Memoir

Coming To My Senses

Staff Pick Badge
Coming to My Senses: A Story of Perfume, Pleasure, and an Unlikely Bride Cover Image
$18.00
It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Information
ISBN: 9780143123385
Published: Penguin Books - June 25th, 2013

Harad's unexpected love affair with perfume is meandering, sensual, and captivating, with prose so rich you'll be able to smell the scents on the page.I (a perfume skeptic) loved this memoir enough to get curious about perfume myself!

Rebecca

 


THE SHEPHERD’S LIFE

Staff Pick Badge
The Shepherd's Life: Modern Dispatches from an Ancient Landscape Cover Image
$25.99
It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Information
ISBN: 9781250060242
Published: Flatiron Books - May 12th, 2015

In prose as sparse and rugged as the Lakeland fells, Rebanks takes us through the year of sheep farming in this idyllic corner of Britain. A memoir of the hardships of the farming life, it is also a moving testament to the value of tradition, rural community, and shared land over tourism and cultural urbanism.

SUSANNAH

 


THE PRINCE OF LOS COCUYOS

Staff Pick Badge
The Prince of los Cocuyos: A Miami Childhood Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062313775
Availability: Available at Wholesaler
Because of how it is sold to us we cannot accept a return of this title.
Published: Ecco - June 23rd, 2015

The inaugural poet Blanco’s memoir of his childhood in Miami is both a quintessentially American immigrant family story and his own singular story of his awakening to his identity as a young gay man. Warm, tenderhearted, and often hilarious, Blanco captures the unique essence of the Cuban exile community in which he grew up.

DALE

 


THE ART OF FLIGHT

Staff Pick Badge
The Art of Flight Cover Image
By Sergio Pitol, George Henson (Translator), Enrique Vila-Matas (Introduction by)
$15.95
ISBN: 9781941920060
Availability: Available at Wholesaler
Published: Deep Vellum Publishing - March 17th, 2015

A meditation on travel, literature, writing, politics and culture, The Art of Flight is the long overdue introduction of one of the great living Mexican writers to American readers. Part memoir, part travelogue, part something else, this book is a must for writers and others interested in creativity or thoughtful considerations of ways of being. Also great for fans of The Empathy Exams, The Argonauts, and, oddly, Knaussgaard's My Struggle.

Josh

 


HAMMER HEAD

Staff Pick Badge
Hammer Head: The Making of a Carpenter Cover Image
$24.95
It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Information
ISBN: 9780393239133
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - March 16th, 2015

WARNING: This book will make you want to quit your job! MacLaughlin describes how she tired of her desk job, and without experience responded to a craigslist job posting to be a contractor's/carpenter's assistant. This is an excellent blend of various styles of essays, and it's fun to read about the Boston area homes she has worked in. My favorite aspect is that MacLaughlin doesn't stress 'do what you love' so much as 'do what feels important'.

Heather


Can't We Talk About Something More Pleasant

Staff Pick Badge
Can't We Talk about Something More Pleasant?: A Memoir Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781608198061
Availability: Available at Wholesaler
Published: Bloomsbury USA - May 6th, 2014

This graphic novel provides a first-hand look at the awkward initial conversations with aging parents about disability, assisted living, and death and takes the reader through the struggle to come to terms with the parent-child relationship after the parents are gone. While the specifics of Chast’s story are personal, the journey is universal, and the overall feeling from reading Can't We Talk About Something More Pleasant is that of having a good friend nearby during this difficult time of life.

Porter Square Book Club


Testament of Youth

Staff Pick Badge
Testament of Youth Cover Image
By Vera Brittain, Mark Bostridge (Introduction by), Shirley Williams (Preface by)
$22.00
ISBN: 9780143039235
Availability: Available at Wholesaler
Published: Penguin Classics - May 31st, 2005

One of the most heartrending and “romantic” memoirs of World War I. Testament of Youth is a classic, first published in 1933, among the literature of  the Great War, in its description of the impact of the war on women and the middle class. The unimaginable loss and sacrifice of a generation is rendered  beautifully through Brittain’s words. Her experiences as a volunteer nurse (VAD) in the armed services, a university student before and after the war, and a  tireless advocate for peace and feminist causes make this a defining and timeless work. A film version of Brittain’s work releases in the UK  in 2015.

Ellen


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Memoir