Memoir

As You Wish

Staff Pick Badge
As You Wish: Inconceivable Tales from the Making of The Princess Bride Cover Image
By Cary Elwes, Joe Layden, Rob Reiner (Foreword by)
$27.00
ISBN: 9781476764023
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Atria Books - October 14th, 2014

Cary Elwes delivers a memoir so delightful it can only be compared to true wuv (or a nice MLT). Fencing, fighting, torture, revenge, giants, monsters, chases, escapes, true love, miracles, up to and including the ROUSes... This book is an INCONCEIVABLY PERFECT holiday pick for fans of The Princess Bride. Run, don't walk.


Rebecca


Can't We Talk About Something More Pleasant

Staff Pick Badge
Can't We Talk about Something More Pleasant?: A Memoir Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781608198061
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Bloomsbury USA - May 6th, 2014

This graphic novel provides a first-hand look at the awkward initial conversations with aging parents about disability, assisted living, and death and takes the reader through the struggle to come to terms with the parent-child relationship after the parents are gone. While the specifics of Chast’s story are personal, the journey is universal, and the overall feeling from reading Can't We Talk About Something More Pleasant is that of having a good friend nearby during this difficult time of life.

Porter Square Book Club


Testament of Youth

Staff Pick Badge
Testament of Youth Cover Image
By Vera Brittain, Mark Bostridge (Introduction by), Shirley Williams (Preface by)
$21.00
ISBN: 9780143039235
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Penguin Classics - May 31st, 2005

One of the most heartrending and “romantic” memoirs of World War I. Testament of Youth is a classic, first published in 1933, among the literature of  the Great War, in its description of the impact of the war on women and the middle class. The unimaginable loss and sacrifice of a generation is rendered  beautifully through Brittain’s words. Her experiences as a volunteer nurse (VAD) in the armed services, a university student before and after the war, and a  tireless advocate for peace and feminist causes make this a defining and timeless work. A film version of Brittain’s work releases in the UK  in 2015.

Ellen


Let the Tornado Come

Staff Pick Badge
Let the Tornado Come: A Memoir Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9781476734866
Availability: Hard to Find--Contact us for More Info
Published: Simon & Schuster - June 24th, 2014

Chin details a troubled youth that led to agonizing panic attacks as an adult. She learns to manage fears of dying, highways --just being alone-- with psychological therapy and a love of horses. Beautifully-written and inspiring.

Jennifer


Delancey

Staff Pick Badge
Delancey: A Man, a Woman, a Restaurant, a Marriage Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9781451655094
Availability: Hard to Find--Contact us for More Info
Published: Simon & Schuster - May 6th, 2014

I have spent the loveliest two weeks reading Molly Wizenberg’s memoirs – Delancey featured here, and the equally good A Homemade Life. Both are as much cookbooks as memoirs, with a recipe tied to every family story and memory. These  will charm  readers and cooks alike.

Robin​


A Country Year

Staff Pick Badge
A Country Year: Living the Questions Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780395967010
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Mariner Books - April 26th, 1999

Sue Hubbell spent years running a commercial beekeeping operation from her farm in the Ozarks, and when she wasn't tending her hives, she noticed everything, from bugs to bears. Perfect for fans of Animal, Vegetable, Miracle.

Sarah


New Life, New Instructions

Staff Pick Badge
New Life, No Instructions Cover Image
$23.00
ISBN: 9781400069545
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Random House - April 2014

Caldwell gives us another installment of memoir, here confronting her physical deterioration resulting from her childhood polio and the grief of yet another personal loss, this time the death of her mother. But passage through these crises brings unexpected transformations. What makes her prose so compelling is the depth of feeling she brings to her clear-eyed observations of self.

Dale


Hyperbole and a Half

Staff Pick Badge
Hyperbole and a Half: Unfortunate Situations, Flawed Coping Mechanisms, Mayhem, and Other Things That Happened Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781451666175
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Gallery Books - October 29th, 2013

For fans of the wildly popular blog of the same name, this book needs no introduction. For ones that haven't heard of it, take notice! Alie Brosh combines naive art with an expert eye for perspective and expression, with hilarious, hyper-personal observations.  There may be many blogs-cum-books out there, but this is certainly the most successful this year.

Jill


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Memoir