to his identity as a young gay man. Warm, tenderhearted, and often hilarious, Blanco captures the unique essence of the Cuban exile community in which he grew up.

DALE

 


THE ART OF FLIGHT

Staff Pick Badge
The Art of Flight Cover Image
By Sergio Pitol, George Henson (Translator), Enrique Vila-Matas (Introduction by)
$15.95
ISBN: 9781941920060
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Deep Vellum Publishing - March 17th, 2015

A meditation on travel, literature, writing, politics and culture, The Art of Flight is the long overdue introduction of one of the great living Mexican writers to American readers. Part memoir, part travelogue, part something else, this book is a must for writers and others interested in creativity or thoughtful considerations of ways of being. Also great for fans of The Empathy Exams, The Argonauts, and, oddly, Knaussgaard's My Struggle.

Josh

 


HAMMER HEAD

Staff Pick Badge
Hammer Head: The Making of a Carpenter Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9780393239133
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - March 16th, 2015

WARNING: This book will make you want to quit your job! MacLaughlin describes how she tired of her desk job, and without experience responded to a craigslist job posting to be a contractor's/carpenter's assistant. This is an excellent blend of various styles of essays, and it's fun to read about the Boston area homes she has worked in. My favorite aspect is that MacLaughlin doesn't stress 'do what you love' so much as 'do what feels important'.

Heather


THE FOLDED CLOCK

Staff Pick Badge
The Folded Clock: A Diary Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780385538985
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Doubleday Books - April 7th, 2015

Through smart, funny, irreverent, and thoughtful diary entries, Julavits turns the mundane into mini meditations on self, art, family, and the passing of time (and occasionally reality TV and Maine yard sale politics). I was constantly thinking yes, exactly that or laughing out loud while reading.

Katie


Leaving Before the Rains Come

Staff Pick Badge
Leaving Before the Rains Come Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781594205866
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Penguin Press - January 22nd, 2015

Fans of Alexandra Fuller will delight in hearing about the latest difficult chapter in her life which is told with the same candor and humor as her previous memoirs. And for new readers, you are in for a treat. Fuller has a unique ability to grab your heart and not let go.

Carol


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Memoir