Staff Pick Logo
Enchanted (Books of Arilland) Cover Image
ISBN: 9780544022188
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Graphia Books - May 28th, 2013

If you enjoy Gail Carson Levine or Shannon Hale, you are doing yourself a disservice if you do not pick up Enchanted. Alethea Kontis weaves dozens of fairy tale threads together to create a story that is at once cozily familiar and surprisingly original. Sunday Woodcutter's story is engaging, richly drawn, and utterly enchanting.


Coldest Girl in Coldtown

Staff Pick Logo
The Coldest Girl in Coldtown Cover Image
ISBN: 9780316213103
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 3rd, 2013

Let's face it, we're all sick of vampires. But there are vampires, and then there are vampires. The vampires in The Coldest Girl in Coldtown, for example, are twisted in the best of ways. Holly Black serves up one girl's quest for survival in the depths of a hedonistic world where the only thing worse than dying is going cold...and liking it. Rich language, morally ambigious characters, vampires who'd sooner slit your throat than have a conversation with you... What more could you want for your holiday season?



Staff Pick Logo
Longbourn Cover Image
ISBN: 9780385351232
Availability: Hard to Find--Contact us for More Info
Published: Knopf Publishing Group - October 8th, 2013

Think Pride and Prejudice. Now cross it with Downton Abbey, and you'll have an idea of what you're getting into when you step inside the world of the servants who run the Bennet household. Baker's evocative prose introduces Sarah, a housemaid used to minding her own affairs -- that is, until a mysterious new footman arrives at Longbourn. Sarah's story is expertly interwoven with the affairs of Pride and Prejudice, but readers unfamiliar with Austen's original will still find a lush, captivating tale that stands on its own."Rebecca

The Rook

Staff Pick Logo
The Rook (Rook Files #1) Cover Image
ISBN: 9780316098809
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Back Bay Books - October 16th, 2012

When Myfanwy Thomas wakes up surrounded by dead bodies in a London park, she doesn't remember anything. Not what happened, not where the bodies came from, not even her own name. Her only clues come in the form of notes left by her former self, an operative in a secret agency dedicated to protecting the world from supernatural threats. In order to survive, Myfanwy must pretend she still has her memories while ferreting out the would-be killer before they're able to finish the job. For fans of Doctor Who, Ghostbusters, and general romps.


White Cat

Staff Pick Logo
White Cat (Curse Workers #1) Cover Image
ISBN: 9781416963974
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - February 8th, 2011

Curses and con men come together in this fast-paced whodunnit thriller. Cassel is the only member in his family not blessed with the ability to work curses with a hand's touch. Since curse working is illegal, this means Cassel's also the only one who isn't a criminal--or it would, except for one wrinkle: when he was fourteen, he killed his best friend. Three years later Cassel begins to suspect there's more to his friend's death than he knows. To get to the truth, he must go up against his family and the secrets they're determined to keep.


For Darkness Shows the Stars

Staff Pick Logo
For Darkness Shows the Stars Cover Image
ISBN: 9780062006158
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen - July 2nd, 2013

Take two intrepid heroes of the Austen persuasion. Add a few spaceships, class division, rampant genetic engineering, and a dollop of romance. Stir until potent. Diana  Peterfreund's For Darkness Shows the Stars is a lush, poetic reimagining of Jane Austen's Persuasion, an adaptation both familiar and surprising in turn. If Jane Austen and science fiction are your cups of tea, this book is for you.


The President's Daughter

Staff Pick Logo
The President's Daughter Cover Image
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780312374884
Availability: Out of Print
Published: Feiwel & Friends - July 22nd, 2008

Meg Powers likes her life just the way it is. This is unfortunate, considering that her mother has just decided to run for president. Worse, Meg is pretty sure her mother is going to win. The President's Daughter is the first installment in one of my favorite under-appreciated young adult series. Readers will discover a smart and savvy heroine in Meg, as well as a nuanced and sympathetic family dynamic set against the backdrop of a national political campaign. Perfect for fans of complex and compelling contemporary young adult fiction.


The Hallowed Ones

Staff Pick Logo
The Hallowed Ones Cover Image
ISBN: 9780547859262
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Graphia Books - September 1st, 2012

vampires are the stuff of nightmares--enthralling, deadly, and
downright terrifying. Luckily, her unbreakable heroine Katie is more
than a match for them. Thrilling and action-packed, The Hallowed Ones is
perfect for readers seeking an antidote to the fluffy vampires of
Twilight fame.Rebecca


Subscribe to RSS - Rebecca