Middle Grade

Shadow Magic

Staff Pick Badge
Shadow Magic (A Shadow Magic Novel #1) Cover Image
By Joshua Khan, Ben Hibon (Illustrator), Ben Hibon (Cover design or artwork by)
$6.99
It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Information
ISBN: 9781484737880
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 14th, 2017

 

Perfect for fans of Rick Riordan, the Shadow Magic series is a perfect fantasy read: it has a treacherous new world, zombies, elemental powers, giant bats, and a girl who can talk to ghosts. What more could you want?

Caleb


Queen of the Sea

Staff Pick Badge
Queen of the Sea Cover Image
By Dylan Meconis, Dylan Meconis (Illustrator)
$24.99
ISBN: 9781536204988
Availability: Available at Wholesaler
Published: Walker Books US - June 25th, 2019

 

In this historical graphic novel, Margaret seeks to learn who she is and why she arrived at the island convent she calls home. When the banished Queen Eleanor of Albion arrives on the island, Margaret realizes the past is more complicated than she thought. Meconis' beautiful watercolor illustrations will captive readers while her details on history and folklore enrich this immersive feat of storytelling.

Marika


Cilla Lee-Jenkins the Epic Story

Staff Pick Badge
Cilla Lee-Jenkins: The Epic Story Cover Image
By Susan Tan, Dana Wulfekotte (Illustrator)
$16.99
It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Information
ISBN: 9781250183637
Published: Roaring Brook Press - March 26th, 2019

 

Funny and sweet, with endearing, complex characters, this book will steal your heart. A great read aloud for younger elementary readers or a solid novel for 3rd-5th graders looking for something good enough to read under desks, on top of the monkey bars, or with a flashlight.

Marika


Sanity and Tallulah

Staff Pick Badge
Sanity & Tallulah Cover Image
By Molly Brooks, Molly Brooks (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781368022804
Availability: Available at Wholesaler
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 16th, 2018

 

A fun story about two smart girls in their space station home with their three-headed kitten named Princess, Sparkle, and Destroyer of Worlds. What's not to love? I really enjoyed the relationship treatment in the story, both with the girls' friendship, their familial relationships, and the relationships amongst coworkers on the station.

Stacey


DeadEndia

Staff Pick Badge
DeadEndia: The Watcher's Test: Book 1 Cover Image
$14.95
It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Information
ISBN: 9781910620472
Published: Nobrow - August 7th, 2018

 

If you put the Muppets in a theme park and added the heart of Steven Universe and some paranormal energy, you'd get Deadendia. It's an awesome mixture of humor, friendship, self-discovery, and drama with flawed characters you will love as much as your best friends. Heart-warming, heartbreaking, heart-pounding, and heartfelt!

Marika


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Middle Grade