Memoir

Rosalie Lightning

Staff Pick Badge
Rosalie Lightning: A Graphic Memoir Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250049940
Availability: On Order at the Warehouse
Published: St. Martin's Press - January 12th, 2016

A stunning new graphic memoir of loss and grief. Tom Hart (Hutch Owen) and Leela Corman (Unterzakhn) are two cartoonists on the brink of financial ruin, planning a new start in Gainesville--until all their plans are blown apart by the abrupt death of their two-year-old daughter. This book wrecked me for days.

Alexander


Something New

In her newest memoir, Lucy Knisley chronicles her experiences dealing with the wedding industry and all the social and cultural expectations around getting married. It's humorous and heartwarming, combining memoir, DIY, and criticism in one thoroughly enjoyable read -- especially if you're a 20- or 30-something with a mailbox full of invites.

Staff Pick Badge
Something New: Tales from a Makeshift Bride Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781626722491
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - May 3rd, 2016

The Indian

Told in scraps of memories, visceral experiences, and excerpts from psychological reports, Jón recounts his childhood from an evolving perspective. Though isolated, and constantly pushed away (by family, schoolmates, friends) because of his strangeness, little Jón has admirable verve while retrospective Jón makes sure we laugh at the most dismal situations (setting a bedroom on fire, Dad's stinking barrel of fermenting meat and fish parts).

The Indian Cover Image
By Jón Gnarr, Lytton Smith (Translator)
$14.95
ISBN: 9781941920121
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Deep Vellum Publishing - May 5th, 2015

My Year of Running Dangerously

Staff Pick Badge
My Year of Running Dangerously: A Dad, a Daughter, and a Ridiculous Plan Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780399175473
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Blue Rider Press - October 6th, 2015

One man's (somewhat) harebrained decision to train for a marathon with his 18-year-old daughter results in a rekindled love for his family, running, and life. Foreman's prose is light hearted, funny, and informative. It's almost enough to make me want to get back on the trail myself!

Rebecca

 


Coming To My Senses

Staff Pick Badge
Coming to My Senses: A Story of Perfume, Pleasure, and an Unlikely Bride Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780143123385
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Penguin Books - June 25th, 2013

Harad's unexpected love affair with perfume is meandering, sensual, and captivating, with prose so rich you'll be able to smell the scents on the page.I (a perfume skeptic) loved this memoir enough to get curious about perfume myself!

Rebecca

 


THE SHEPHERD’S LIFE

Staff Pick Badge
The Shepherd's Life: Modern Dispatches from an Ancient Landscape Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250060242
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Flatiron Books - May 12th, 2015

In prose as sparse and rugged as the Lakeland fells, Rebanks takes us through the year of sheep farming in this idyllic corner of Britain. A memoir of the hardships of the farming life, it is also a moving testament to the value of tradition, rural community, and shared land over tourism and cultural urbanism.

SUSANNAH

 


THE PRINCE OF LOS COCUYOS

Staff Pick Badge
The Prince of los Cocuyos: A Miami Childhood Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062313775
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Ecco - June 23rd, 2015

The inaugural poet Blanco’s memoir of his childhood in Miami is both a quintessentially American immigrant family story and his own singular story of his awakening to his identity as a young gay man. Warm, tenderhearted, and often hilarious, Blanco captures the unique essence of the Cuban exile community in which he grew up.

DALE

 


THE ART OF FLIGHT

Staff Pick Badge
The Art of Flight Cover Image
By Sergio Pitol, George Henson (Translator), Enrique Vila-Matas (Introduction by)
$15.95
ISBN: 9781941920060
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Deep Vellum Publishing - March 17th, 2015

A meditation on travel, literature, writing, politics and culture, The Art of Flight is the long overdue introduction of one of the great living Mexican writers to American readers. Part memoir, part travelogue, part something else, this book is a must for writers and others interested in creativity or thoughtful considerations of ways of being. Also great for fans of The Empathy Exams, The Argonauts, and, oddly, Knaussgaard's My Struggle.

Josh

 


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Memoir