Memoir

Can't We Talk About Something More Pleasant

Staff Pick Badge
Can't We Talk about Something More Pleasant?: A Memoir By Roz Chast Cover Image
Not Available
ISBN: 9781608198061
Availability: Available to Order from Supplier: Arrives at Store in a Week(ish)
Published: Bloomsbury USA - May 6th, 2014

This graphic novel provides a first-hand look at the awkward initial conversations with aging parents about disability, assisted living, and death and takes the reader through the struggle to come to terms with the parent-child relationship after the parents are gone. While the specifics of Chast’s story are personal, the journey is universal, and the overall feeling from reading Can't We Talk About Something More Pleasant is that of having a good friend nearby during this difficult time of life.

Porter Square Book Club


Testament of Youth

Staff Pick Badge
Testament of Youth By Vera Brittain, Mark Bostridge (Introduction by), Shirley Williams (Preface by) Cover Image
By Vera Brittain, Mark Bostridge (Introduction by), Shirley Williams (Preface by)
Not Available
ISBN: 9780143039235
Availability: Available to Order from Supplier: Arrives at Store in a Week(ish)
Published: Penguin Classics - May 31st, 2005

One of the most heartrending and “romantic” memoirs of World War I. Testament of Youth is a classic, first published in 1933, among the literature of  the Great War, in its description of the impact of the war on women and the middle class. The unimaginable loss and sacrifice of a generation is rendered  beautifully through Brittain’s words. Her experiences as a volunteer nurse (VAD) in the armed services, a university student before and after the war, and a  tireless advocate for peace and feminist causes make this a defining and timeless work. A film version of Brittain’s work releases in the UK  in 2015.

Ellen


Delancey

Staff Pick Badge
Delancey: A Man, a Woman, a Restaurant, a Marriage By Molly Wizenberg Cover Image
Not Available
ISBN: 9781451655094
Availability: Unavailable
Published: Simon & Schuster - May 6th, 2014

I have spent the loveliest two weeks reading Molly Wizenberg’s memoirs – Delancey featured here, and the equally good A Homemade Life. Both are as much cookbooks as memoirs, with a recipe tied to every family story and memory. These  will charm  readers and cooks alike.

Robin​


A Country Year

Staff Pick Badge
A Country Year: Living the Questions By Sue Hubbell Cover Image
Not Available
ISBN: 9780395967010
Availability: Available to Order from Supplier: Arrives at Store in a Week(ish)
Published: Mariner Books - April 26th, 1999

Sue Hubbell spent years running a commercial beekeeping operation from her farm in the Ozarks, and when she wasn't tending her hives, she noticed everything, from bugs to bears. Perfect for fans of Animal, Vegetable, Miracle.

Sarah


What I Talk About When I Talk About Running

Staff Pick Badge
What I Talk About When I Talk About Running: A Memoir (Vintage International) By Haruki Murakami Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780307389831
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Vintage - August 11th, 2009

An unexpected gem of a meditation on writing, aging, running, and the intersection of the three. Read this book if you are a writer or a runner, both or neither.

Rebecca


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Memoir