Rebecca

The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly

Staff Pick Logo
The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780803740709
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Dial Books - June 9th, 2015

Minnow Bly lost everything to the Kevinian cult: twelve years of life, her family, and, after she rebels, even her hands. Now the Kevinian leader is dead, the cult camp in flames, and Minnow may be the only person who knows what happened. But she's not talking... This book is at once an indictment of the juvenile justice system and an exploration of faith and misuse of power. Simultaneously, breathtaking and harrowing.

 

Rebecca


Hold Me Like a Breath

Staff Pick Logo
Hold Me Like a Breath: Once Upon a Crime Family Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780802737823
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Bloomsbury U.S.A. Children's Books - May 19th, 2015

 

Penelope can't fall down, or even hug too hard. Because of a condition causing dangerous bruising, Penelope's life is incredibly restricted. Thankfully her father is a crime lord controlling the black market for transplants, so she has everything she needs...even if she wishes for more. But when tragedy strikes, Penelope finds herself alone. For the first time she's in control, and must race to discover who targeted her family. This dark fairy tale retelling is fast-paced and gripping.

Rebecca


The Fair Fight

Staff Pick Logo
The Fair Fight Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781594633294
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Riverhead Books - April 14th, 2015

Born in a brothel in the 1700s, Ruth hopes for little in life except survival.When a brothel fight draws a rich merchant's attention, she's thrust into the dangerous world of boxing for sport. While Ruth feels she's discovered her true calling, she must take care, for destitution is just an injury away. This captivating novel draws from the rich history of pugilism in England, and is perfect for fans of Sarah Waters and bad-ass ladies being awesome.

Rebecca

 


THE NIGHT SISTER

Staff Pick Logo
The Night Sister Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780385538510
Availability: Hard to Find--Contact us for More Info
Published: Doubleday Books - August 4th, 2015

1955: From the run­down Tower Motel, Sylvie Slater writes letters to Alfred Hitchcock and dreams of being an actress. 1989: Best friends Piper, Amy, and Margot discover a packed suitcase belonging to Sylvie, who supposedly ran away to Hollywood decades earlier. 2013: Amy and her family are violently murdered, and no one has solved the case. This deliciously chilling tale spans decades and generations, and is perfect for shivery October nights.

REBECCA

 


This Monstrous Thing

Staff Pick Logo
This Monstrous Thing Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062382771
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - September 22nd, 2015

One stormy night in Geneva, Alasdair Finch  watches his brother Oliver die...and vows to bring him back to life. But in a world where clockwork creations are illegal, Alasdair's actions have far-reaching consequences. When an incendiary book about reanimation stirs dangerous sentiment across Europe, Alasdair realizes that someone knows his secret...and that he and his brother will never be safe. This  innovative  Frankenstein reimagining (from a PSB bookseller!) is perfect for chilly autumn nights.

Rebecca


DEVOTED

Staff Pick Logo
Devoted Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781596439115
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Roaring Brook Press - June 2nd, 2015

Rachel is a teenager brought up in highly religious community modeled on the Quiverfull movement who begins to question her faith when she starts dreaming of life beyond the prospect of submissive motherhood. This contemporary novel is quiet, contemplative, and so satisfying.

Rebecca

 


THE FIFTH SEASON

Staff Pick Logo
The Fifth Season (Broken Earth #1) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780316229296
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - August 4th, 2015

When Essun discovers that her husband has killed their son because of his frightening power, she quests across a vast crumbling continent in search of him. Jemisin imagines a world in which the continued survival of civilization rests on the forced labor of "oregenes," humans with the power to control earthquakes. Dark, terrifying, brilliantly creative, THE FIFTH SEASON is an unsettling analogue of our own world.

REBECCA

 


Between Shades of Gray

Staff Pick Logo
Between Shades of Gray Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780142420591
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Speak - April 3rd, 2012

Fifteen-year-old Lina lives an ordinary life in Lithuania until Soviet soldiers pack her family onto a train and send them to a work camp in Siberia. There Lina must fight to survive while maintaining hope that her father may still be alive, and they will one day be reunited. A nuanced look at one of the lesser-known atrocities of World War II. For fans of The Book Thief and Code Name Verity.

Rebecca

 


THE WORLD WITHOUT US

Staff Pick Logo
The World Without Us Cover Image
$19.00
ISBN: 9780312427900
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Picador USA - August 5th, 2008

What would happen to the world if humans were to vanish into thin air? How long would our bridges survive? Would our nuclear reactors collapse? What creatures would thrive, and which would disappear? Alan Weisman's well-researched thought experiment is creative, illuminating, and ultimately hopeful.

Rebecca

 


The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly

Staff Pick Logo
The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780803740709
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Dial Books - June 9th, 2015

Minnow Bly lost everything to the Kevinian cult: twelve years of life, her family, and, after she rebels, even her hands. Now the Kevinian leader is dead, the cult camp in flames, and Minnow may be the only person who knows what happened. But she's not talking... This book is at once an indictment of the juvenile justice system and an exploration of faith and misuse of power. Simultaneously breathtaking and harrowing.

Rebecca

 


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Rebecca