Sci Fi

Early Riser

Staff Pick Badge
Early Riser: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143111276
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - February 11th, 2020

 

Fans of Terry Pratchett and Christopher Moore, don't sleep on Jasper Fforde, one of the funniest, sharpest, and most creative fantasy writers out there. Lovers of Ankh-Morpork’s Sam Vimes will especially rejoice in Early Riser, a twisty rookie-cop caper set in an icy alt-Earth where (most) humans hibernate away the punishing winters.

Kate


The Raven Tower

Staff Pick Badge
The Raven Tower Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780316388702
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - October 1st, 2019

 

The easiest way to describe this book is as a good and compelling Hamlet retelling (starring a trans character!), but it's so much more than that. It's a murder mystery, a revenge story, and a musing about the power of language and intention, with a wonderfully built mythology and a fascinatingly weird narrator.

Ari


Empress of Forever

Staff Pick Badge
Empress of Forever: A Novel Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780765395818
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Tor Books - June 18th, 2019

 

This has all the space pirates and all-powerful tyrannical empires you could want, with added nuance and social commentary. This book shifts from corporate thriller to space opera with exceptional grace, and gives us the brilliant, analytical, difficult to impress Vivian Liao as our guide. Plus, it's just a ton of fun.

 

Shana


The Mythic Dream

If you read science fiction and fantasy, you should pick up this book. Every anthology Parisien & Wolfe edit is excellent, and The Mythic Dream is no exception.

Rebecca


The Refrigerator Monologues

Staff Pick Badge
The Refrigerator Monologues Cover Image
By Catherynne M. Valente, Annie Wu (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781481459358
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Gallery / Saga Press - March 6th, 2018

 

It’s tough to be a woman, especially in a superhero world. They tend to be casualties to the storylines of men, and it’s so common there’s a name for it: women in refrigerators. Valente gives these women a voice and the chance to take their stories back and claim their own narrative. It’s brutal, brilliant, and beautiful and even knowing the stories can’t end well, you find yourself hoping maybe this one will be different. 

Shana


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Sci Fi