Sci Fi

The City We Became

Staff Pick Badge
The City We Became: A Novel (The Great Cities Trilogy #1) Cover Image
$22.40
ISBN: 9780316509848
Availability: On Order at the Warehouse
Published: Orbit - March 24th, 2020

 

When a city reaches a certain point, it stops being a location on a map and starts being a massive living entity. It's New York's turn now, but nothing is going the way it usually does. The city's six new human avatars need to figure out how to work together and use their powers fast or New York is doomed. A love letter to the weirdness and wonder that is New York City written in N K Jemisin's stunning prose.

Shana


The Dreamed Part

Staff Pick Badge
The Dreamed Part Cover Image
By Rodrigo Fresan, Will Vanderhyden (Translator)
$18.95
ISBN: 9781948830058
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Open Letter - November 12th, 2019

 

At times baffling, at times exuberant, at times your curmudgeonly profession uncle who doesn’t like smart phones, at times breathtaking, The Dreamed Part is less a book and more a mind-altering substance. Fresan writes about and towards that pliable mental state between waking & dreaming. A tremendous literary accomplishment with some of the most amazing prose about books & reading I’ve ever seen in a novel. 

Josh


Ashlords

Staff Pick Badge
Ashlords Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593119174
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - January 21st, 2020

 

Ashlords is one you won't be able to put down! It has something for everyone - sci-fi horse racing, phoenixes, SCIENCE, fights to the death, ghosts?, dimension hopping, and more! - and yet it never feels crowded or overly complicated. You'll be frantically turning the pages in this total adrenaline rush! 

Caleb


Supernova Era

Staff Pick Badge
Supernova Era Cover Image
By Cixin Liu, Joel Martinsen (Translated by)
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250306036
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - October 22nd, 2019

This book is one for the times! Cixin Liu has a way of making sci-fi really accessible and enjoyable for sci-fi beginners and fans alike. This book really delves into what it would look like if societies invested in our future in a real way. A world where adults have to prepare children what it takes to keep Earth functional and sustainable.

 

Sinny


Finna

Staff Pick Badge
Finna Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781250245731
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor.com - February 25th, 2020

Is this capitalist hellscape the best of all possible verses in the multiverse? When an elderly customer at a big box furniture store (not that one) goes through a portal, it's up to two minimum wage workers to risk life and limb to retrieve her. Very diverting, very queer, very relatable for all people who have worked retail.

Rebecca


The Seep

Staff Pick Badge
The Seep Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9781641290869
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Soho Press - January 21st, 2020

 

What if the inevitable alien takeover happened not with a bang, but with a caress? The sweet caress of intoxicants, immortality, and easy access to everything you ever wanted. There’d be at least one person who found the whole “the world is perfect thing” utterly depressing, right? Meet Trina FastHorse Goldberg-Oneka. Her story is a funny, heartfelt ride.

Meaghan


Nyxia

Staff Pick Badge
Nyxia (The Nyxia Triad #1) Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780399556821
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ember - June 19th, 2018

 

This is a perfect series to tide you over while you wait for the second coming of the Hunger Games. While the "compete for survival" premise might sound familiar, there are plenty of sci-fi twists to keep you frantically turning the pages. And it's in space, where no one can hear you scream! Or CAN they....? 

Caleb


Early Riser

Staff Pick Badge
Early Riser: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143111276
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - February 11th, 2020

 

Fans of Terry Pratchett and Christopher Moore, don't sleep on Jasper Fforde, one of the funniest, sharpest, and most creative fantasy writers out there. Lovers of Ankh-Morpork’s Sam Vimes will especially rejoice in Early Riser, a twisty rookie-cop caper set in an icy alt-Earth where (most) humans hibernate away the punishing winters.

Kate


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Sci Fi