Sarah

The Misadventures of the Family Fletcher

Staff Pick Badge
The Misadventures of the Family Fletcher Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780385376525
Availability: Hard to Find--Contact us for More Info
Published: Delacorte Press Books for Young Readers - July 22nd, 2014

Two dads, four brothers, and a fair bit of chaos keep the Fletcher family going. From school (Eli was excited about his gifted program until he got there) to crotchety neighbors (who have some good stories) to holidays (especially Halloween), join them for a busy year.

 

Sarah


Nightingales

Staff Pick Badge
Nightingales: The Extraordinary Upbringing and Curious Life of Miss Florence Nightingale Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9780345451880
Availability: On Order at the Warehouse
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks - September 13th, 2005

Gill goes beyond a simple biography of Florence Nightingale to take in the whole extended family, part of the wealthy community of reformers that drove England in the 19th century. The story itself is great, but if you're a fan of detail, read to the end: the notes are almost better than the narrative.

Sarah


Lost Art of Dress: The Women Who Once Made America Stylish

Staff Pick Badge
The Lost Art of Dress: The Women Who Once Made America Stylish Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780465036714
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Basic Books - April 29th, 2014

Even if you've never touched a sewing machine, you'll be planning a trip to the fabric store by the time you finish this history of American clothing. Dress isn't just a matter of fashion here: it's politics, domestic science, economics, and a barometer of women's roles in an evolving world.

Sarah


Emma Tupper's Diary

Staff Pick Badge
Emma Tupper's Diary Cover Image
$12.00
ISBN: 9781618730633
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Big Mouth House - March 4th, 2014

Emma spends the summer with her cousins in Scotland, where there are rumors of a monster living in the loch. Emma and her cousins decide to fake a monster of their own, in order to attract tourists -- and that's when things get complicated. Great for fans of Swallows and Amazons and Penderwicks!

 

Sarah


A Country Year

Staff Pick Badge
A Country Year: Living the Questions Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780395967010
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Mariner Books - April 26th, 1999

Sue Hubbell spent years running a commercial beekeeping operation from her farm in the Ozarks, and when she wasn't tending her hives, she noticed everything, from bugs to bears. Perfect for fans of Animal, Vegetable, Miracle.

Sarah


Tin Star

Staff Pick Badge
Tin Star Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781596437753
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Roaring Brook Press - February 25th, 2014

Being beaten up and kicked off the spaceship by the head of your colony is bad enough. But now Tula's stuck on a space station out in the galactic boondocks. As a human, she's only a minor species there, practically below notice. She knows how to survive, and that means she's ready to take her revenge.

Sarah


The Confidence Code

Staff Pick Badge
The Confidence Code: The Science and Art of Self-Assurance---What Women Should Know Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062230621
Availability: On Order at the Warehouse
Published: Harper Business - April 15th, 2014

An even-handed look at the way social norms, and biology combine to limit women's confidence, especially in the workplace. The authors know the world isn't going to change overnight, so the book is full of strategies for developing confidence and -- even more important, according to studies -- making other people think you're confident.

Sarah


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Sarah