Sci Fi

Finna

Staff Pick Badge
Finna Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781250245731
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Tor.com - February 25th, 2020

Is this capitalist hellscape the best of all possible verses in the multiverse? When an elderly customer at a big box furniture store (not that one) goes through a portal, it's up to two minimum wage workers to risk life and limb to retrieve her. Very diverting, very queer, very relatable for all people who have worked retail.

Rebecca


The Seep

Staff Pick Badge
The Seep Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9781641290869
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Soho Press - January 21st, 2020

 

What if the inevitable alien takeover happened not with a bang, but with a caress? The sweet caress of intoxicants, immortality, and easy access to everything you ever wanted. There’d be at least one person who found the whole “the world is perfect thing” utterly depressing, right? Meet Trina FastHorse Goldberg-Oneka. Her story is a funny, heartfelt ride.

Meaghan


Nyxia

Staff Pick Badge
Nyxia (The Nyxia Triad #1) Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780399556821
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Ember - June 19th, 2018

 

This is a perfect series to tide you over while you wait for the second coming of the Hunger Games. While the "compete for survival" premise might sound familiar, there are plenty of sci-fi twists to keep you frantically turning the pages. And it's in space, where no one can hear you scream! Or CAN they....? 

Caleb


Early Riser

Staff Pick Badge
Early Riser: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143111276
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Penguin Books - February 11th, 2020

 

Fans of Terry Pratchett and Christopher Moore, don't sleep on Jasper Fforde, one of the funniest, sharpest, and most creative fantasy writers out there. Lovers of Ankh-Morpork’s Sam Vimes will especially rejoice in Early Riser, a twisty rookie-cop caper set in an icy alt-Earth where (most) humans hibernate away the punishing winters.

Kate


The Raven Tower

Staff Pick Badge
The Raven Tower Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316388702
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Orbit - October 1st, 2019

 

The easiest way to describe this book is as a good and compelling Hamlet retelling (starring a trans character!), but it's so much more than that. It's a murder mystery, a revenge story, and a musing about the power of language and intention, with a wonderfully built mythology and a fascinatingly weird narrator.

Ari


To Be Taught, If Fortunate

Staff Pick Badge
To Be Taught, If Fortunate Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062936011
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Harper Voyager - September 3rd, 2019

 

Meticulously researched, wistful and heartfelt by turns, this is a weird and lovely little book, speculating on what life might be like on other planets and what right, if any, humans have to scientific knowledge of worlds outside our own.

 

Ari 


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Sci Fi