Middle Grade

Brown Girl Dreaming

Staff Pick Badge
Brown Girl Dreaming Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780399252518
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - August 28th, 2014

Brown Girl Dreaming is SUCH a wonderful, atmospheric book. I really learned to value poetry as a means to create a nuanced world, rich with detail, yet spare in words. I wanted to stay with her and never leave because she has created a living, breathing childhood. Not to be missed.

Carol


Heap House

Staff Pick Badge
Heap House: Book One Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781468309539
Availability: Hard to Find--Contact us for More Info
Published: Harry N. Abrams - October 15th, 2014

Fantastically creepy and strange. Carey creates a darkly funny, clever and macabre tale of two misfit orphans each owned in different ways by Heap House, punctuated by gloomy Edward Gorey-style portraits of the house's many inhabitants. Perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket, Neil Gaiman and Roald Dahl.

Katie


The Perfect Place

Staff Pick Badge
The Perfect Place Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780547255194
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Clarion Books - November 4th, 2014

It can't be a coincidence that Great-Aunt Grace's initials spell GAG. Treasure knows it's the beginning of a disaster when her mother leaves her in Black Lake, Virginia for the summer. She'll be happy to move on as soon as her parents find a new place to live. But somehow, despite everything from Vacation Bible School catastrophes to cleaning every inch of GAG's candy store, Black Lake turns out to be hard to hate -- and it just might be the perfect place for Treasure's family after all.

Sarah


Vango

Staff Pick Badge
Vango: Between Sky and Earth Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780763671969
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Candlewick - October 14th, 2014

There is never a dull moment in this sprawling adventure story. From Vango’s mysterious early life of privilege to his young life on a deserted Aeolian island, to trips on a dirigible, back and forth around Europe, with Russians and the French Police and others in pursuit. This is a fresh, funny, amazingly ingenious and entertaining adventure that will keep readers glued to the pages

Carol


Brown Girl Dreaming

Staff Pick Badge
Brown Girl Dreaming Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780399252518
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - August 28th, 2014

Brown Girl Dreaming is SUCH a wonderful, atmospheric book. I really learned to value poetry as a means to create a nuanced world, rich with detail, yet spare in words. I wanted to stay with her and never leave because she has created a living, breathing childhood. Not to be missed.

Carol


The Misadventures of the Family Fletcher

Staff Pick Badge
The Misadventures of the Family Fletcher Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780385376525
Availability: Hard to Find--Contact us for More Info
Published: Delacorte Press Books for Young Readers - July 22nd, 2014

Two dads, four brothers, and a fair bit of chaos keep the Fletcher family going. From school (Eli was excited about his gifted program until he got there) to crotchety neighbors (who have some good stories) to holidays (especially Halloween), join them for a busy year.

 

Sarah


The Thickety: A Path Begins

Staff Pick Badge
The Thickety: A Path Begins Cover Image
By J. A. White, Andrea Offermann (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062257246
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - May 6th, 2014

After her mother is accused of witchcraft Kara tries to hold her family together. But when Kara is lured into the cursed forest of the Thickety, she finds an object of immense power and is forced to face the truth about herself and her mother's past. Dark, creepy, and action-packed, with an ending that will leave readers anxious for the next installment.

Katie


Emma Tupper's Diary

Staff Pick Badge
Emma Tupper's Diary Cover Image
$12.00
ISBN: 9781618730633
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Big Mouth House - March 4th, 2014

Emma spends the summer with her cousins in Scotland, where there are rumors of a monster living in the loch. Emma and her cousins decide to fake a monster of their own, in order to attract tourists -- and that's when things get complicated. Great for fans of Swallows and Amazons and Penderwicks!

 

Sarah


An Elephant in the Garden

Staff Pick Badge
An Elephant in the Garden: Inspired by a True Story Cover Image
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780312593698
Availability: Out of Print
Published: Feiwel & Friends - October 25th, 2011

A thoroughly humane and accessible tale of WWII survival that follows one family's trek across Germany after the fire bombing of Dresden, accompanied by a young zoo elephant. Recounted by an old lady in a nursing home to a young boy, and loosely based on real events, it is a poignant tale of the effects of war on both sides.  It includes just the right amount of danger to keep it exciting, but is thought provoking enough to raise awareness of the sacrifices made and bravery exhibited in WWII.

Susannah


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Middle Grade